13997
Image 0 - Montegreco
Image 1 - Montegreco

Montegreco

Montegreco is one of the oldest alpine farming communities located on a high terrace in Malvaglia with an unrivalled view of over 50 km (30 miles) of majestic peaks. For over 10 years, the Montegreco Foundation has dedicated itself to recuperating the local history and traditions by rebuilding and enlivening the area.

Testimonies to the Foundation’s commitment are the rebuilt Church of San Giuliano (dating from 1624) and its revived namesake procession to the new Chapel Ränch. Among the other works to be admired are the traditional “rascane” for rye, the “sprüch” livestock shelter, the reconstructed traditional bread oven, and finally, the ancient “torba” (typical wooden construction) dating from 1640, renovated into a hostel (nearly complete).

Along the “Sentiero del Sole” (Pönt-Prastinéi-PiughéiMontegreco), in addition to the Foundation‘s projects, you can encounter natural landmarks such as the impressive centuries-old chestnut tree, the glacial erratic boulder and numerous goats who act as if they are in charge!

13997
Image 0 - Montegreco
Image 1 - Montegreco

Montegreco

Montegreco est l’une des plus anciennes communautés paysannes alpines, sorte de terrasse sur le toit de Malvaglia avec une vue imprenable sur plus de 50 km de sommets majestueux. Depuis plus de 10 ans la Fondazione Montegreco se consacre à la revitalisation de l’histoire et des traditions en reconstruisant et en animant le territoire.

Témoins de cet engagement la petite église Chiesetta di San Giuliano (témoignage de 1624) et la renaissance de la procession du même nom qui chemine de là jusqu’à la nouvelle chapelle Cappella di Ränch. Parmi les autres ouvrages ont peut admirer les traditionnelles “rascane” (sorte de larges échelles de bois pour sécher les gerbes de seigle), le “sprüch” (refuge pour le bétail, la reconstruction d’un four traditionnel pour le pain (Forno), et aussi l’ancienne “torba” (fenil) datant de 1640 réaménagée en auberge pour les touristes (presque terminée).

Le long du “Sentiero del sole” (Pönt – Prastinéi – Piughei – Muncrech) on peut rencontrer, outre les œuvres de cette fondaion, des merveilles de la nature comme l’imposant châtaignier séculaire, le bloc erratique et de nombreuses chèvres maîtres des lieux!