UNESCO

A treasure to be discovered


In Switzerland today, fourteen properties have been selected by UNESCO as World Heritage Sites. Among these are four Ticino gems. But that's not all: from July 2021, there will also be space for an environmental heritage site: the beech forests of Maggia Valley. Here are the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Ticino:


The Fortress of Bellinzona and fortified walls have been listed since 2000. Take the small train Artù. You will be reaching for your camera when you visit Castelgrande, Montebello and Sasso Corbaro castles, along with their museums. You'll fall in love with it!

Castle of Montebello UNESCO, Bellinzona
Castle of Sasso Corbaro, Bellinzona
Castelgrande UNESCO, Bellinzona

Discover the charm of a lost world dating back more than 200 million years at Monte San Giorgio, protected since 2003, complete with an extremely informative Fossil museum.


The first chapter of a fairytale can be experienced on a walk through the forests of the Maggia Valley: in the Lodano Valley Forest Reserve. Over 170 years old, its beech forests are a UNESCO World Heritage Site thanks to their enchanting biodiversity.


Three castles, a deposit of thousands of fossils, an enchanted forest and an Intangible Cultural Heritage that is renewed every year. In Mendrisio, the Holy Week Processions are strongly rooted in the reality of the region and beyond. Good Thursday and Friday parade through the streets of the Magnificent Village over 1'000 participants!


Travel to UNESCO’s world. Do it in Ticino.

UNESCO

Un trésor à découvrir


Aujourd'hui, en Suisse, quatorze biens ont été sélectionnés par l'UNESCO comme sites du patrimoine mondial. Parmi celles-ci figurent quatre perles du Tessin. Mais ce n'est pas tout : à partir de juillet 2021, il y aura également de l'espace pour un site du patrimoine environnemental : les forêts de hêtres de Vallemaggia. Voici les sites du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO au Tessin :


La Forteresse et les remparts de Bellinzona en font une partie depuis 2000. Prenez le petit train Artù, attrapez votre appareil photo et partez à l'assaut de Castelgrande, Montebello, Sasso Corbaro et leurs musées. Vous en tomberez amoureux !

Châteaux de Montebello UNESCO, Bellinzona
Château de Sasso Corbaro, Bellinzona
Castelgrande UNESCO, Bellinzona

Découvrez le charme d'un monde perdu, vieux de plus de 200 millions d'années, grâce au Monte San Giorgio, protégé depuis 2003, et à son passionnant Musée des fossiles.


Le premier chapitre d'un conte de fées peut être vécu lors d'une promenade dans les forêts de la Val Maggia : dans la réserve forestière de la vallée de Lodano. Vieilles de plus de 170 ans, ses forêts de hêtres sont classées au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO en raison de leur biodiversité enchanteresse.


Trois châteaux, un gisement de milliers de fossiles, une forêt enchantée et un patrimoine culturel immatériel renouvelé chaque année. A Mendrisio, les Processions de la Semaine Sainte sont fortement enracinées dans la réalité de la région et au-delà. Jeudi Saint et Vendredi Saint défilent dans les rues du Magnifico Borgo plus de 1'000 participants !


Voyagez dans le monde des sites UNESCO. Et faites-le au Tessin.