143077
Image 0 - Cicitt
Image 1 - Cicitt
Image 2 - Cicitt

Cicitt

Description

The Cicitt are extremely long and thin goat sausages made for roasting, which come from the Valleys of Locarno. There are several hypotheses involving the origin of the term cicitt. The most probable one is the one inserted in the Vocabolario dei dialetti della Svizzera italiana (the dictionary of the dialects of the Italian part of Switzerland), which states that the term derives from cicia, meaning ciccia, meat.

An elderly lady from Cavergno, whose memories date back to the 1920s, states that the name of the sausage comes from the call the farmers used to make so to recall the goats: “Ci, ci, ci...”. According to yet another version, cicitt evokes the sound made by the sizzling of the sausage when grilled. The history of this product is tightly linked to the history of the goats in the Locarno Valleys, which once upon a time were like the cows for the poor. Documents from the ‘50s state that the villages of the Locarno Valley were invaded by goats: they were everywhere, even on the roofs of the houses.

Practically all families, in November, organize the so-called mazza minore, that is to say the slaughtering of the goats, so as to produce the cicitt. The Slow Food Association created a presidium for the cicitt of the Locarno Valley. It is the second cantonal presidium, straight after the zincarlin of the Valle di Muggio. (Written by The Swiss Culinary Heritage Association, www.patrimoineculinaire.ch and the Slow Food Presidium, slowfood.ch)

Features

  • TYPICAL PRODUCTS Cold cuts

143077
Image 0 - Cicitt
Image 1 - Cicitt
Image 2 - Cicitt

Cicitt

Die Cicitt sind lange und dünne zu bratende Ziegenwürste, die aus den Locarno-Tälern stammen. Es gibt mehrere Hypothesen über den Ursprung des Begriffs Cicitt. Am wahrscheinlichsten ist die durch das Vokabularium der Dialekte der italienischen Schweiz gegebene Hypothese, in der es heisst, dass dieser Begriff von Cicia abgeleitet wird, was Fett oder Fleisch bedeutet. 

Eine ältere Dame aus Cavergno, deren Erinnerungen an die 1920er Jahre zurückreichen, behauptet stattdessen, dass der Name der Wurst von den Lockrufen der Landwirte herstammt, um die Ziegen zu rufen: „Ci, ci, ci...“. Gemäss einer weiteren Version erinnert Cicitt an das Zischen der Wurst durch den vom Grill abgestrahlten Schall. Die Geschichte dieses Produktes ist eng mit den Ziegen in den Tälern von Locarno verbunden, die eine Zeit lang ein bisschen die „Kühe der Armen“ waren. Dokumente der 50iger Jahre beschreiben die Landschaften der Locarno-Täler als von Ziegen befallen: Die Tiere waren überall, selbst auf den Dächern der Häuser. 

?In fast jeder Familie wurde im November der sogenannte „kleine Knüppel“ organisiert, folglich die Schlachtung von Ziegen zur Herstellung von Cicitt. Der Slow-Food-Verband hat einen Förderkreis für die Cicitt-Wurst der Locarno-Täler geschaffen. Es ist der zweite kantonale Förderkreis nach dem Zincarlin des Muggio-Tales. (Texte: Verband Kulinarisches Erbe der Schweiz, www.patrimoineculinaire.ch und Slow-Food-Förderkreis, slowfood.ch)

Eigenschaften

  • TYPISCHE PRODUKTE Wurstwaren