131122
Image 0 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 1 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 2 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 3 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 4 - Cardada Cimetta

Cardada Cimetta

Description

Have you ever thought that above Locarno there is a view point from which you can see at the same time the lowest point (Lago Maggiore) and the highest point (Dufour Peak in Monte Rosa) in Switzerland?

On the summit of the mountain, 1671 meters above sea level, a viewing platform was built which overlooks the entire region of Lake Maggiore. To the east the view stretches from the Magadino Plain to Bellinzona. To the west the view extends over some of the most famous peaks of the Swiss Alps such as the Dufour and the Matterhorn. To the south, beyond the mountains that surround Lake Maggiore, you can see in the distance the Ligurian Apennines, located near Genoa .

Further down, a few meters away from the arrival station of the cable car a footbridge was built which winds its way across the tops of the trees of the woods below. From this unusual scenic promontory you can admire the lake, the Centovalli and parts of the Maggia Valley.


The best way to reach Cardada is to take the cable car designed by Mario Botta. The cable car station can easily be reached by the cable railway Locarno-Orselina. Cardada Cimetta is well-known for its panoramic views and is the ideal destination for mountain lovers. Gourmets can enjoy gastronomic delights under the sun in one of the many panoramic terraces. For the more active people this mountain represents the ideal starting point for numerous excursions in  winter and summer. Of course there are also activities for families: in Cardada the little ones can venture along an interesting, educational and playful route or can have fun playing in the Indian village located near the station of the chairlift.

131122
Image 0 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 1 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 2 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 3 - Cardada Cimetta
Image 4 - Cardada Cimetta

Cardada Cimetta

Saviez-vous qu’en dessus de Locarno se trouve un point de vue à partir duquel vous pouvez voir en même temps le point le plus bas (Lago Maggiore) et le point le plus haut (Pointe Dufour in Mont Rose) de la Suisse.

Sur le sommet de la montagne, à 1671 mètres d’altitude a été construite une plate-forme panoramique qui surplombe toute la région du lac Majeur. À l'est, la vue domine la plaine de Magadino jusqu'à Bellinzona. À l'ouest, la vue s'étend sur quelques-uns des plus célèbres sommets des Alpes suisses, comme la Pointe Dufour. Vers le sud, au-delà des montagnes qui entourent le lac Majeur par temps clair, vous pouvez voir au loin les Apennins ligures, situé près de Gênes.

Plus bas, à quelques dizaines de mètres de la gare d'arrivée du téléphérique se trouve une passerelle panoramique qui surplombe une vigoureuse sapinière. Depuis ce promontoire insolite vous pouvez admirer le lac, les Centovalli une partie de la Vallemaggia.

 

Facilement accessible par le funiculaire qui relie le centre de la vieille ville de Locarno à Orselina et ensuite par le téléphérique conçu par Mario Botta, Cardada-Cimetta est donc synonyme de paysage et représente la destination idéale pour les amoureux de la montagne. Les gourmets se laisseront tenter par des délices gastronomiques à déguster au soleil sur l'une des nombreuses terrasses panoramiques. Pour les plus actifs, cette montagne représente le point de départ idéal pour de nombreuses excursions praticables en hiver et en été. Evidemment il y a aussi une offre pour les familles : à Cardada les plus petits peuvent s'aventurer le long d'un itinéraire ludique et didactique ou se divertir en jouant dans le village indien situé près de la gare de départ du télésiège.