148228
Image 0 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 1 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 2 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 3 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 4 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 5 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia

Parco delle Gole della Breggia

The Parco delle Gole della Breggia is located in the Lower Muggio Valley and develops along the river of the same name, between the municipalities of Balerna, Castel San Pietro, Morbio Inferiore and Breggia.

The Breggia river discovers, in just one and a half kilometres, rocks that open a unique window on the Earth's past. It is the geology that makes this Park one of the most important geotypes in Switzerland; but this place is also a treasure chest of biodiversity and a silent witness of the local economic and industrial history.

A visit to the Park takes you on a journey through 200 million years of geological history and 2000 years of human history.

The itinerary starts on the hill of Castel San Pietro, where there are the remains of the medieval castle and the Red Church dating back to the 14th century, which preserves beautiful Gothic frescoes (the church is normally closed. The visit is possible and must be agreed with the Cottarelli-Günther family (+41 79 685 26 31 / +41 76 560 19 37). Possibility to reach Castel San Pietro by post bus (stop Castel San Pietro Posta).

Going down along the marked path, you will reach the Punt da Canaa and the remains of the Canaa Mill. The water seems to mark a time line, it slides and digs in this point the flint limestone, the oldest marine sediments of the Park. Going down towards the south, these are enriched with clay and fossils (ammonites), they change colour and as you get closer to the Ghitello Mill, they become more recent.
Reached the "Prato delle Streghe", a welcoming clearing equipped for stopping, here is the Ponte del Farügin (or Punt dal Diavul). This passage between the two banks of the valley is the best point, as well as the highest, for observing the gorges dug by the Breggia river.

At the end of the descent, attention inevitably falls on the imposing structure of the former cement factory, evidence of an industrial past that today can be deepened by participating in the Cement Trail.

The path continues until it reaches the Ghitello Mill, one of the most complete and best preserved hydraulic factories in Switzerland. Dating back to 1606, it remained active until the 1960s and was then restored. It currently houses two multifunctional spaces, the educational support laboratory, a garden set up as a picnic area and the Casa del Vino Ticino restaurant, which promotes Ticino wine in the local gastronomic culture. A place for meetings, training, events and wine tastings.

The itinerary ends in Morbio Inferiore, where one of the Park's car parks is located behind the Breggia Shopping Centre.

Tips

To explore the route, we recommend buying the official maps of the Federal Office of Topography Swisstopo. In addition, the following website map.geo.admin.ch offers constantly updated data.

  • Hiking boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

The Cement Trail
In the heart of the Parco delle Gole della Breggia, the imposing structures of the Saceba cement factory, now in disuse, have been redeveloped and renovated in order to offer a testimony to Ticino's economic history.

The Cement Trail, offers the possibility to make the same route that one and a half million cubic metres of majolica and flakes, the main ingredients for the production of cement, have made from the open-air quarries and tunnels to the oil mill and finally to the Forni Tower.
The latter has been converted to a new use that includes exhibition and educational, multi-purpose and cultural spaces.

NOTES: The Cement Trail is suitable for everyone, it is necessary to make a reservation and requires the accompaniment of two guides. The extraction galleries are very large but the visit is not recommended for those suffering from claustrophobia, diabetes, cardiovascular disorders, epilepsy and severe motor difficulties. The temperature in the galleries is about 13 degrees constant and the humidity is high; it is recommended to dress appropriately.

Helmet, lamp and reflective jacket are provided by the Park. The Forni Tower, the exhibition space, can also be visited individually. The refurbished outdoor spaces are freely accessible.

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

148228
Image 0 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 1 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 2 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 3 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 4 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia
Image 5 - Parco delle Gole della Breggia

Parco delle Gole della Breggia

Le Parc des Gorges de la Breggia est situé dans la basse vallée de Muggio et se développe le long de la rivière du même nom, entre les municipalités de Balerna, Castel San Pietro, Morbio Inferiore et Breggia.

La rivière Breggia dévoile, en un kilomètre et demi seulement, des rochers qui ouvrent une fenêtre unique sur le passé de la Terre. C'est la géologie qui fait de ce parc l'un des géotopes les plus importants de Suisse ; mais ce lieu est aussi un coffre aux trésors de la biodiversité et un témoin silencieux de l'histoire économique et industrielle locale.

Une visite du parc vous emmène dans un voyage à travers 200 millions d'années d'histoire géologique et 2000 ans d'histoire de l’homme.

L'itinéraire commence sur la colline de Castel San Pietro, où se trouvent les vestiges du château médiéval et de l' Église Rouge datant du XIVe siècle, qui conserve de belles fresques gothiques (l'église est normalement fermée. La visite est possible et doit être convenue avec la famille Cottarelli-Günther (+41 79 685 26 31 / +41 76 560 19 37). 

En descendant le long du sentier balisé, vous atteindrez le pont Punt da Canaa et les vestiges du moulin de Canaa. L'eau semble marquer une ligne temporelle, elle glisse et creuse en ce point le calcaire de silex, les plus anciens sédiments marins du Parc. En descendant vers le sud, celles-ci sont enrichies d'argile et de fossiles (ammonites), elles changent de couleur et plus on s'approche du Moulin du Ghitello, plus elles deviennent récentes.
En arrivant au "Prato delle Streghe", une clairière accueillante équipée pour une petite pause, voici le pont Ponte del Farügin (ou Punt dal Diavul). Ce passage entre les deux rives de la vallée est le meilleur point, ainsi que le plus élevé, pour observer les gorges creusées par la rivière Breggia.

À la fin de la descente, l'attention se porte inévitablement sur la structure imposante de l'ancienne cimenterie, témoignage d'un passé industriel qui peut aujourd'hui être approfondi en participant au Parcours du Ciment.

Le chemin se poursuit jusqu'au Moulin du Ghitello, l'une des usines hydrauliques les plus complètes et les mieux conservées de Suisse. Datant de 1606, il est resté actif jusqu'aux années 1960 et a ensuite été restauré. Il abrite actuellement deux espaces multifonctionnels, le laboratoire de soutien pédagogique, un jardin aménagé en aire de pique-nique et le restaurant Casa del Vino Ticino, qui fait la promotion du vin tessinois dans la culture gastronomique locale. Un lieu de rencontres, de formations, d'événements et de dégustations.

L'itinéraire se termine à Morbio Inferiore, où l'un des parkings du parc est situé derrière le Centre Commercial Breggia.

Suggestions

Pour profiter de l'itinéraire, nous vous recommandons l'achat de cartes officielles de l'Office fédéral de topographie Swisstopo. De plus, le siteweb map.geo.admin.ch propose des données régulièrement actualisées.

  • Chaussures de randonnée
  • Casquette
  • Gourde
  • Lunettes de soleil
  • Crème solaire
  • Carte d’excursion
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider: www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

Le parcours du ciment
Au cœur du Parc des Gorges de la Breggia les imposantes structures de la cimenterie de Saceba, aujourd'hui désaffectées, ont été réaménagées et rénovées afin d'offrir un témoignage de l'histoire économique du Tessin.

Le parcours du ciment, offre la possibilité de faire le même parcours qu'un million et demi de mètres cubes de majolique et de flocons, les principaux ingrédients pour la production de ciment, ont fait depuis les carrières à ciel ouvert et les tunnels jusqu'au moulin à huile et enfin à la Tour de fours.
Ce dernier a été converti en un nouvel usage qui comprend des espaces d'exposition et des espaces éducatifs, polyvalents et culturels.

NOTES : Le parcours du ciment convient à tous, il faut faire une réservation et nécessite l'accompagnement de deux guides. Les galeries d'extraction sont très grandes mais la visite n'est pas recommandée pour les personnes souffrant de claustrophobie, de diabète, de troubles cardiovasculaires, d'épilepsie et de graves difficultés motrices. La température dans les galeries est d'environ 13 degrés constants et l'humidité est élevée ; il est recommandé de s'habiller correctement.

Le casque, la lampe et la veste réfléchissante sont fournis par le parc. La Tour des fours, l'espace d'exposition, peut également être visitée individuellement. Les espaces extérieurs rénovés sont librement accessibles.

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !