5 works of art by Mario Botta


Sculptors, painters, architects, ... Ticino is a land of artists! Ancient architectural signs and famous works are the result of great teachers who have characterized the territory. Born in Mendrisio in 1943, Mario Botta, began his career in Lugano, building single-family houses. Today the whole Ticino offers masterpieces signed by this important artist, known all over the world.

1. At the theatre with the artist


The Teatro dell’architettura, located inside the Campus of the Mendrisio Academy of Architecture, is one of the latest works created by Mario Botta. A structure aimed at strengthening the educational offer of the area and last but not least a partner of the new Network of Musei d’Arte del Mendrisiotto (MAM). 

2. Art and culture in the open air


According to the architect, it is a contrast between nature and architecture that gives life to the Santa Maria degli Angeli chapel of Mount Tamaro. A footbridge that leads to the belvedere, a panoramic point from where you can admire the landscape. 

3. Geometric effects in upper Maggia Valley


Gneiss, marble, iron and glass. Some of the materials used by Mario Botta for the construction of the church of San Giovanni Battista, set in a mountain landscape, in Mogno.

4. Fiore di pietra on Monte Generoso


Geometric shapes at 1,704 m a.s.l. Created by the architect Mario Botta, this piece emanates history and more.

5. Cooming soon on ice


Opening scheduled for the 2021/22 hockey season. The new Valascia in Airolo will soon see the light! Ready to be surrounded by scenic architecture on the ice?

Ice rink Valascia

Ice rink Valascia

Learn more

5 œuvres signées Mario Botta


Sculpteurs, peintres, architectes, ... le Tessin est une terre d'artistes ! Des plus anciens signes architecturaux aux œuvres célèbres, résultat de grands maîtres qui ont caractérisé le territoire. Mario Botta, né à Mendrisio en 1943, a commencé sa carrière à Lugano, en construisant les maisons individuelles. Aujourd'hui, tout le Tessin offre des chefs-d'œuvre signés par l'important artiste tessinois, connu dans le monde entier.

1. Au théâtre avec l'artiste


Le Teatro dell’architettura, situé à l'intérieur du Campus de l'Accademia di architettura de Mendrsio, est l'une des plus récents œuvres réalisées par Mario Botta. Une structure visant à renforcer l'offre éducative du territoire et enfin un partenaire du nouveau Réseau des Musei d’Arte del Mendrisiotto (MAM). 

2. Art et culture en plein air


Selon l'architecte, c'est précisément le contraste entre la nature et l'architecture qui donne vie à l'église Sainte-Marie des Anges du Mont Tamaro. Une passerelle mène au belvédère, un point de vue panoramique d'où l'on peut admirer le paysage. 

3. Les empiècements géométriques dans le haut Val Maggia


Gneiss, marbre, fer et verre. Quelques-uns des matériaux utilisés par Mario Botta pour la construction de l'église de San Giovanni Battista, située dans un paysage de montagne, à Mogno.

4. Fiore di pietra sur le Monte Generoso


Des géométries fixées à une altitude de 1’704 m. Conçue par l'architecte Mario Botta, cette œuvre libère l’histoire et plus encore. 

5. Cooming soon sur la glace


Ouverture prévue pour la saison de hockey 2021/22. La nouvelle Valascia à Airolo va bientôt voir le jour ! Prêt à être sur la glace, entouré d'une architecture scénique ? 

Patinoire Valascia

Patinoire Valascia

En savoir plus