141997
Image 0 - Riva San Vitale

Riva San Vitale

Description

Numerous archaeological finds show that people have been living in the Riva San Vitale area since Neolithic times. The Ligurians, Etruscans and Celts were followed by the Subinates people, to whom we owe the first name for the village, Primo Sobenno (774). The Romans had classified Riva as a vicus (village), but with the spread of Christianity (4th – 5th century), this lakeside village became a strategic town within the region. Eventually it became known as Ripa Sancti Vitalis (1115).

 

With the creation of the Pieve di Riva (parish of Riva, one of the oldest in the Diocese of Como), the town became a hub of Christianity in the Ticino area. The parish formed a consortium with those of Uggiate and Balerna and then, in the 15th century, joined with those of Agno, Balerna and Capriasca to form the Community of the Valley of Lugano, which, in turn, became the Bailiwick of Lugano in 1517.

 

Towards the end of the 18th century, tensions between supporters of the Cisalpine Republic and the Swiss Republic led to the setting up of the Republic of Riva. This included all the towns within the Pieve, but proved to be short-lived (23rd February – 16th March 1798). In 1803 the towns were split into two administrative areas (Ceresio and Riva) and integrated in the District of Lugano. Eventually, in 1814, Riva became part of the District of Mendrisio.

 

Agriculture, fishing, manufacturing (mostly handmade bricks) and the silk spinning industry were the main occupations in Riva until the second half of the 20th century. In recent decades, Riva San Vitale has become an industrial town with more housing developments. The importance of agriculture has declined as a result, with the exception of viticulture (Riva wine is still produced with great success) and horticulture.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Railways , Navigation

141997
Image 0 - Riva San Vitale

Riva San Vitale

De nombreuses découvertes archéologiques attestent d'une présence humaine continue à Riva San Vitale, dont les origines remontent au Néolithique. Au fil des époques, la région a connu le passage des Ligures, des Étrusques et des Celtes, la population des Subinates à qui l'on doit le premier nom du village, Primo Sobenno (774, et depuis 1115, Ripa Sancti Vitalis). Sous la domination romaine, Riva était reconnue comme vicus, mais ce fut surtout avec la diffusion du Christianisme (IV - Ve s.), que le village lacustre acquit une importance régionale fondamentale.

 

Avec la création de la Piève de Riva, l'un des plus anciens centres ecclésiastiques du Diocèse de Côme, le village est devenu le point de rayonnement du Christianisme dans tout le Tessin. La Piève de Riva forma un consortium avec les communes d'Uggiate et de Balerna et plus tard, au XVe s., elle s'unit à celles d'Agno, de Balerna et de Capriasca pour former la Communauté de la Vallée de Lugano, qui, depuis 1517, est devenu le Bailliage de Lugano.

 

À la fin du XVIIIe s., à la suite de tensions entre le mouvement helvétique et cisalpin, la République de Riva est constituée. Elle est formée de toutes les communes de la Piève, mais son existence fut très brève (23 février - 16 mars 1798) et elle fut ensuite divisée, en 1803, en deux centres (Ceresio et Riva) intégrés au district de Lugano. Ce n'est qu'en 1814 que Riva passa définitivement au District de Mendrisio.

 

L'agriculture, la pêche, l'industrie manufacturière essentiellement artisanale de briques et le foulage de la soie sont les activités qui ont occupé les habitants de Riva jusqu'à la seconde moitié du XXe s. Enfin, au cours des dernières décennies, la commune de Riva San Vitale a connu un développement industriel et résidentiel qui provoqua l'abandon des pratiques agricoles (à l'exception de la viticulture, toujours pratiquée avec un succès indéniable, et de l'horticulture).

Caractéristiques

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Chemins de fer , Navigation