5 hikes with a view of snowy peaks


A carpet of flowers awaits you in March. Spring in Ticino brings the scent of mimosa, the colours of camellias and magnolias, the well-tended palm gardens and a spectacular view of the snow-covered peaks. A fragrant awakening revives the spirit after the winter. Let yourself be enchanted, in the mild season on these 5 walks.

1. Breathtaking 360° views


The path descends from the summit of Monte San Salvatore through chestnut woods, passing the artist's village of Carona, to the lake and Morcote. On the way it is worth visiting the botanical garden Parco San Grato. In April and May a multicoloured carpet of rhododendrons and azaleas blooms here.

2. The balcony over Lake Maggiore


Starting at Monte Verità, the legendary birthplace of the alternative movement in the heights above Ascona a scenic trail winds its way to Ronco. From here, 800 steps lead to the lake, where the Brissago Islands form a scenic backdrop.

3. A thrilling crossing


The trail begins in rows of vines and chestnut woods, with a magnificent view over the Magadino plain and Lake Maggiore in the background. The Tibetan bridge, with its 130 metres of suspension and 270 metres in length is one of the longest in Switzerland. The housing cluster of Curzútt, with its stone buildings, gardens and terraces planted with grain and vine is the last stop on the tour.

4. From Meride to the enchanted forest


Centuries-old chestnut trees, an ancient cableway and 200 million years of history. This is what awaits you along the geo-paleontological path of Monte San Giorgio, part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A visit to this place holds the fascination of a time that has passed for more than 200 million years. It is one of the most important fossil deposits in the world.

5. Between the mountains and the lake


About forty themed panels accompany the walk on Monte Gambarogno. They tell evocative tales of times past as well as more modern stories about the big changes to the landscape over the past 150 years.

Learn more

5 randonnées avec vue sur les sommets enneigés


Un tapis de fleurs vous attend en mars. Le printemps au Tessin apporte le parfum du mimosa, le jeu de couleurs des camélias et des magnolias, les palmeraies bien entretenues et une vue spectaculaire sur les sommets enneigés. Un réveil parfumé ravive l'esprit après l'hiver. Laissez-vous enchanter, à la saison douce, par ces 5 balades.

1. Une vue époustouflante à 360°


Le chemin descend du sommet du San Salvatore à travers des bois de châtaigniers, en passant par le village d'artistes de Carona, jusqu'au lac et à Morcote. En route, une visite au jardin botanique Parco San Grato s'impose. En avril et mai, un tapis multicolore de rhododendrons et d'azalées fleurit ici.

2. Le balcon sur le Lac Majeur


Du Monte Verità, berceau légendaire du mouvement alternatif au-dessus d'Ascona, un sentier panoramique conduit à Ronco. De là, 800 marches mènent au lac, où les îles de Brissago forment une toile de fond pittoresque.

3. Une traversée palpitante


Le chemin commence au milieu des rangées de vignes et des bois de châtaigniers, avec une vue magnifique sur la plaine de Magadino et le lac Majeur en arrière-plan. Le pont tibétain, avec ses 130 mètres de suspension et 270 mètres de longueur, est l'un des plus longs de Suisse. Le petit village de Curzútt, avec ses bâtiments en pierre, ses jardins potagers et ses terrasses de céréales et de vignes, est la dernière étape du circuit.

4. De Meride à la forêt enchantée


Des châtaigniers centenaires, un ancien téléphérique et plus de 200 millions d'années d'histoire. C'est ce qui vous attend sur le sentier géo-paléontologique du Monte San Giorgio, part d'un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Une visite de ce lieu exerce la fascination d'un temps qui s'est écoulé depuis plus de 200 millions d'années. C'est l'un des plus importants gisements de fossiles au monde.

5. Entre montagnes et lac


Une quarantaine de panneaux thématiques accompagnent la promenade du Monte Gambarogno. Ils racontent des histoires, parfois anciennes et suggestives, parfois modernes, qui mettent en évidence les changements territoriaux qui ont eu lieu au cours des 150 dernières années.

En savoir plus