Discover Bellinzona

Bellinzonese e Alto Ticino

Bellinzona in a nutshell


The perfect blend of history, nature and good weather, not to mention delicious food: Bellinzona takes you on a journey back to the Middle Ages thanks to its three castles, now UNESCO World Heritage Sites, as well as its paved streets and welcoming little squares. Plenty of history, but also present-day cordiality, flavours and tastes that will make you feel completely at home.

Inhabitants

43,900

Altitude

238 m a.s.l.

Surface area

164.22 km²

Hotels

23

Unmissable events


Bellinzona is best known for Rabadan, the most famous carnival in Ticino, whether kissed by the sun or blanketed in snow. Masks, confetti and music take over the city for a whole week, although music is also a regular feature in the city of castles. Beatles days, Blues Session, Montebello Festival, Castle on air: these are just some of the music events that enliven the evenings in Bellinzona. Meanwhile, the streets come to life thanks to the Saturday market, the Spada nella Rocca and PerBacco, the grape harvest festival.

ALL EVENTS

Top attractions


Have you got a pair of sturdy shoes that you’re not afraid of wearing out? In Bellinzona you can walk, go up and down flights of steps, lean against a mediaeval wall or simply sit on a comfortable bench and admire Piazza della Foca or the beautiful Collegiata.

Be inspired!


After visiting the UNESCO World Heritage Castles of Bellinzona, strolling around the capital’s historical streets and eating a bissolo, what can you do next? Would you like to immerse yourself even further in the local territory and history? Here are some ideas.

Bellinzona seen by those who have been there

Découvrir Bellinzona

Bellinzonese e Alto Ticino

Bellinzona en bref


Le parfait mélange d'histoire, de nature et de beau temps... sans oublier la cuisine: Bellinzona vous offre une immersion dans le Moyen Âge grâce à ses trois châteaux, classés au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, mais aussi grâce à ses rues pavées et à ses petites places accueillantes. Un passé riche, mais aussi un présent qui offre de la convivialité, des saveurs et des goûts à même de mettre immédiatement tout le monde à l'aise.

Habitants

43'900

Altitude

238 m s.m.

Surface

164.22 km²

Structures hôtelières

23

Des événements à ne pas manquer


Bellinzona, c'est avant tout le Rabadan, le carnaval le plus célèbre du Tessin, qui peut être baigné par le soleil ou recouvert de neige. Les masques, les confettis et la musique règnent en maître pendant une semaine, mais la musique est souvent la bienvenue dans la ville des châteaux. Beatles days, Blues Session, Montebello Festival, Castle on air sont quelques-uns des événements musicaux qui animent les nuits de Bellinzona. Quant aux rues, elles vivent grâce au marché du samedi, à la Spada nella Rocca et à PerBacco, la fête des vendanges.

TOUS LES ÉVÉNEMENTS

Des attractions de premier plan


Vous avez de bonnes chaussures et n'avez-vous pas peur d'user vos semelles ? À Bellinzona, vous pouvez marcher, monter et descendre des escaliers, vous appuyer contre un mur médiéval ou simplement vous asseoir sur un confortable banc et admirer la Piazza della Foca ou la magnifique Collegiata.

Laissez-vous inspirer !


Après avoir visité les châteaux de Bellinzona, classés au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, fait un tour dans les rues historiques de la capitale et mangé un bissolo, que faire ? Vous aimeriez vivre une expérience qui vous plongera encore plus dans le territoire et dans l'histoire de ces lieux ? Voici quelques idées.

Bellinzona vu par ceux qui ont été là