Discover Bellinzona

Bellinzonese e Alto Ticino

Bellinzona in a nutshell


The perfect blend of history, nature and good weather, not to mention delicious food: Bellinzona takes you on a journey back to the Middle Ages thanks to its three castles, now UNESCO World Heritage Sites, as well as its paved streets and welcoming little squares. Plenty of history, but also present-day cordiality, flavours and tastes that will make you feel completely at home.

Inhabitants

43,900

Altitude

238 m a.s.l.

Surface area

164.22 km²

Hotels

23

Unmissable events


Bellinzona is best known for Rabadan, the most famous carnival in Ticino, whether kissed by the sun or blanketed in snow. Masks, confetti and music take over the city for a whole week, although music is also a regular feature in the city of castles. Beatles days, Blues Session, Montebello Festival, Castle on air: these are just some of the music events that enliven the evenings in Bellinzona. Meanwhile, the streets come to life thanks to the Saturday market, the Spada nella Rocca and PerBacco, the grape harvest festival.

ALL EVENTS

Top attractions


Have you got a pair of sturdy shoes that you’re not afraid of wearing out? In Bellinzona you can walk, go up and down flights of steps, lean against a mediaeval wall or simply sit on a comfortable bench and admire Piazza della Foca or the beautiful Collegiata.

Be inspired!


After visiting the UNESCO World Heritage Castles of Bellinzona, strolling around the capital’s historical streets and eating a bissolo, what can you do next? Would you like to immerse yourself even further in the local territory and history? Here are some ideas.

Bellinzona seen by those who have been there

Bellinzona entdecken

Bellinzonese e Alto Ticino

Bellinzona in Kürze


Der richtige Mix aus Geschichte, Natur und schönem Wetter… nicht zu vergessen die Küche: In Bellinzona mit seinen drei Burgen, die zum UNESCO-Welterbe der Menschheit gehören, den Kopfsteinpflastergassen und gemütlichen kleinen Plätzen fühlen Sie sich ins Mittelalter zurückversetzt. So viel Vergangenheit, aber auch eine Gegenwart, die Gastfreundschaft, Aromen und Gaumenfreuden bietet, bei denen man sich sofort wohlfühlt.

Einwohner

43'900

Höhe

238 m ü. M.

Fläche

164.22 km²

Beherbergungsbetriebe

23

Events, die Sie nicht verpassen dürfen!


Bellinzona, das ist vor allem der Rabadan, die berühmteste Fasnacht im Tessin, egal, ob dabei die Sonne scheint oder ob es schneit. Masken, Konfetti und Musik,  aber die Musik ist Stammgast in der Stadt der Burgen. Beatles days, Blues Sessions, Montebello Festival, Castle on air: Dies sind nur einige der Musikveranstaltungen, die die Nächte in Bellinzona beleben. Die Strassen leben durch den Samstagsmarkt, die Spada nella Rocca und PerBacco, das Weinlesefest.

ALLE VERANSTALTUNGEN

Hauptattraktionen


Haben Sie gute Schuhe und keine Angst, sich die Sohlen durchzulaufen? In Bellinzona können Sie spazierengehen, Treppen hoch- und runterlaufen, sich an eine mittelalterliche Mauer lehnen oder sich einfach auf eine bequeme Bank setzen, um die Piazza della Foca oder die wunderschöne Piazza Collegiata zu bewundern.

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren!


Sie haben die Burgen von Bellinzona, die zum UNESCO-Welterbe gehören, besichtigt, einen Bummel durch die historischen Gassen des Hauptorts gemacht und ein Bissolo gegessen, und nun? Möchten Sie eine Erfahrung machen, die Sie noch tiefer in diese Gegend und ihre Geschichte eintauchen lässt? Hier finden Sie einige Ideen.

Bellinzona von denen gesehen, die dort waren