Stories engraved in the rocks

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 30 August - 10.00
  • 23°
  • 18°
  • Relaxed

At the entrance of the Breggia Gorge Park, the former Saceba cement works lies like a sleeping giant. A unique contrast between industry and nature is in store for visitors along the historic path between the Ghitello and Canaa mills. 200 million years of geological history are waiting to be discovered over an area of 65 hectares.

Here it is, the huge and imposing furnace tower of the former Saceba cement works, surrounded by greenery. The dogs run through the tall grass in this secluded corner of the world. As you walk past, you and your companion admire the majesty of this structure with so many stories to tell.

High in the sky, the sun illuminates the path ahead of you. It's time to continue along the 18th-century path that leads to the Red Church, and the ruins of the medieval castle of San Pietro. From this point on, the leisurely descent takes you past the Canaa mill, where the oldest rocks are located. These stratifications rich in clays and ammonites (fossils) are 200 million years old.

Impressed by the rocks, you stop for a closer look at the signs of time that mark this place. You count the layers, a bit like you (jokingly) count the wrinkles on your face as the years go by... How much history these signs reveal!

The Torre dei Forni, Breggia Gorge Park.

The Torre dei Forni, Breggia Gorge Park.

Red Church, Castel San Pietro.

Red Church, Castel San Pietro.

Centuries-old rock stratifications, Breggia Gorge Park.

Centuries-old rock stratifications, Breggia Gorge Park.

Hiking trail in the Breggia Gorge Park.

Hiking trail in the Breggia Gorge Park.

Crystal clear natural pools, Breggia Gorge Park.

Crystal clear natural pools, Breggia Gorge Park.

The Breggia gorges: a unique natural spectacle.

The Breggia gorges: a unique natural spectacle.

A glass of Ticino wine at the Casa del Vino Ticino.

A glass of Ticino wine at the Casa del Vino Ticino.

On the way back, the walk seems much shorter, so you stop to take a break and admire the deep gorges. The layers of limestone have in fact been worn away by the 12-km Breggia river, which runs through the entire Muggio Valley, carving out more open spaces.

Almost at the end of the trip, you come to the foot of the cement works once again and spot a group of people in front of the building wearing helmets and reflective jackets and carrying lamps. Curious, you go up to them. A very friendly guide tells you that the most exciting experience is not just admiring the cement works inside and out, but also exploring the Cement Trail. What an adventure, following the route through the galleries where limestone was mined!

Finally, you arrive at the Casa del Vino, home of wines from local producers. You have earned a glass of good merlot accompanied by delicious appetizers. What a treat!

Carlo Crivelli, - vine grower
Carlo Crivelli,vine grower
You might be interested also in the following story
We’re borrowing from our own history and cultivating more heritage grape varieties again, such as Nebbiolo.
Read the story
A GOOD DAY
10.00

The concrete giant bids you good morning

10.30

The view from the Red Church restores your spirit

11.00

What spectacular rocks!

12.00

A well-earned snack

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

CONTACTS
WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

Histoires gravées dans la roche

LE MOMENT PARFAIT
  • 30 août - 10.00
  • 23°
  • 18°
  • Détendu

Aux portes du Parc des Gorges de la Breggia, l’ancienne cimenterie Saceba gît tel un géant endormi. Un contraste unique entre l’industrie et la nature accueille les visiteurs qui, depuis le moulin du Ghitello, entreprennent le sentier historique qui conduit au moulin de Canaa. 200 millions d’années d’histoire géologique à découvrir sur 65 hectares de superficie.

La voici, l'imposante et massive tour des fours de la Saceba, l’ancienne cimenterie entourée de végétation. Les chiens courent dans les herbes hautes de ce petit coin coupé du monde. Tandis que vous vous promenez, vous admirez avec votre compagnon le caractère majestueux de cette structure qui raconte tant d’histoires.

Le soleil haut dans le ciel éclaire le parcours qui s’étire devant vous. Il est temps de poursuivre le chemin en empruntant le sentier du XVIIIème siècle qui mène à l’Église Rouge et aux ruines du château médiéval de S. Pietro. À partir de là, la descente est agréable et conduit aux alentours du moulin de Canaa où se trouvent les roches les plus anciennes. Ces stratifications riches en argile et en ammonites (fossiles) ont 200 millions d’années.

Impressionnée par les roches, vous vous arrêtez pour observer les signes du temps. Vous comptez les stratifications, un peu comme lorsque vous comptez (pour plaisanter) les rides sur votre visage au fur et à mesure que les années passent... Ces signes du temps révèlent tant d'histoire !

La Torre dei Forni, Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

La Torre dei Forni, Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Église Rouge, Castel San Pietro.

Église Rouge, Castel San Pietro.

Stratifications de roches centenaires, Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Stratifications de roches centenaires, Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Sentier de randonnée dans le Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Sentier de randonnée dans le Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Piscines naturelles cristallines, Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Piscines naturelles cristallines, Parc des Gorges de la Breggia.

Les gorges de la Breggia :  un spectacle naturel unique.

Les gorges de la Breggia : un spectacle naturel unique.

Un verre de vin tessinois à la Casa del Vino Ticino.

Un verre de vin tessinois à la Casa del Vino Ticino.

Au retour, la promenade vous semble bien plus courte  : une pause balnéaire est donc autorisée pour vos amis à quatre pattes. Ils n’ont qu'une hâte, plonger dans l’eau fraîche des gorges profondes ! L’érosion de l’eau du fleuve Breggia, d'une longueur de 12 km, qui traverse toute la vallée de Muggio, a en effet poli les couches de calcaire, réalisant ainsi des espaces plus ouverts.

Au terme du circuit, vous vous retrouvez à nouveau au pied de la cimenterie et vous apercevez devant l’édifice un groupe de personnes coiffées d'un casque et équipées d’une lampe et d’un gilet réfléchissant. Curieuse, vous vous approchez. En quelques minutes, un guide très sympathique vous explique que l’expérience la plus passionnante ne consiste pas seulement à admirer la cimenterie à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur, mais à découvrir tout le parcours du ciment. Visiter les tunnels d’extraction du calcaire... quelle aventure !

À la fin, vous voici arrivés à la Casa del Vino, où les producteurs locaux proposent leurs vins. Vous avez mérité un bon verre de merlot, accompagné d’excellents amuse-bouche. Quel délice !

Carlo Crivelli, - viticulteur
Carlo Crivelli,viticulteur
Il pourrait vous intéresser aussi l'histoire suivante
Nous sommes solidement ancrés à notre histoire et cultivons de plus en plus d’anciens cépages tels que le Nebbiolo.
À l'histoire
UNE BELLE JOURNÉE
10.00

Le géant de ciment vous salue

10.30

Depuis l’Église Rouge, la vue est régénérante

11.00

Casse-croûte final mérité

12.00

Casse-croûte final mérité

QU'EST-CE QU'IL Y A DANS LES PARAGES

INFORMATIONS UTILES

CONTACTS
QUELLE MUSIQUE DANS LES ECOUTEURS

AUTRES EXPÉRIENCES