143077
Image 0 - Cicitt
Image 1 - Cicitt
Image 2 - Cicitt

Cicitt

Description

The Cicitt are extremely long and thin goat sausages made for roasting, which come from the Valleys of Locarno. There are several hypotheses involving the origin of the term cicitt. The most probable one is the one inserted in the Vocabolario dei dialetti della Svizzera italiana (the dictionary of the dialects of the Italian part of Switzerland), which states that the term derives from cicia, meaning ciccia, meat.

An elderly lady from Cavergno, whose memories date back to the 1920s, states that the name of the sausage comes from the call the farmers used to make so to recall the goats: “Ci, ci, ci...”. According to yet another version, cicitt evokes the sound made by the sizzling of the sausage when grilled. The history of this product is tightly linked to the history of the goats in the Locarno Valleys, which once upon a time were like the cows for the poor. Documents from the ‘50s state that the villages of the Locarno Valley were invaded by goats: they were everywhere, even on the roofs of the houses.

Practically all families, in November, organize the so-called mazza minore, that is to say the slaughtering of the goats, so as to produce the cicitt. The Slow Food Association created a presidium for the cicitt of the Locarno Valley. It is the second cantonal presidium, straight after the zincarlin of the Valle di Muggio. (Written by The Swiss Culinary Heritage Association, www.patrimoineculinaire.ch and the Slow Food Presidium, slowfood.ch)

Features

  • TYPICAL PRODUCTS Cold cuts

143077
Image 0 - Cicitt
Image 1 - Cicitt
Image 2 - Cicitt

Cicitt

Les Cicitt sont des saucisses de chèvre, très longues et fines, à consommer grillées, originaires des vallées de la région de Locarno. Il existe différentes hypothèses sur l'origine du terme cicitt. La plus vraisemblable est celle proposée par le Vocabolario dei dialetti della Svizzera italiana (le Vocabulaire des dialectes de la Suisse italienne), dans lequel on lit que ce terme dérive de cicia qui signifie ciccia, viande.

Une vieille dame de Cavergno, dont les souvenirs remontent aux années '20, affirme néanmoins que le nom de la saucisse dérive du cri que les paysans utilisaient pour appeler les chèvres : « Ci, ci, ci... ». Selon une autre version, cicitt évoque le bruit des saucisses qui grésillent sur les braises. Dans les vallées de la région de Locarno, l'histoire de ce produit est étroitement liée à celle des chèvres qui jadis étaient un peu considérées comme les vaches des pauvres. Des documents des années '50 décrivent les villages dans les vallées de la région de Locarno comme étant envahis de chèvres : il y en avait même sur les toits des maisons.

Presque toutes les familles organisaient en novembre ce que l'on appelait la mazza minore, c'est-à-dire l'abattage des chèvres, pour en faire des cicitt. L'association Slow Food a créé une Sentinelle pour les cicitt des vallées de la région de Locarno. Il s'agit de la deuxième Sentinelle cantonale avec le zincarlin de la vallée de Muggio. (Textes : Association Patrimoine Culinaire Suisse, www.patrimoineculiaire.ch)

Caractéristiques

  • PRODUITS TYPIQUES Charcuterie