144817
Image 0 - Carona
Image 1 - Carona
Image 2 - Carona
Image 3 - Carona

Carona

Description

The village has antique roots and is very picturesque as many architects, sculptors, painters and artists have left behind their masterpieces around town. The town of Carona is located at 602 m above sea level between the summit of Mount San Salvatore and Mount Arbostora.

In the well-preserved town centre that is characterised by its narrow streets and small squares, besides the brilliantly decorated residences, it is possible to admire the 16th Century parish church of S. Giorgio, with its lavish three-nave interior and the adjacent Municipal Loggia. The latter was built between 1591 and 1592 and stands out for its elegant five-arched portico and its façade richly decorated with trompe l’oeil architectural designs and paintings of the coats of arms of the twelve original Swiss cantons. Besides the parish church there are four other churches that merit a visit, especially the sanctuary of the Madonna d’Ongero on the Carona hill that is located in a splendid scenario of beeches and chestnut trees that make this a truly special place.

Carona also offers plenty of leisure opportunities to nature and sports lovers, among which a fantastically positioned public swimming pool, long jogging tracks, two tennis courts, ideal trails for mountain bikes or simply hiking through marvellous chestnut woods and the San Grato Botanical Park. San Grato Park is a naturalistic jewel with an extraordinary collection of azaleas and rhododendrons. An explosion of colours, unique in our Canton both in terms of variety and number will leave numerous visitors breathless during the months of April and May. A splendid view of the lake and the surrounding mountains may also be enjoyed from the park.

144817
Image 0 - Carona
Image 1 - Carona
Image 2 - Carona
Image 3 - Carona

Carona

Le village de Carona est situé à 602 m d’altitude entre le Monte San Salvatore et le Monte Arbostora. De nombreux architectes, sculpteurs, stucateurs et tailleurs de pierre ont laissé, dans ce village ancien et pittoresque, d’importants témoignages de leur art en décorant les églises et les habitations.

Au coeur du village bien conservé avec ses ruelles étroites et ses petites places si caractéristiques, on peut admirer les belles demeures bourgeoises savamment décorées, l’église paroissiale de S. Giorgio du XVIè avec ses trois nefs somptueuses et la Loggia Comunale adjacente. Cette dernière, construite entre 1591 et 1592, présente un élégant portique à cinq arcades, des décorations architectoniques en trompe-l’œil et les emblèmes des douze cantons suisses primitifs. En plus de l’église paroissiale, on compte 4 petites églises qui méritent toutes d’être visitées, en particulier le sanctuaire de Madonna d’Ongero sur la colline de Carona, lieu magique où hêtres et châtaigniers constituent le décor de cet endroit privilégié.

Pour les amoureux de la nature et du sport, Carona offre de nombreuses opportunités de détente, entre piscine publique particulièrement bien située, longs parcours de jogging, deux terrains de tennis, parcours pour VTT ou pour randonnées merveilleuses au cœur des bois de châtaigniers et le parc botanique de San Grato. Le parc San Grato est joyau de la nature avec son extraordinaire collection d’azalées et de rhododendrons. Une explosion de couleurs unique dans notre Canton, aussi bien de par sa variété que de par son étendue, qui dans les mois d’avril et de mai émerveille les visiteurs. En outre, la vue que l’on a du parc sur le lac de Lugano et les montagnes qui l’entourent est magnifique.