To be enjoyed in good company

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 14 september - 10.15
  • 25°
  • 367 m
  • Surprised

Zero-mile food is an interesting concept. Freshness and authenticity are guaranteed by products grown as locally as possible in the region itself. They often contain that typical holiday flavour, which is so difficult to recreate at home.

You managed to prise the recipe out of the chef when he visited your table after your meal. It wasn’t easy. You took notes and you’re sure you’ve got it all right. You bought the ingredients from the Saturday-morning market in the square. You’ve done your best, but for some reason your favourite holiday dish just doesn’t taste the same at home. It’s good, of course. The attention to detail and top-quality ingredients are obvious, but it's not like the dish you ate with your friends at the grotto on the last evening of your holiday.  

Regional products are all about traditions, customs and secret recipes handed down from father to son, grandmother to daughter-in-law. These products haven’t travelled across Europe in a lorry before reaching your table. The village shop, the butcher and even the bakery sell local farm produce. These products often find their way into the local supermarket too, featuring alongside the classic products we all recognise. And when it comes to wine, it is more local than ever in Mendrisio, sometimes even made by the restaurant itself. Wine isn't necessarily sold by wine shops here. You can simply visit a cellar and chose a bottle.  

Antico Grotto Ticino, Mendrisio.

Antico Grotto Ticino, Mendrisio.

Wine cellars of Mendrisio.

Wine cellars of Mendrisio.

Osteria Lanterna, Mendrisio.

Osteria Lanterna, Mendrisio.

Wine Tasting, Mendrisio Cellars.

Wine Tasting, Mendrisio Cellars.

Dinner at the grotto with friends, Mendrisio.

Dinner at the grotto with friends, Mendrisio.

Polenta and rabbit, typical Ticino dish.

Polenta and rabbit, typical Ticino dish.

Mendrisio is home to a road lined with grottos, which is actually called “Via delle Cantine” (Street of Cellars) due to the fact that every grotto has its own cellar next to the mountain, where the draughts that no one wants at home are the secret to their success. Zero-mile, low-energy, green air conditioning. Small holes in the walls allow the cold air of Monte Generoso to penetrate the interior, keeping the wine and other food products cool. The temperature is constant – not too cold in the winter and pleasantly fresh in the summer.  

The table in the clearing outside, beneath the large chestnut tree typical of grotto gardens, is reserved for your evening meal. The evening begins with a mouthwatering wine tasting session, standing around a wooden barrel. You swirl the wine around the glass in an expert fashion and sniff the aroma, confirming its fruity scent, appreciating its beautiful straw-yellow colour and its white floral hints.  

It’s highly likely that you won’t just choose a wine to drink with your meal this evening, but also some wine to take home. Because you already know you’ll need an excellent wine to serve with the typical dish from Ticino you’re going to cook back at your house.

Marialuce Valtulini, - Cheesemaker
Marialuce Valtulini,Cheesemaker
You might be interested also in the following story
I’m stubborn when it comes to the ingredients for my cheese. I would never buy milk that came from another valley because that would change the identity of a zincarlin cheese.
Read the story

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

CONTACTS
WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

À déguster en bonne compagnie

LE MOMENT PARFAIT
  • 14 septembre - 10.15
  • 25°
  • 367
  • Surpris

Le principe de circuit court est intéressant. Des produits qui proviennent du voisinage immédiat et de la région garantissent fraîcheur et authenticité. Et souvent ils ont ce goût de vacances caractéristique, si difficile à reproduire, même lorsque l'on essaye de ramener ces saveurs chez soi.

Vous avez pu obtenir la recette du chef lorsqu'il est venu à votre table après le dîner. Et ce n'était pas une tâche facile. Vous avez pris des notes et vous êtes sûr d'avoir tout bien fait. Vous avez acheté tous les ingrédients au marché du samedi matin sur la place. Vous avez fait de votre mieux, et pourtant, le plat préféré de vos vacances à la maison n'a jamais le même goût. C'est bon, et on sent bien le souci du détail et l'excellente qualité des ingrédients, mais ce n'est pas comme au grotto, le dernier soir des vacances, en bonne compagnie et dans la joie.  

Les produits régionaux évoquent les traditions, les coutumes, les recettes secrètes transmises de père en fils, de grand-mères en belles-filles. Avant d'arriver sur votre table, ces produits n'ont pas fait le tour de l'Europe en camion. La boutique du village, le boucher et souvent aussi le boulanger vendent ce que l'agriculteur produit. On le trouve même souvent dans les supermarchés locaux, en plus des produits classiques que nous connaissons tous. Et pour le vin, le circuit court à Mendrisio est à quelques pas, notamment au restaurant. Et ce n'est pas forcément d'une œnothèque. Il suffit d'aller à la cave et de choisir la bouteille à déboucher. 

Via alle cantine, Mendrisio.

Via alle cantine, Mendrisio.

Caves de Mendrisio.

Caves de Mendrisio.

Sur la rue il y a 4 grottos, Mendrisio.

Sur la rue il y a 4 grottos, Mendrisio.

Dégustation de vins, Cave de Mendrisio.

Dégustation de vins, Cave de Mendrisio.

Dîner à le grotto avec des amis, Mendrisio.

Dîner à le grotto avec des amis, Mendrisio.

Polenta et lapin, plat typique du Tessin.

Polenta et lapin, plat typique du Tessin.

À Mendrisio, la route des grotti s'appelle « alle cantine », car chaque grotto possède sa propre cave. Grâce à l'appui contre la montagne, les redoutables courants d'air que personne ne veut chez soi sont ici le secret de fabrication. Même la climatisation est en circuit local, à basse consommation, et écologique à 100%. De petits trous et canaux dans les murs laissent sortir l'air froid du Monte Generoso pour garder le vin ou d'autres produits alimentaires au frais. La température est constante, pas trop froide en hiver et agréablement fraîche en été.  

La table à l'extérieur qui vous attend sur l'espace situé sous le grand châtaignier si typique des jardins des grottos, est réservée pour votre dîner. La soirée débute par une délicieuse dégustation autour d'un tonneau en bois : on fait tourner le vin dans un verre pour faire l'expert et on y penche son nez. Ensuite, on confirme que le vin est fruité, qu'il présente une belle couleur jaune paille et qu'il sent les fleurs blanches.  

Et il est fort probable que nous choisirons non seulement le vin à boire ce soir à table, mais aussi celui à emporter chez soi. Parce que vous savez déjà qu'il faut un bon vin pour accompagner le plat tessinois typique que vous ne manquerez pas de cuisiner à votre retour.

Marialuce Valtulini, - Fromagère
Marialuce Valtulini,Fromagère
Il pourrait vous intéresser aussi l'histoire suivante
Je suis très têtue quand il s'agit des ingrédients que j’utilise pour mes fromages. Je n'achèterais jamais du lait d’une autre vallée, cela porterait atteinte à l’identité du Zincarlin. 
À l'histoire

QU'EST-CE QU'IL Y A DANS LES PARAGES

CONTACTS
QUELLE MUSIQUE DANS LES ECOUTEURS

AUTRES EXPÉRIENCES