• Events
  • locarnofestival
  • redcarpet

Piazza Grande, an open-air cinema in the heart of Locarno

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 9 August – 21.10
  • 26°
  • Surprised

The sun has already set, the colours on the maxi screen become increasingly intense, Piazza Grande fills up with people who share a passion for cinema. Every August, since 1946, here you will breathe the magical yellow and black atmosphere of the Locarno Festival.

At sunset Piazza Grande begins to crowd with people who sit on the 8,000 yellow and black chairs. With muffled steps the emblematic leopard crosses the big screen starting off the evening’s showings and you are about to see a preview of what will soon become famous worldwide.
The Locarno Festival belongs to the whole city. The people of Locarno have borne it in their hearts for many years: they now have it in their blood. Traders and restaurateurs decorate up their shops and restaurants with themes that encourage you to immerse yourself in the enthralling atmosphere that the festival creates every year.

The fanciful decorations in the shop windows around Piazza Grande give the town its colours.

Locarno, red carpet

Locarno, film screening in Piazza Grande

Locarno, Piazza Grande top view

Locarno, City Garden

Locarno, PalaCinema

Locarno, Rotonda di Piazza Castello

At the end of the screening, you really want to find out what else this film festival can offer you. At the Piazza Castello roundabout, you will find an incandescent village where you can experience an exciting evening full of fun, meetings, music and ethnic food.

The atmosphere of City Garden, an open-air location in the old town where you can share the most intense moments of the day, is also something you shouldn’t miss.

A GOOD EVENING
18.30

Apero time in the old town

20.00

Photo souvenir on the red carpet

21.30

Start evening film screening

23.00 - 03.00

Side events of the Locarno Festival

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

First film screening at 9.00, last at 23.00.
Evening entertainment at the Rotonda di Piazza Castello and at the City Garden in the Old Town.
Events closing at 3.00.


CONTACTS
WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

Piazza Grande, la salle de cinéma au cœur de Locarno

LE MOMENT PARFAIT
  • 9 août – 21.10
  • 26°
  • Surpris

Le soleil est maintenant couché, les couleurs du grand écran se font de plus en plus nettes, la Piazza Grande se remplit de monde. Ils ont tous en commun la passion pour le cinéma. Tous les mois d'août depuis 1946, on y respire une ambiance magique aux couleurs jaune et noire appelée Locarno Festival.

Au coucher du soleil, la Piazza Grande se met à noircir de monde. Chacun tente de trouver une place sur l’une des 8000 chaises jaunes et noires; à pas feutrés, le léopard bien connu du festival traverse le grand écran avant de laisser libre cours aux projections de la soirée; vous allez pouvoir découvrir en avant-première des productions avant que celles-ci ne fassent le tour du monde.
Le Locarno Festival est le symbole de toute la ville, les habitants le portent dans leur cœur depuis de nombreuses années, ils l’ont dans leur sang. Les commerçants et restaurateurs parent leurs boutiques et restaurants des emblèmes du festival afin de vous faire plonger dans l’atmosphère prégnante qui renaît chaque année.

Les décorations les plus fantaisistes des vitrines qui entourent la Piazza Grande donnent alors le ton de la ville.

Locarno, red carpet

Locarno, red carpet

Locarno, film dans la Piazza Grande

Locarno, film dans la Piazza Grande

Locarno, Piazza Grande d'en haut

Locarno, Piazza Grande d'en haut

Locarno, City Garden

Locarno, City Garden

Locarno, PalaCinema

Locarno, PalaCinema

Locarno, Rotonda di Piazza Castello

Locarno, Rotonda di Piazza Castello

À la fin de la projection, le festival du film a tant d’autres choses à offrir pour assouvir votre soif de curiosité. À la Rotonda di Piazza Castello, vous trouverez un village incandescent où vous pourrez vivre une expérience riche en émotions, divertissement, rencontres, musique et nourriture exotique.

À ne pas manquer non plus, l’ambiance du City Garden, un lieu à ciel ouvert de la vieille ville pour partager ensemble les plus beaux moments passés durant la journée.

UNE BELLE SOIRÉE
18.30

Apéritif dans la vieille ville

20.00

Photo-souvenir sur le tapis rouge

21.30

Début des projections cinématographiques de la soirée

23.00 - 03.00

Évènements en marge du Locarno Festival

QU'EST-CE QU'IL Y A DANS LES PARAGES

INFORMATIONS UTILES

Premier film à 9h00, dernier à 23h00.
Animations nocturnes à la Rotonda di Piazza Castello et au City Garden dans la vieille ville.
Fin des événements à 03h00.


CONTACTS
QUELLE MUSIQUE DANS LES ECOUTEURS

AUTRES EXPÉRIENCES