133921
Image 0
Image 1
Image 2

Sagno

Description

Do you want to have an intact chance of seeing wild horses and George Clooney on one day? Then Sagno is the place to start your daytrip from. Sagno, situated on the hills of the dominating Monte Bisbino, surprises with its old time, traditional village character. Its exceptional location attracted families from the planes in the 20th century to build their houses there.

 

From Sagno you have a remarkable view over the city of Chiasso and the Mendrisiotto. It is the starting point of the ‘Sentiero Panoramico’ to reach the peak of Monte Bisbino just across the border in Italy, from where you enjoy an exceptional view over the Lake of Como. Along the trail on the ridge between the Swiss Muggio Valley and the Italian Greggio Valley one finds many border stones. A famous natural attraction in the region is the Breggia Canyon, the first ‘Geo-park’ in Switzerland.

 

So what about horses and George Clooney? It was in the snowy winter of 2009/10 when the “wild horses of Monte Bisbino” came down to Sagno to look for food. Since then they get looked after and have meadows for themselves in the region around Monte Generoso and Monte Bisbino. And for all Clooney fans. Monte Bisbino is apparently his favorite mountain to go for motorbike rides, when he resides in his villa at Lake Como.

133921
Image 0 - Sagno
Image 1 - Sagno
Image 2 - Sagno

Sagno

Die  Wahrscheinlichkeit wilde Pferde und George Clooney am selben Ort zu sehen ist wohl nirgendwo grosser als auf einem Tagesausflug oberhalb von Sagno. Die Siedlung liegt auf den vom Monte Bisbino dominierten Hügeln und überrascht mit seinem traditionellen Dorfcharakter. Die aussergewöhnliche Hanglage zog im 20. Jahrhundert viele Familien aus der Ebene an, die in Sagno ihre Häuser bauten.


Von Sagno aus hat man eine erstaunliche Aussicht über die Stadt Chiasso und über das von Weinbergen übersäte Mendrisiotto. Das Dorf ist der Ausgangspunkt für die Wanderung auf dem ‘Panoramaweg’ zum Gipfel des Monte Bisbino, der unmittelbar hinter der Grenze in Italien liegt. Von der Spitze hat man einen unglaublichen Ausblick über den Comersee. Entlang des Weges auf der Krete zwischen dem Tessiner Muggiotal und dem Italienischen Greggiotal findet man viele Grenzsteine. Eine Naturschönheit in der Nähe von Sagno ist die Breggia Schlucht, der erste ‘Geo-Park’ der Schweiz.


Und wie war das nun genau mit den Pferden und George Clooney? Es war im kalten schneereichen Winter 2009/10, als die “wilden Pferde des Monte Bisbinos” auf der Suche nach Nahrung hinunter nach Sagno kamen. Seither sorgt man sich um sie und die Tiere grasen heutzutage auf ihren eigenen Weiden in der Region um den Monte Generoso und den Monte Bisbino. Und für alle Clooney Fans: Wenn er sich am Comersee in seiner Villa aufhält soll der Monte Bisbino scheinbar sein Lieblingsberg für Motorradausflüge sein.