5 places where magnolias bloom beautifully


Pale or deep pink or brilliant white, the thick magnolia blooms sit on the almost leafless sparse branches. And every year in the end of February they amaze us anew: what an explosion of colours! When these trees blossom in such large numbers in Ticino's gardens, it's worth going on a hunt to photograph these messengers of spring. We have spotted a few particularly beautiful specimens here. And where is your favourite magnolia? 

1. Magnolias with a view of Lake Maggiore


Without a doubt, the Gambarogno Botanical Garden is a magnolia paradise. More than 400 varieties of magnolias are in full bloom here. 

2. In Paradiso, the traffic lights glow magnolia rose


The truly spectacular thing about the lakeside promenade in Paradiso is not its proximity to a funicular railway, but the immense magnolia trees that line the main road and make the traffic light stop a feast for the eyes.

3. Blooming Bellinzona


Who can find the magnolia in the Piazza Governo in the capital of Ticino? A little tip, turn north, with your back to the fountain and lift your eyes: Pale pink, in the shade of the castle wall, a wonderful photo motif! 

48 hours Bellinzona

Do you have a weekend to visit Bellinzona and its surroundings? Here is a selection of suggestions for 2 days in the region!

DISCOVER

4. Magnolias in the right place


In Mendrisio, it's easy to do. A whole group of Magnolia grandiflora can be found in the park of Villa Argentina. This stately 19th-century villa is one of the many campuses of the University of the Italian-speaking part of Switzerland. 

5. Magnolias on the lake promenade


From 19 March, the Swissminiatur will open its doors again. But Melide is worth a visit before then. It's worth walking along the lake promenade to the Hotel Riviera in the spring sunshine. You will be rewarded with a magnificent view of the lake and brilliant white magnolia blossoms.

More inspiration

5 sites de magnolias en fleur


Les épaisses fleurs de magnolia sont d'un rose tendre, d'un rose intense ou d'un blanc éclatant et se dressent sur des branches presque dépourvues de feuilles. Et chaque année, en fin février, elles nous émerveillent à nouveau : quelle explosion de fleurs ! Lorsque ces arbres fleurissent en si grand nombre dans les jardins du Tessin, cela vaut la peine d'aller à la chasse pour photographier ces messagers du printemps. Nous avons repéré ici quelques spécimens particulièrement beaux. Et où se trouve votre magnolia préféré ? 

1. Magnolias avec vue sur le Lac Majeur


Le paradis des magnolias est sans aucun doute le Jardin botanique de Gambarogno. Plus de 400 variétés de magnolias s'y disputent la vedette. 

2. À Paradiso, les feux rouges s'illuminent de rose magnolia


Ce qui est vraiment spectaculaire sur la promenade du lac à Paradiso, ce n'est pas la proximité du funiculaire de la montagne emblématique de Lugano, mais les immenses magnolias qui bordent la route principale et font de l'arrêt aux feux rouges un plaisir pour les yeux.
 

3. Bellinzona en fleurs


Qui trouvera le magnolia sur la Piazza Governo de la capitale du Tessin ? Un petit conseil, tournez-vous vers le nord, dos à la fontaine et levez les yeux : Rose tendre, à l'ombre du mur du château, un magnifique sujet de photo ! 

48 heures Bellinzona

Avez-vous un week-end de libre pour visiter Bellinzona et ses environs ? Voici une sélection de propositions pour 2 jours dans la région!

DÉCOUVRIR

4. Des magnolias au bon endroit


À Mendrisio, c'est facile. Tout un groupe de magnolias grandiflora se trouve dans le parc de la Villa Argentina. Cette villa seigneuriale du 19e siècle est l'un des nombreux sites de l'Université de la Suisse italienne. 

5. Magnolias sur la promenade du lac


À partir du 19 mars, la Swissminiatur ouvrira à nouveau ses portes. Mais Melide vaut déjà le détour avant cela. Il vaut la peine de se promener sous le soleil printanier jusqu'à l'hôtel Riviera. On est récompensé par une vue magnifique sur le lac et une mer de magnolias en fleurs d'un blanc éclatant.

Plus d'inspiration