Long live the King!

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 23 February - 15.00
  • 15°
  • 229 m
  • Energic

The Rabadan in Bellinzona is one of Switzerland’s biggest carnivals, with over 150 years of history. Carnival is very popular in Ticino and anyone who wants to can celebrate it for over a month between January and March. Its main ingredients are masks, risotto, music and lots of fun.

The Smurfs, the Avengers, a bear, Little Red Riding Hood, Elvis, the Banda Bassotti, Mickey Mouse, cowboys and Indians, knights, tigers and dragons. “They’re all crazy here!” is a spontaneous exclamation and you can understand why. “Is this still Ticino or have we ended up in a parallel universe inhabited by strange festive characters?!” That’s what it’s like when you experience carnival in Ticino for the first time. You’ll be amazed, with surprises behind every corner. The excitement is contagious.
You’d heard about it from friends who had experienced it or local people from Ticino who have it in their blood, but now you’re surrounded by masks, drums, confetti and a great atmosphere you realise this experience was one you just had to have. Luckily you listened when they told you that you absolutely had to get dressed up. Even something simple is fine, like brightly coloured clothes, a strange hat and a pair of glasses, but it would be a big mistake to turn up in your normal gear. In keeping with carnival tradition from all over the world, a mask sets you free and makes everyone equal, doing away with obstacles linked to profession, class, age and background. Masks also create an immediate sense of fun and so you have all the right ingredients to create the perfect atmosphere.

You’re struck by the fact that people are even dressed up at the supermarket and in the streets. Carnival has taken over the capital, where the keys were handed over by the mayor to King Rabadan during the solemn ceremony on Thursday evening on the terrace of the town hall tower. You mustn’t miss the procession of guggen bands, the floats on Sunday afternoon or the risotto and luganiga sausage served at midday on Tuesday. 

It’s evening now. You arrived by train, you walked down the access street strewn with confetti and lined with decorated shop windows, you made it through the security checks and now you’re in the carnival city ready to throw yourself into a dance in one of the many tents. Why just stop at one? Visit them all and stop to listen to a guggen band concert in the street: this big hit played with drums and trumpets sounds like a completely different song, right?

You’ve been amazed by the Ticino carnival and after a day of festivities you have a better understanding of why your friends were so keen to visit Ticino in February.

Claudio Fontana, - participant in the Processions of Holy Week
Claudio Fontana,participant in the Processions of Holy Week
You might be interested also in the following story
You get goose bumps when the procession reaches the main square and 800 people turn to watch it.
Read the story

BELLINZONA - WHAT'S THE WEATHER LIKE

  • Saturday 7 December
  • Min -1° / Max 8°
  • Precipitation 0%

WHAT'S THE WEATHER LIKE IN THE NEXT DAYS

Sun

-2°/7°

Mon

0°/8°

Tue

0°/11°

Wed

-2°/7°

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

Roman or Ambrosian? There are two types of carnival in Ticino associated with the predominant religion. In the Bellinzona valleys, Brissago and the Capriasca Valley, the Ambrosian carnival starts on Ash Wednesday and ends on the following Saturday.


CONTACTS
WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

Wenn im Tessin der König regiert

DER PERFEKTE MOMENT
  • 23. Februar - 15.00 Uhr
  • 15°
  • 229 m
  • Belebend

Der Rabadan in Bellinzona gehört zu den grössten Karnevalsfesten der Schweiz und weist eine über 150-jährige Geschichte auf. Generell spielt die Fasnacht eine grosse Rolle im Tessin. Wer will, kann zwischen Januar und März über einen Monat lang mit Kostümen, Risotto, Musik und viel Spass feiern.

Die Schlümpfe, die Avengers, ein Bär, Rotkäppchen, Elvis, die Panzerknackerbande, Micky Mouse, Indianer und Cowboys, Ritter, Tiger und Drachen. "Jetzt drehen alle durch", ist der erste Gedanke, der einem Neuling durch den Kopf schiesst. Absolut nachvollziehbar. "Ist das noch das Tessin – oder eine Parallelwelt voller verrückter Figuren auf einer Party?" Der erstmalige Besuch eines Tessiner Karnevals läuft wie folgt ab: Erst grosses Erstaunen, dann Überraschungen hinter jeder Ecke, während der Enthusiasmus ansteckt.

Ihnen haben wahrscheinlich Freunde davon erzählt. Vielleicht auch Tessiner, denen die Fasnacht im Blut steckt. Aber jetzt, da Sie sich inmitten von Masken, Trommeln, Konfetti und Stimmungsmusik wiederfinden, wissen Sie, dass man es einmal erlebt haben muss. Zum Glück hörten Sie auf diejenigen, die sagten, dass Sie unbedingt ein Kostüm tragen müssen. Etwas Einfaches reicht aus, zwei bunte Kleidungsstücke, ein alberner Hut und eine Brille. In Alltagskleidung hier aufzutauchen, wäre ein grosser Fehler gewesen. Die Maske, die weltweit zum Karneval dazugehört, gibt ein Gefühl von (Narren-)Freiheit und macht alle Besucher gleich. Gesellschaftliche Barrieren, wie sie sonst durch Beruf, Rolle, Alter oder Herkunft bestehen, lösen sich auf. Wer sich verkleidet, hat gute Laune. Beste Voraussetzung.

Es amüsiert Sie, überall Menschen in Kostümen zu sehen, selbst im Supermarkt und auf der Strasse. Die Tessiner Hauptstadt, deren Schlüssel in einer offiziellen Zeremonie am Donnerstagabend vom Gemeindepräsidenten an König Rabadan übergeben wurden, befindet sich vollständig in der Hand der Narren. Verpassen Sie auf keinen Fall die Guggenmusik, den Festumzug der Wagen am Donnerstagnachmittag und das Risotto mit Luganiga am Dienstagmittag!

Inzwischen ist es Abend geworden. Sie sind aus dem Zug gestiegen, durch die Gassen voller Konfetti und geschmückter Geschäfte gelaufen, haben die Sicherheitskontrolle passiert und endlich die Karnevalsmonarchie betreten. Jetzt ist der Moment gekommen, sich in die tanzende Menge in den Festzelten zu werfen. Aber bloss nicht an nur einem Ort verharren: Es lohnt sich, alles anzuschauen. Vor allem die Guggenkonzerte: Das ist Musik, die mitreisst. 

Der Tessiner Karneval war für Sie eine grosse Überraschung. Und schon nach einem Tag verstehen Sie, wieso Ihre Freunde immer ausgerechnet im Februar ins Tessin reisen.

Claudio Fontana, - Darsteller der Prozessionen der Karwoche
Claudio Fontana,Darsteller der Prozessionen der Karwoche
Auch diese Geschichte könnte Sie interessieren
Wenn die Prozession den zentralen Platz erreicht und 800 Menschen drehen sich zu einem um, ist das pures Gänsehaut-Feeling.
Zur Geschichte

BELLINZONA - WIE IST DAS WETTER HEUTE

  • Samstag 7 Dezember
  • Min -1° / Max 8°
  • Niederschlag 0%

UND IN DEN NÄCHSTEN TAGEN

So

-2°/7°

Mo

0°/8°

Di

0°/11°

Mi

-2°/7°

WAS IST IN DER NÄHE

NÜTZLICHE INFO

Römisch oder ambrosianisch? Im Tessin gibt es zwei Arten von Karneval, die sich nach dem vorherrschenden religiösen Ritus richten. In den Tälern des Bellinzonese, in Brissago und im Valle Capriasca wird der ambrosianische Karneval gefeiert, der am Aschermittwoch beginnt und bis Samstag dauert.


KONTAKT
FÜR DEN KOPFHÖRER

WEITERE ERLEBNISSE