5 places where magnolias bloom beautifully


Pale or deep pink or brilliant white, the thick magnolia blooms sit on the almost leafless sparse branches. And every year in the end of February they amaze us anew: what an explosion of colours! When these trees blossom in such large numbers in Ticino's gardens, it's worth going on a hunt to photograph these messengers of spring. We have spotted a few particularly beautiful specimens here. And where is your favourite magnolia? 

1. Magnolias with a view of Lake Maggiore


Without a doubt, the Gambarogno Botanical Garden is a magnolia paradise. More than 400 varieties of magnolias are in full bloom here. 

2. In Paradiso, the traffic lights glow magnolia rose


The truly spectacular thing about the lakeside promenade in Paradiso is not its proximity to a funicular railway, but the immense magnolia trees that line the main road and make the traffic light stop a feast for the eyes.

3. Blooming Bellinzona


Who can find the magnolia in the Piazza Governo in the capital of Ticino? A little tip, turn north, with your back to the fountain and lift your eyes: Pale pink, in the shade of the castle wall, a wonderful photo motif! 

48 hours Bellinzona

Do you have a weekend to visit Bellinzona and its surroundings? Here is a selection of suggestions for 2 days in the region!

DISCOVER

4. Magnolias in the right place


In Mendrisio, it's easy to do. A whole group of Magnolia grandiflora can be found in the park of Villa Argentina. This stately 19th-century villa is one of the many campuses of the University of the Italian-speaking part of Switzerland. 

5. Magnolias on the lake promenade


From 19 March, the Swissminiatur will open its doors again. But Melide is worth a visit before then. It's worth walking along the lake promenade to the Hotel Riviera in the spring sunshine. You will be rewarded with a magnificent view of the lake and brilliant white magnolia blossoms.

More inspiration

5 Orte wo die Magnolien besonders schön blühen


Zartrosa, sattpink oder strahlendweiss sitzen die dicken Magnolienblüten auf den fast blätterlosen Ästen. Und versetzen uns jedes Jahr aufs Neue ins Staunen: Was für eine Blütenexplosion! Ende Februar blühen die Bäume zahlreich in Tessins Gärten. Es lohnt sich auf Jagd zu gehen, um diese Frühlingsboten zu fotografieren. Ein paar besonders schöne Exemplare haben wir hier gesichtet. Und wo steht Ihre Lieblingsmagnolie? 

1. Magnolien mit Blick auf den Lago Maggiore


Das Paradies der Magnolien ist ohne Zweifel der Botanische Garten Gambarogno. Mehr als 400 Sorten Magnolien blühen hier um die Wette.

2. In Paradiso leuchtet die Ampel magnolienrosa


Das wirklich spektakuläre an der Seepromenade in Paradiso ist nicht nur die Nähe zur Standseilbahn des Hausbergs von Lugano, sondern die immensen Magnolienbäume, die die Hauptstrasse säumen und den Ampelstop zur Augenweide machen.

3. Blühendes Bellinzona


Wer findet die Magnolie in der Piazza Governo in der Hauptstadt des Tessins? Ein kleiner Tipp, wenden Sie sich nach Norden, mit dem Rücken zum Brunnen und heben Sie den Blick: Zartrosa, im Schatten der Burgmauer, ein herrliches Fotomotiv! 

48 Stunden Bellinzona

Haben Sie ein Wochenende lang Zeit, um das Mendrisiotto zu besuchen? Hier eine Auswahl an Vorschlägen für 2 Tage in der Region!

ENTDECKEN

4. Magnolien am rechten Fleck


In Mendrisio tut man sich leicht. Gleich eine ganze Gruppe von Magnolie grandiflora sind im Park der Villa Argentina zu finden. Diese herrschaftliche Villa aus dem 19.Jahrhundert ist einer der zahlreichen Standorte der USI, Universität der italienischen Schweiz. 

5. Magnolien an der Seepromenade


Ab dem 19. März wird die Swissminiatur wieder die Türen öffnen. Melide ist aber vorher schon einen Ausflug wert. Es lohnt sich in der Frühlingssonne die Seepromenade bis zum Hotel Riviera entlangzulaufen. Man wird mit herrlichem Seeblick und einem strahlendweissen Magnolieblütenmeer belohnt.

Mehr Inspiration