142013
Image 0 - Morbio Inferiore

Morbio Inferiore

Description

The first human settlement at Morbio Inferio-re (Lower Morbio) dates back to antiquity. In fact, the village was already populated in Roman times, as shown by the discovery of three tombs in 1851 and the foundations of a Roman villa in the 1920 excavations. Continual human presence is also proved by the studies carried out on the ancient parish church of San Giorgio. Built during the Longobardo dominion (7th – 8th centuries), the building has housed as many as seven different churches in succession, in as many different eras, as indicated by the inscription on the architrave of the side entrance, which bears the dates 1309, 1550, 1670, 1750 and 1978.

 

During the Middle Ages and up to the 18th century, Morbio Inferiore was dependent on Pieve di Balerna. In 1776 the Sanctuary of Santa Maria dei Miracoli, building of which began in 1595 on the ruins of an old castle, and which was consecrated in 1613, was raised to the status of a parish church, and the vice-parish of Morbio separated from the mother parish of Balerna. The castle, which is also present on the coat of arms of the Commune, with a white tower and a red tower, has been of primary importance for the development of the village. Documented since 1198, but certainly older than that, the fortress was fought over by the Confederates and the Duke of Milan. It passed through the hands of various owners, and in 1517 it was dismantled by the Swiss who left only a small chapel standing amongst the ruins.

 

Morbio Inferiore was a Commune with an agricultural basis (maize, mulberries, tobacco and grapevines were the most common crops), and also had some mills along the Breggia river. During the 20th century it underwent a profound transformation because of industrial development (creation of some industries such as the pasta factory, brewery and cement works), which in the last few decades led it to adopt the profile of a residential Commune. In 1977 Mario Botta designed the Middle School, which is defined as: “significant for the development of school buildings in Ticino”. Two years later Pierino Selmoni added a sculpture of his in the school grounds: the granite “Semi-submerged man” peeps out onto the meadow in front of it.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

142013
Image 0 - Morbio Inferiore

Morbio Inferiore

Die erste menschliche Siedlung in Morbio Inferiore geht auf das Altertum zurück. Das Dorf war bereits während der Römerzeit bevölkert, wie die 1851 erfolgte Entdeckung von drei Gräbern und die 1920 ausgegrabenen Grundmauern einer römischen Villa belegen. Die ständige Anwesenheit von Menschen ließ sich auch durch Studien an der antiken Pfarrkirche San Giorgio nachweisen. Das während der langobardischen Herrschaft (7. - 8. Jahrhundert) erbaute Gebäude beherbergte in der Folge sieben verschiedene Kirchen in ebenso vielen unterschiedlichen Epochen, wie die Inschrift auf dem Architrav des seitlichen Eingangs mit den Jahreszahlen 1309, 1550, 1670, 1750 und 1978 bezeugt.

 

Während des Mittelalters und bis ins 18. Jahrhundert unterstand Morbio Inferiore der Pieve Balerna. Die Wallfahrtskirche Santa Maria dei Miracoli, die ab 1595 auf den Überresten eines antiken Schlosses errichtet und 1613 eingeweiht wurde, wurde 1776 in den Rang einer Pfarrkirche erhoben und die Vizepfarrei von Morbio löste sich von der Stammpfarrei von Balerna. Eben dieses Schloss, das auch auf dem Gemeindewappen mit einem weißen und einem roten Turm abgebildet ist, spielte eine grundlegende Rolle in der Entwicklung des Dorfes. Um die ab 1198 dokumentierte, aber mit Sicherheit ältere Burg stritten sich die Eidgenossen und der Herzog von Mailand. Sie hatte verschiedene Besitzer und wurde 1517 von den Schweizern niedergerissen, die nur eine kleine Kapelle inmitten der Trümmer stehen ließen.

 

Als landwirtschaftlich geprägter Ort (am häufigsten wurden Mais, Maulbeeren, Tabak und Reben angebaut) mit ein paar Mühlen entlang des Flusses Breggia, erfuhr Morbio Inferiore während des 20. Jahrhunderts eine tiefgreifende Veränderung aufgrund der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung: Es entstanden Industrien wie die Großbäckerei, die Brauerei und eine Zementfabrik und der Ort wurde dadurch in den letzten Jahrzehnten zu einer Wohngemeinde. 1977 führte Mario Botta die Mittelschule aus, die als „bedeutend für die Entwicklung des Schulhausbaus im Kanton Tessin“ gilt. Zwei Jahre später kam eine Skulptur von Pierino Selmoni zu der Schulanlage: Der „Uomo semisommerso“ (der halb untergetauchte Mann) aus Granit auf dem Rasen vor dem Gebäude.

Eigenschaften

  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus