5 hikes in the shade of the forest


The great summer heat becomes more tolerable in the shade of a tree. That's why this place at the beach is always the first to be occupied. Fortunately, there are not only 4,000 km of hiking trails in Ticino, but more than 90 of them lead through the forest reserves. Unspoiled and natural. It is scientifically proven that the respiratory system, the cardiovascular and our immune system benefit from the forest thanks to the armoatic fragrances that the trees release. Let’s embrace a tree, in these 5 woods there is no lack of shade: 

1. Where the Daniello mill acts as an air conditioner


From Novazzano a path makes its way down into the Motta Valley. A tranquil agricultural landscape along the route of the Roncaglia stream. The first thing you will come to is the Mulino Daniello, a mill at the heart of all the park’s educational activities. 

2. Dolomites? Noooo, Denti della Vecchia!


An easily recognisable peak, an alternation of pine and beech forests, meadows and pinnacles, a hut and a lot of panorama. Sometimes you might see the turning flight pattern of the raven and the dives of the peregrine falcon.

3. The shadow of the Swiss pine is always a little cooler


The only large Swiss pine wood in Ticino invites you to walk slowly, listen to the deer and let your imagination run free. Some of these stocky pines are more than 300 years old.

4. When he grows up he wants to become UNESCO...


There are several traces left by human activity over the centuries in the Lodano forest: greenhouses, charcoal burners squares and rope transports. These and a wide view of the majestic Maggia river landscape can be found in a valley that has the ambition to become part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site.

5. A woodland symphony


A forest for nature lovers, for those who know how to grasp the deep creativity of the forest. The more you look, the more you see. Woodpeckers, the ruler, the little luì, the tawny owl and many other birds can be heard. The forest changes constantly, like a symphony: slow, cheerful, lively.

Learn more

5 Wanderungen im Schatten des Waldes


Auszuhalten ist die grosse Sommerhitze eigentlich nur im Schatten eines Baumes. Deshalb ist dieser Platz im Lido auch immer der erste, der besetzt ist. Zum Glück gibt es im Tessin nicht nur 4‘000 km Wanderwege, sondern mehr als 90 km davon führen auch durch Waldreservate. Unberührt und naturbelassen. Es ist wissenschaftlich belegt, dass Atemwege, Herz-Kreislaufsystem und unsere Abwehrkräfte von den aromatischen Duftstoffen, die die Bäume abgeben, profitieren. Ran an den Baum, in diesen 5 Wäldern wird Ihnen grosszügig Schatten gespendet: 

1. Wo die Mühle die Air Condition ist


Von Novazzano aus führt ein Weg hinunter ins Mottatal. Der Weg verläuft zuerst durch eine ruhige Agrarlandschaft am Roncaglia-Bach entlang. Nach kurzer Zeit erreichen Sie die Daniello-Mühle, das Herzstück des Parks. 

2. Die Dolomiten? Nicht doch, Denti della Vecchia!


Ein unverkennbarer Gipfel, ein Wechsel von Kiefer- und Buchenwäldern, Wiesen und Zinnen, eine Hütte und viel Panorama. Manchmal kann man auch Kolkraben kreisen sehen und die Sturzflüge eines Wanderfalken beobachten.

3. Der Schatten im Zirbenwald ist immer ein bisschen kühler


Der einzige grosse Zirbenwald im Tessin. Das Schönste ist es, achtsam seines Weges zu gehen, den Hirschen zuzuhören und dabei der Fantasie freien Lauf zu lassen. Einige dieser stattlichen Zirbelkiefer sind mehr als 300 Jahre alt.

4. Wenn er gross ist, möchte er UNESCO werden…


Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte hat der Mensch im Lodanowald viele Spuren hinterlassen: Beete, Köhlerplätze und Seilbahnen. Diese und eine grosszügige Aussicht auf die majestätische Flusslandschaft der Maggia finden Sie in einem Tal, das den Ehrgeiz hat, Teil des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes zu werden.

5. Eine Symphonie von Wald


Ein Wald für Naturliebhaber, für diejenigen, die die tiefe Kreativität des Waldes zu erfassen wissen. Je aufmerksamer man beobachtet, desto mehr entdeckt man. Spechte, der Waldkauz und viele andere Vögel sind zu hören. Der Wald verändert sich ständig wie eine Symphonie: langsam, bewegt, fröhlich, lebhaft.

Mehr erfahren