Discover Mendrisio

Mendrisiotto Region

Mendrisio in a nutshell


Mendrisio is called the Magnifico Borgo thanks to its historical monuments that testify to the illustrious past of the town surrounded by vineyards that has often been found at the center of history. Walking through the charming alleys, let yourself be enchanted by the typical houses with internal courtyards and terracotta roofs or by the medieval and baroque churches.
Art and architecture are at home here and it is therefore no coincidence that since 1996 Mendrisio has hosted the Academy of Architecture of the University of Lugano. The line of the architect Mario Botta can be seen in the streets of the center ... or the Fiore di pietra, which dominates the region from the top of Monte Generoso.

Inhabitants

15,567

Altitude

367 m a.s.l.

Surface area

32.01 km²

Hotels

30

Unmissable events


Mendrisio rhymes with historical Easter processions. This ancient tradition - which has been nominated for inclusion in the list of UNESCO's intangible cultural heritage - has its roots in the 17th century and every year excites participants and spectators. 
The wide range of wine and food on offer, including wineries, vineyards and events, also arouses great emotions: the Sagra del Borgo and the San Martino Fair are not to be missed.

ALL EVENTS

Top attractions


What to do in Mendrisio? What you want! The city offers interesting art museums such as the one dedicated to Vincenzo Vela or the Pinacoteca Züst, but also gives space to a curious collection of scale trains.
If you prefer to shop, you should definitely visit the Fox Town Factory Store, where you can also make a detour to the Admiral Casino.

Be inspired!


It’s up to you: discover the region's culinary specialities, marvel at the buildings designed by great architects or go back millions of years to the Fossil Museum in Meride?
Here are some ideas for you.

Mendrisio seen by those who have been there

Découvrir Mendrisio

Région du Mendrisiotto

Mendrisio en bref


Mendrisio est appelé le Magnifico Borgo grâce à ses monuments historiques qui témoignent du passé illustre de la ville entourée de vignobles qui a souvent été trouvé au centre de l'histoire. En vous promenant dans les ruelles charmantes, laissez-vous enchanter par les maisons typiques aux cours intérieures et aux toits en terre cuite ou par les églises médiévales et baroques.
L'art et l'architecture y sont à l'aise et ce n'est donc pas un hasard si Mendrisio accueille depuis 1996 l'Académie d'architecture de l'Université de Lugano. Le trait de caractère de l'architecte Mario Botta se retrouve dans les rues du centre... ou dans la Fiore di pietra, qui domine la région du haut du Monte Generoso.

Habitants

15'567

Altitude

367 m s.m.

Surface

32.01 km²

Structures hôtelières

30

Des événements à ne pas manquer


Mendrisio rime avec processions historiques de Pâques. Cette ancienne tradition - qui a été proposée pour inscription sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'UNESCO - trouve ses racines au XVIIe siècle et suscite chaque année l'enthousiasme des participants et des spectateurs. 
L'offre variée de vins et de mets, avec des caves, des vignobles et des événements, suscite également de grandes émotions : la Sagra del Borgo et la Foire de San Martino sont à ne pas manquer.

TOUS LES ÉVÉNEMENTS

Des attractions de premier plan


Que faire à Mendrisio ? Ce que vous voulez ! La ville offre des musées d'art intéressants comme celui dédié à Vincenzo Vela ou à la Pinacothèque Züst, mais elle offre aussi de l'espace à une curieuse collection de petits trains.
Si vous préférez faire du shopping, vous devriez certainement vous arrêter au Fox Town Factory Store, où vous pouvez également faire un pari au Admiral Casino.

Laissez-vous inspirer !


A vous de choisir : découvrir les spécialités culinaires de la région, vous émerveiller devant les bâtiments conçus par de grands architectes ou remonter des millions d'années en arrière au Musée des Fossiles de Meride ?
Voici quelques inspirations pour vous.

Mendrisio vu par ceux qui ont été là