5 works of art by Mario Botta


Sculptors, painters, architects, ... Ticino is a land of artists! Ancient architectural signs and famous works are the result of great teachers who have characterized the territory. Born in Mendrisio in 1943, Mario Botta, began his career in Lugano, building single-family houses. Today the whole Ticino offers masterpieces signed by this important artist, known all over the world.

1. At the theatre with the artist


The Teatro dell’architettura, located inside the Campus of the Mendrisio Academy of Architecture, is one of the latest works created by Mario Botta. A structure aimed at strengthening the educational offer of the area and last but not least a partner of the new Network of Musei d’Arte del Mendrisiotto (MAM). 

2. Art and culture in the open air


According to the architect, it is a contrast between nature and architecture that gives life to the Santa Maria degli Angeli chapel of Mount Tamaro. A footbridge that leads to the belvedere, a panoramic point from where you can admire the landscape. 

3. Geometric effects in upper Maggia Valley


Gneiss, marble, iron and glass. Some of the materials used by Mario Botta for the construction of the church of San Giovanni Battista, set in a mountain landscape, in Mogno.

4. Fiore di pietra on Monte Generoso


Geometric shapes at 1,704 m a.s.l. Created by the architect Mario Botta, this piece emanates history and more.

5. Cooming soon on ice


Opening scheduled for the 2021/22 hockey season. The new Valascia in Airolo will soon see the light! Ready to be surrounded by scenic architecture on the ice?

Ice rink Valascia

Ice rink Valascia

Learn more

5 Bauwerke signiert von Mario Botta


Bildhauer, Maler, Architekten, ... Das Tessin ist ein Land der Künstler! Von den ältesten architektonischen Spuren bis zu den berühmten Werken grosser Meister, die das Land geprägt haben. Mario Botta, 1943 in Mendrisio geboren, begann seine Karriere in Lugano mit dem Bau von Einfamilienhäusern. Heute sind im ganzen Tessin Werke dieses weltberühmten Künstlers zu finden.

1. Mit dem Künstler im Theater


Das Teatro dell’architettura, eines der letzten Werke von Mario Botta, befindet sich auf dem Campus der Accademia di architettura von Mendrsio. Eine Gebäude, welches das Bildungsangebot stärkt und nicht zuletzt ein Partner des neuen Netzwerks der Musei d’arte del Mendrisiotto (MAM). 

2. Kunst und Kultur unter freiem Himmel


Das ist genau der Kontrast, gemäss des Architekten, den die Kirche Santa Maria degli Angeli am Monte Tamaro widerspiegelt. Ein Spazierweg führt zum Aussichtspunkt, von dem man die Landschaft bewundern kann.

3. Geometrisches Spiel im oberen Maggiatal


Gneiss, Marmor, Eisen und Glas. Einige der Materialien, die Mario Botta für die Kirche San Giovanni Battista in Mogno verwendet hat. 

4. Steinblume auf dem Monte Generoso


Geometrische Architektur auf 1'704 Höhenmeter. Ein Bau aus der Feder von Mario Botta, der die Geschichte des Ortes symbolisiert. 

5. Cooming soon auf dem Eis 


Die Eröffnung ist für die Eishockeysaison 2021/22 geplant. Das neue Stadion Valascia in Airolo wird bald fertig sein! Hier wird Architektur inszeniert statt auf Eis gelegt, überzeugen Sie sich bald selbst.

Eisbahn Valascia

Eisbahn Valascia

Mehr erfahren