5 hikes with a view of snowy peaks


A carpet of flowers awaits you in March. Spring in Ticino brings the scent of mimosa, the colours of camellias and magnolias, the well-tended palm gardens and a spectacular view of the snow-covered peaks. A fragrant awakening revives the spirit after the winter. Let yourself be enchanted, in the mild season on these 5 walks.

1. Breathtaking 360° views


The path descends from the summit of Monte San Salvatore through chestnut woods, passing the artist's village of Carona, to the lake and Morcote. On the way it is worth visiting the botanical garden Parco San Grato. In April and May a multicoloured carpet of rhododendrons and azaleas blooms here.

2. The balcony over Lake Maggiore


Starting at Monte Verità, the legendary birthplace of the alternative movement in the heights above Ascona a scenic trail winds its way to Ronco. From here, 800 steps lead to the lake, where the Brissago Islands form a scenic backdrop.

3. A thrilling crossing


The trail begins in rows of vines and chestnut woods, with a magnificent view over the Magadino plain and Lake Maggiore in the background. The Tibetan bridge, with its 130 metres of suspension and 270 metres in length is one of the longest in Switzerland. The housing cluster of Curzútt, with its stone buildings, gardens and terraces planted with grain and vine is the last stop on the tour.

4. From Meride to the enchanted forest


Centuries-old chestnut trees, an ancient cableway and 200 million years of history. This is what awaits you along the geo-paleontological path of Monte San Giorgio, part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A visit to this place holds the fascination of a time that has passed for more than 200 million years. It is one of the most important fossil deposits in the world.

5. Between the mountains and the lake


About forty themed panels accompany the walk on Monte Gambarogno. They tell evocative tales of times past as well as more modern stories about the big changes to the landscape over the past 150 years.

Learn more

5 Wanderungen mit Blick auf verschneite Gipfel


Im März wartet ein Blumenteppich auf Sie. Der Frühling im Tessin bringt den Duft der Mimosen, das Farbenspiel der Kamelien und Magnolien, die gepflegten Palmengärten und eine spektakuläre Aussicht auf die schneebedeckten Gipfel mit sich. Ein duftendes Erwachen belebt den Geist nach dem Winter. Lassen Sie sich verzaubern, in der milden Jahreszeit auf diesen 5 Wanderungen.

1. Ein 360-Grad-Rundblick


Der Weg führt vom Gipfel des San Salvatore durch Kastanienwälder hinab, am Künstlerdorf Carona vorbei bis zum See und Morcote. Unterwegs lohnt sich ein Besuch im botanischen Garten Parco San Grato. Im April und Mai blüht hier ein vielfarbiger Teppich aus Rhododendren und Azaleen.

2. Der Balkon über dem Lago Maggiore


Vom Monte Verità, Wiege der Alternativbewegung anfangs des 20. Jahrhunderts oberhalb von Ascona, schlängelt sich ein aussichtsreicher Höhenweg nach Ronco. Von hier führen 800 Treppen zum See, wo die Brissago-Inseln eine szenenreife Kulisse bilden.

3. Eine nervenkitzelnde Überquerung


Der Weg beginnt inmitten Weinrebreihen und Kastanienwäldern, mit herrlichem Blick über die Magadinoebene und den Lago Maggiore im Hintergrund. Die tibetische Brücke ist, mit ihren 130 Meter über dem Talboden und 270 Meter Länge, eine der längsten in der Schweiz. Das Dörfchen Curzútt mit seinen Steinbauten, Gemüsegärten und Getreide- und Weinberg-Terrassen ist die letzte Station des Rundgangs.

4. Von Meride zum Zauberwald


Jahrhundertealte Kastanienbäume, eine antike Seilbahn und mehr als 200 Millionen Jahren Geschichte. Das erwartet Sie entlang des Geo-paläontologischer Weg des Monte San Giorgio, der zum UNESCO-Welterbe gehört. Der Besuch dieses Ortes birgt die Faszination einer seit mehr als 200 Millionen Jahren vergangenen Zeit. Er zählt zu den bedeutendsten Fossillagerstätten der Welt.

5. Zwischen Bergen und dem See


Etwa vierzig Lehrpfadtafeln begleiten den Weg des Monte Gambarogno. Sie erzählen teils alte, teils auch moderne Geschichten, die die grossen territorialen Veränderungen der letzten 150 Jahre hervorheben.

Mehr erfahren