142013
Image 0 - Morbio Inferiore

Morbio Inferiore

Description

The first human settlement at Morbio Inferio-re (Lower Morbio) dates back to antiquity. In fact, the village was already populated in Roman times, as shown by the discovery of three tombs in 1851 and the foundations of a Roman villa in the 1920 excavations. Continual human presence is also proved by the studies carried out on the ancient parish church of San Giorgio. Built during the Longobardo dominion (7th – 8th centuries), the building has housed as many as seven different churches in succession, in as many different eras, as indicated by the inscription on the architrave of the side entrance, which bears the dates 1309, 1550, 1670, 1750 and 1978.

 

During the Middle Ages and up to the 18th century, Morbio Inferiore was dependent on Pieve di Balerna. In 1776 the Sanctuary of Santa Maria dei Miracoli, building of which began in 1595 on the ruins of an old castle, and which was consecrated in 1613, was raised to the status of a parish church, and the vice-parish of Morbio separated from the mother parish of Balerna. The castle, which is also present on the coat of arms of the Commune, with a white tower and a red tower, has been of primary importance for the development of the village. Documented since 1198, but certainly older than that, the fortress was fought over by the Confederates and the Duke of Milan. It passed through the hands of various owners, and in 1517 it was dismantled by the Swiss who left only a small chapel standing amongst the ruins.

 

Morbio Inferiore was a Commune with an agricultural basis (maize, mulberries, tobacco and grapevines were the most common crops), and also had some mills along the Breggia river. During the 20th century it underwent a profound transformation because of industrial development (creation of some industries such as the pasta factory, brewery and cement works), which in the last few decades led it to adopt the profile of a residential Commune. In 1977 Mario Botta designed the Middle School, which is defined as: “significant for the development of school buildings in Ticino”. Two years later Pierino Selmoni added a sculpture of his in the school grounds: the granite “Semi-submerged man” peeps out onto the meadow in front of it.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

142013
Image 0 - Morbio Inferiore

Morbio Inferiore

La première implantation humaine à Morbio Inferiore remonte à l'antiquité. Le village était en effet déjà peuplé à l'époque romaine, comme en témoignent les vestiges de trois tombes découvertes en 1851 et les fondations d'une villa romaine trouvée lors des fouilles de 1920. Une présence humaine constante est attestée par des études effectuées sur l'ancienne église paroissiale, l'église San Giorgio. Construit sous la domination lombarde (VII-VIIIe s.), l'édifice a abrité successivement sept églises différentes au cours d'autant d'époques, comme le confirme l'inscription sur le linteau de l'entrée latérale qui porte les dates 1309, 1550, 1670, 1750 et 1978.

 

Au Moyen Âge et jusqu'au XVIIIe s., Morbio Inferiore dépendait de la paroisse de Balerna. En 1776, le Sanctuaire de Santa Maria dei Miracoli, construit à partir de 1595 sur les ruines d'un ancien manoir et consacré en 1613, fut élevé au titre d'église paroissiale et la vice-paroisse de Morbio se détacha de la paroisse de Balerna. Quant au château, présent sur le blason municipal et doté d’une tour blanche et d’une tour rouge, a joué un rôle essentiel dans le développement du village. Documentée depuis 1198, mais certainement plus ancienne, la forteresse fut convoitée par les Confédérés et par le duc de Milan. Elle passa entre les mains de plusieurs propriétaires et en 1517 elle fut démantelée par les Suisses, qui n’épargnèrent qu’une petite chapelle.

 

Commune à vocation agricole (les cultures les plus répandues étaient le maïs, le mûrier, le tabac et la vigne) qui disposait de moulins le long de la rivière Breggia, Morbio Inferiore a subi au cours du XXe s. une profonde transformation due au développement économique (apparition de différentes industries, comme une usine de pâtes, une brasserie et une usine de ciment), pour devenir au cours des dernières décennies un village résidentiel. En 1977, Mario Botta réalise le collège, défini comme « important pour le développement des bâtiments scolaires tessinois ». Deux ans plus tard, Pierino Selmoni ajoute une de ses sculptures au complexe scolaire : l’« Homme semi-immergé » en granit trône sur la pelouse située à l’avant du bâtiment.

Caractéristiques

  • TRANSPORTS Bus