142001
Image 0 - Novazzano

Novazzano

Description

The village of Novazzano was first mentioned in an official document of the Diocese of Como dated 875 (“Nepotiano”), but it did not become a “comune” (municipality) until 1335. It almost certainly existed in Roman times, as evidenced, for instance, by an altar found in the area known as Castel di Sotto, which today is kept in the town hall. Two distinct fortifications were built in the 6th century with the arrival of the Lombards: the “apud Castrum pontem” (in the area today known as Castellaccio) and the “Castrum suptus Castellum” (in Castel di Sotto), both an integral part of a line of fortifications that also included the castle of Pontegana in Balerna.

 

From the Middle Ages onwards, the village was part of the territories belonging to the free state of Seprio and was overseen by the “De Novezano” family, small landowners with an estate of about seven hundred hectares (two hundred more than the current municipality). In 1512, Novazzano became a confederate bailiwick and later, in 1562, it separated from the Parish of Balerna and became an independent parish.

 

In the 19th century, a small but thriving brick industry developed in the Boscherina area of Novazzano using clay from pits in the Motta Valley, which date back to the Pliocene era. More recently, from the Second World War onwards, the physiognomy of the city slowly but gradually changed: Novazzano went from being a predominantly agricultural town, to being slightly industrialised through the appearance of a few factories, and finally it became a predominantly residential community. The Pobbia masseria [farmstead] is undoubtedly the best example of Novazzano’s agricultural past: a shining example of the architecture that was called “rural capitalism”. At the beginning of this century it was transformed into the “Ticino Quarter” and incorporated into the Ballenberg open-air museum, where it is the museum’s largest display in terms of area.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

142001
Image 0 - Novazzano

Novazzano

Das Dorf Novazzano wurde zwar in einem amtlichen Dokument der Diözese Como 875 erstmals als „Nepotiano“ erwähnt, doch wurde es erst ab 1335 als Gemeinde bezeichnet. Es war fast sicher bereits in römischer Zeit besiedelt; dies ergibt sich beispielsweise aus einem Altar, der im Ortsteil Castel di Sotto gefunden wurde und noch heute im Gemeindehaus zu sehen ist. Im 6. Jahrhundert wurden bei der Ankunft der Langobarden zwei unterschiedliche Festungen errichtet: das „Castrum apud pontem“ (im Gebiet Castellaccio) und das „Castrum suptus Castellum“ (in Castel di Sotto), integrale Bestandteile der Befestigungslinie, zu der auch das Castello di Pontegana in Balerna gehörte.

 

Ab dem Mittelalter gehörte das Dorf zur Freigrafschaft Seprio und war der Familie „De Novezano“ zugewiesen, kleinen Vasallen, die ein Lehen von etwa sieben Hektaren besaßen (zwei davon im Bereich der heutigen Gemeinde). Im Jahr 1512 wurde Novazzano eine eidgenössische Landvogtei; 1562 folgte die Trennung von der Pieve Balerna und die Gründung einer eigenen Pfarrei.

 

Im 19. Jahrhundert entwickelte sich im Gebiet Boscherina in Novazzano eine kleine, aber blühende Ziegelindustrie; es wurden die Gruben von Meereston aus dem Pliozän in der Valle della Motta ausgebeutet. In neuerer Zeit, nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, änderte sich das Bild der Gemeinde langsam, aber stetig: Zunächst wandelte sich das Bauerndorf zum Standort einiger Industriebetriebe und ist heute hauptsächlich eine Wohngemeinde. Das bedeutendste Zeugnis der bäuerlichen Vergangenheit von Novazzano ist zweifellos der Bauernhof Pobbia, ein leuchtendes Beispiel des sogenannten Agrarkapitalismus, der zu Beginn dieses Jahrhunderts in die „Tessiner Geländekammer“ des Freilichtmuseums Ballenberg transportiert wurde; Pobbia ist das größte Exponat im Ballenberg.

Eigenschaften

  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus