Long live the King!

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 23 February - 15.00
  • 15°
  • 229 m
  • Energic

The Rabadan in Bellinzona is one of Switzerland’s biggest carnivals, with over 150 years of history. Carnival is very popular in Ticino and anyone who wants to can celebrate it for over a month between January and March. Its main ingredients are masks, risotto, music and lots of fun.

The Smurfs, the Avengers, a bear, Little Red Riding Hood, Elvis, the Banda Bassotti, Mickey Mouse, cowboys and Indians, knights, tigers and dragons. “They’re all crazy here!” is a spontaneous exclamation and you can understand why. “Is this still Ticino or have we ended up in a parallel universe inhabited by strange festive characters?!” That’s what it’s like when you experience carnival in Ticino for the first time. You’ll be amazed, with surprises behind every corner. The excitement is contagious.
You’d heard about it from friends who had experienced it or local people from Ticino who have it in their blood, but now you’re surrounded by masks, drums, confetti and a great atmosphere you realise this experience was one you just had to have. Luckily you listened when they told you that you absolutely had to get dressed up. Even something simple is fine, like brightly coloured clothes, a strange hat and a pair of glasses, but it would be a big mistake to turn up in your normal gear. In keeping with carnival tradition from all over the world, a mask sets you free and makes everyone equal, doing away with obstacles linked to profession, class, age and background. Masks also create an immediate sense of fun and so you have all the right ingredients to create the perfect atmosphere.

You’re struck by the fact that people are even dressed up at the supermarket and in the streets. Carnival has taken over the capital, where the keys were handed over by the mayor to King Rabadan during the solemn ceremony on Thursday evening on the terrace of the town hall tower. You mustn’t miss the procession of guggen bands, the floats on Sunday afternoon or the risotto and luganiga sausage served at midday on Tuesday. 

It’s evening now. You arrived by train, you walked down the access street strewn with confetti and lined with decorated shop windows, you made it through the security checks and now you’re in the carnival city ready to throw yourself into a dance in one of the many tents. Why just stop at one? Visit them all and stop to listen to a guggen band concert in the street: this big hit played with drums and trumpets sounds like a completely different song, right?

You’ve been amazed by the Ticino carnival and after a day of festivities you have a better understanding of why your friends were so keen to visit Ticino in February.

Claudio Fontana, - participant in the Processions of Holy Week
Claudio Fontana,participant in the Processions of Holy Week
You might be interested also in the following story
You get goose bumps when the procession reaches the main square and 800 people turn to watch it.
Read the story

BELLINZONA - WHAT'S THE WEATHER LIKE

  • Saturday 7 December
  • Min -1° / Max 8°
  • Precipitation 0%

WHAT'S THE WEATHER LIKE IN THE NEXT DAYS

Sun

-2°/7°

Mon

0°/8°

Tue

0°/11°

Wed

-2°/7°

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

Roman or Ambrosian? There are two types of carnival in Ticino associated with the predominant religion. In the Bellinzona valleys, Brissago and the Capriasca Valley, the Ambrosian carnival starts on Ash Wednesday and ends on the following Saturday.


CONTACTS
WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

Vive le roi !

LE MOMENT PARFAIT
  • 23 février - 15.00
  • 15°
  • 229 m
  • Énergique

Le Rabadan de Bellinzona est l'un des plus grands carnavals de Suisse et il existe depuis plus de 150 ans. Au Tessin, le carnaval est très populaire et, entre janvier et mars, ceux qui le veulent peuvent faire la fête pendant plus d'un mois. Masques, risotto, musique et beaucoup de plaisir sont les principaux ingrédients.

Les Schtroumpfs, les Avengers, un ours, le Petit Chaperon rouge, Elvis, Banda Bassotti, Mickey Mouse, les Cow-boys et les Indiens, les chevaliers, les tigres et les dragons: « Mais les voilà tous fous ! » s'exclame-t-on spontanément et c'est normal: « On est encore au Tessin ou on est dans un monde parallèle habité d'étranges personnages festifs ? ». La première fois que l'on participe à un carnaval tessinois, les surprises sont partout et l'enthousiasme est contagieux.
Vous en aviez entendu parler par des amis qui l'avaient vécu ou par des Tessinois qui l'ont dans le sang, mais maintenant que vous êtes entouré de masques, de tambours, de confettis et de bonne humeur, vous savez que c'était une expérience à vivre. Et heureusement, vous avez écouté ceux qui vous ont dit qu'un costume de carnaval était indispensable. Quelque chose de simple, deux vêtements colorés, un chapeau étrange et une paire de lunettes, ça peut aller aussi, mais se montrer avec des vêtements normaux aurait été une grosse erreur. En éliminant les obstacles liés à la profession, la classe, l'âge et l'origine, le masque, comme le veut la tradition du carnaval partout dans le monde, permet à tous d'être libres et égaux. Et les masques apportent immédiatement la joie. Tous les éléments sont donc réunis pour créer la bonne atmosphère.

Vous êtes frappé par le fait que les gens sont en costume même au supermarché et dans les rues. Dans la capitale, dont les clés ont été remises par le maire au roi Rabadan lors de la cérémonie solennelle du jeudi soir sur la terrasse de la tour de la mairie, le carnaval s'est imposé. Vous ne pouvez donc pas manquer la procession des guggen, le défilé des chars du dimanche après-midi ou le risotto et la luganiga servis le mardi à midi. 

Le soir est maintenant là. Vous êtes arrivé en train, avez parcouru la rue d'accès recouverte de confettis et bordée de vitrines aux décorations thématiques. Vous avez passé les contrôles de sécurité et vous voilà dans la ville du carnaval prêt à danser dans une des nombreuses tentes. Pourquoi s'arrêter seulement à une ? Vous les visitez toutes et en chemin, vous vous arrêtez pour écouter un concert d'une guggen. Ce succès populaire joué avec tambours et trompettes ressemble à une autre chanson, non ?

Le carnaval tessinois vous a étonné et après une journée de fêtes, vous comprenez mieux pourquoi vos amis voulaient tellement visiter le Tessin en février.

Claudio Fontana, - figurant dans les Processions de la Semaine Sainte
Claudio Fontana,figurant dans les Processions de la Semaine Sainte
Il pourrait vous intéresser aussi l'histoire suivante
Lorsque la procession arrive sur la place principale et que 800 personnes se tournent pour la regarder, on a la chair de poule.
À l'histoire

BELLINZONA - QUE TEMPS FAIT-IL AUJOURD'HUI

  • Samedi 7 Décembre
  • Min -1° / Max 8°
  • Précipitations 0%

QUE TEMPS FAIT-IL DANS LES PROCHAINS JOURS

dim.

-2°/7°

lun.

0°/8°

mar.

0°/11°

mer.

-2°/7°

QU'EST-CE QU'IL Y A DANS LES PARAGES

INFORMATIONS UTILES

Romain ou ambrosien ? Au Tessin, il existe deux types de carnaval liés au rite religieux prédominant. Dans les vallées du Bellinzonese, à Brissago et dans le Val Capriasca, le carnaval ambrosien débute le mercredi des Cendres et se termine le samedi suivant.


CONTACTS
QUELLE MUSIQUE DANS LES ECOUTEURS

AUTRES EXPÉRIENCES