13997
Image 0 - Montegreco
Image 1 - Montegreco

Montegreco

Montegreco is one of the oldest alpine farming communities located on a high terrace in Malvaglia with an unrivalled view of over 50 km (30 miles) of majestic peaks. For over 10 years, the Montegreco Foundation has dedicated itself to recuperating the local history and traditions by rebuilding and enlivening the area.

Testimonies to the Foundation’s commitment are the rebuilt Church of San Giuliano (dating from 1624) and its revived namesake procession to the new Chapel Ränch. Among the other works to be admired are the traditional “rascane” for rye, the “sprüch” livestock shelter, the reconstructed traditional bread oven, and finally, the ancient “torba” (typical wooden construction) dating from 1640, renovated into a hostel (nearly complete).

Along the “Sentiero del Sole” (Pönt-Prastinéi-PiughéiMontegreco), in addition to the Foundation‘s projects, you can encounter natural landmarks such as the impressive centuries-old chestnut tree, the glacial erratic boulder and numerous goats who act as if they are in charge!

13997
Image 0 - Montegreco
Image 1 - Montegreco

Montegreco

Montegreco liegt auf einer Terrasse oberhalb Malvaglia und wurde einst von einer der ältesten alpinen Bauerngemeinschaften bewohnt. Das Dörfchen bietet eine atemberaubende Aussicht über mehr als 50 Berggipfel. Seit mehr als 10 Jahren beschäftigt sich der Verein Associazione Montegreco mit grosser Hingabe mit der Aufarbeitung der lokalen Geschichte und der Traditionen.

Alte Gebäude wurden rekonstruiert, um das Dörfchen und seine Umgebung wieder zu beleben. Resultate dieses Einsatzes sind der Aufbau des Kirchleins San Giuliano, von dem es Funde aus dem Jahr 1624 gibt und die Wiedereinführung der gleichnamigen Prozession zur neuen Kappelle ‚di Ränch‘. Aber es gibt noch anderes zu sehen; die traditionellen ‚rascane‘ ( hohe Holzgerüste zum Trocknen von Roggen), den ‚sprüch‘ (ein Zufluchtsort für Tiere), einen wieder instand gestellten Brotofen und einen Heuschober aus dem Jahre 1640, der in eine Herberge umgebaut wird.

Wandert man auf dem Weg‚ Sentiero del sole‘, stösst man auf Naturschönheiten wie den imposanten säkularen Kastanienbaum, einen Findling und auf viele muntere Ziegen, die sich in ihrem Habitat sehr wohl fühlen.