141997
Image 0 - Riva San Vitale

Riva San Vitale

Description

Numerous archaeological finds show that people have been living in the Riva San Vitale area since Neolithic times. The Ligurians, Etruscans and Celts were followed by the Subinates people, to whom we owe the first name for the village, Primo Sobenno (774). The Romans had classified Riva as a vicus (village), but with the spread of Christianity (4th – 5th century), this lakeside village became a strategic town within the region. Eventually it became known as Ripa Sancti Vitalis (1115).

 

With the creation of the Pieve di Riva (parish of Riva, one of the oldest in the Diocese of Como), the town became a hub of Christianity in the Ticino area. The parish formed a consortium with those of Uggiate and Balerna and then, in the 15th century, joined with those of Agno, Balerna and Capriasca to form the Community of the Valley of Lugano, which, in turn, became the Bailiwick of Lugano in 1517.

 

Towards the end of the 18th century, tensions between supporters of the Cisalpine Republic and the Swiss Republic led to the setting up of the Republic of Riva. This included all the towns within the Pieve, but proved to be short-lived (23rd February – 16th March 1798). In 1803 the towns were split into two administrative areas (Ceresio and Riva) and integrated in the District of Lugano. Eventually, in 1814, Riva became part of the District of Mendrisio.

 

Agriculture, fishing, manufacturing (mostly handmade bricks) and the silk spinning industry were the main occupations in Riva until the second half of the 20th century. In recent decades, Riva San Vitale has become an industrial town with more housing developments. The importance of agriculture has declined as a result, with the exception of viticulture (Riva wine is still produced with great success) and horticulture.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Railways , Navigation

141997
Image 0 - Riva San Vitale

Riva San Vitale

Zahlreiche archäologische Funde zeugen davon, dass Riva San Vitale seit der Jungsteinzeit ständig von Menschen bewohnt war. Die Bevölkerung der Subinates sah nacheinander die Ligurer, Etrusker und Kelten kommen; von den Subinates ist auch der erste Name des Dorfes abgeleitet: Primo Sobenno (774, dann ab 1115, Ripa Sancti Vitalis). Unter römischer Herrschaft wurde Riva als vicus anerkannt, aber erst mit der Verbreitung des Christentums (4. - 5. Jahrhundert) erlangte das Dorf am See eine grundlegende regionale Bedeutung.

 

Mit der Errichtung der Pieve Riva, eines der ältesten kirchlichen Zentren der Diözese Como, übernahm das Dorf eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Verbreitung des Christentums im ganzen heutigen Kanton Tessin. Die Pieve Riva bildete ein consortium (eine Gütergemeinschaft) mit den Pieven von Uggiate und Balerna; später, im 15. Jahrhundert, schloss sie sich mit den Pieven Agno, Balerna und Capriasca zur Comunità della Valle di Lugano zusammen, die ab 1517 zur Vogtei von Lugano wurde.

 

Am Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts wurde nach Spannungen zwischen der pro-zisalpinischen und der pro-helvetischen Bewegung die Republik Riva mit allen Gemeinden der Pieve gegründet; sie war nur von sehr kurzer Dauer (23. Februar - 16. März 1798) und wurde dann im Jahr 1803 in zwei Kreise (Ceresio und Riva) aufgeteilt, die zum Bezirk Lugano gehörten. Erst 1814 ging Riva endgültig an den Bezirk Mendrisio über.

 

Landwirtschaft, Fischerei, die meist gewerbliche Herstellung von Ziegeln und Seidenzwirnerei: Dies waren die Haupttätigkeiten der Bewohner von Riva bis in die zweite Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts. In den letzten Jahrzehnten erlebte die Gemeinde Riva San Vitale eine industrielle Entwicklung und wurde zur Wohngemeinde; deshalb wurde die Landwirtschaft aufgegeben (mit Ausnahme des Weinbaus, der zweifellos sehr erfolgreich ist, und des Gemüseanbaus).

 

Eigenschaften

  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus , Eisenbahnen , Schifffahrt