5 hikes in the shade of the forest


The great summer heat becomes more tolerable in the shade of a tree. That's why this place at the beach is always the first to be occupied. Fortunately, there are not only 4,000 km of hiking trails in Ticino, but more than 90 of them lead through the forest reserves. Unspoiled and natural. It is scientifically proven that the respiratory system, the cardiovascular and our immune system benefit from the forest thanks to the armoatic fragrances that the trees release. Let’s embrace a tree, in these 5 woods there is no lack of shade: 

1. Where the Daniello mill acts as an air conditioner


From Novazzano a path makes its way down into the Motta Valley. A tranquil agricultural landscape along the route of the Roncaglia stream. The first thing you will come to is the Mulino Daniello, a mill at the heart of all the park’s educational activities. 

2. Dolomites? Noooo, Denti della Vecchia!


An easily recognisable peak, an alternation of pine and beech forests, meadows and pinnacles, a hut and a lot of panorama. Sometimes you might see the turning flight pattern of the raven and the dives of the peregrine falcon.

3. The shadow of the Swiss pine is always a little cooler


The only large Swiss pine wood in Ticino invites you to walk slowly, listen to the deer and let your imagination run free. Some of these stocky pines are more than 300 years old.

4. When he grows up he wants to become UNESCO...


There are several traces left by human activity over the centuries in the Lodano forest: greenhouses, charcoal burners squares and rope transports. These and a wide view of the majestic Maggia river landscape can be found in a valley that has the ambition to become part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site.

5. A woodland symphony


A forest for nature lovers, for those who know how to grasp the deep creativity of the forest. The more you look, the more you see. Woodpeckers, the ruler, the little luì, the tawny owl and many other birds can be heard. The forest changes constantly, like a symphony: slow, cheerful, lively.

Learn more

5 promenades à l'ombre de la forêt


La grande chaleur d‘été devient plus tolérable à l’ombre d’un arbre. C’est pourquoi cet endroit sur la plage est toujours le premier à être occupé. Heureusement, il n’y a pas seulement 4'000 km de sentiers de randonnée, mais plus de 90 de ceux-ci mènent à travers les réserves forestières. Intacte et naturelle. Il est scientifiquement prouvé que le système respiratoire, le système cardiovasculaire et immunitaire profitent de la forêt grâce aux parfums aromatiques dégagés par les arbres. Embrassons un arbre, dans ces 5 bois l'ombre ne manque pas:

1. Où le moulin Daniello fait fonction d’air conditionné


De Novazzano, un sentier descend dans la vallée de la Motta. Dans un paysage agricole paisible, le long du cours de la rivière Roncaglia. On atteint tout de suite le moulin Daniello, qui constitue le cœur des activités éducatives du Parc. 

2. Dolomites ? Mais non, Denti della Vecchia!


Un sommet facilement reconnaissable, un mélange de pins et hêtres, prés et pinacles, une cabane et beaucoup de panorama. Quelquefois on peut observer le saut du grand corbeau et le vol en chute libre du faucon pèlerin.

3. L’ombre du pin cembro est toujours un peu plus fraîche


La seule pinède de pins cembros du Tessin. Une invitation à la marche lente, pour écouter le cerf et pour laisser libre cours à son imagination. Certains de ces vieux pins ont plus de 300 ans.

4. Quand il sera grand, il veut être UNESCO…


L’activité humaine a laissé de nombreuses traces au cours des siècles dans le bois de Lodano: serres, places de brûleurs à charbon de bois et transports par câble. Celles-ci et une vue panoramique sur le majestueux paysage fluvial de la Maggia se trouvent dans une vallée qui a l'ambition de faire partie du Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

5. Une symphonie de la forêt


Une forêt pour les admirateurs de la nature, pour ceux qui savent saisir la créativité profonde de la forêt. Plus vous regardez, plus vous voyez. Les pics, la règle, le petit luì, la chouette hulotte et beaucoup d'autres oiseaux peuvent être entendus. La forêt change constamment, comme une symphonie: lente, mouvante, enjouée, vive.

En savoir plus