146545
Image 0 - Via Alta Idra
Image 1 - Via Alta Idra
Image 2 - Via Alta Idra
Image 3 - Via Alta Idra
Image 4 - Via Alta Idra
Image 5 - Via Alta Idra
Image 6 - Via Alta Idra
Image 7 - Via Alta Idra
Image 8 - Via Alta Idra
Image 9 - Via Alta Idra

Via Alta Idra

From the source to the mouth of the River Ticino: a one-hundred-kilometre hiking trail running at an altitude of more than two thousand metres where the water meets the open sky, leading hikers through the heart of Ticino’s mountains and some of the wildest summits of the Alps. This is the new Via Alta Idra: more than ten days of adventure characterised by a wealth of different environments offering unforgettable moments amid nature at its purest.

The trail begins at the Novena Pass at an altitude of 2,000 metres, easily accessible by means of the PostBus and close to the springs that form the source of the River Ticino, and runs all the way to the mouth of the river at Lake Maggiore. Keeping to the highlands, far from settlements and communication routes, the trail links twelve alpine refuges, thus limiting the differences in altitude and offering stages of varying lengths and levels of difficulty: some are exclusively for very experienced hikers, while others are suitable for families. Thanks to the connections with the valley, it is possible to tackle stages individually or to link them up as preferred to create a personalised itinerary.

Day 1: Corno Greis - Cristallina
Day 2: Cristallina - Garzonera
Day 3: Garzonera - Leìt
Day 4: Leìt - Campo Tencia
Day 5: Campo Tencia - Alpe Sponda
Day 6: Alpe Sponda - Barone
Day 7: Barone - Cògnora
Day 8: Cògnora - Efra
Day 9: Efra - Cornavosa
Day 10: Cornavosa - Borgna
Day 11: Borgna - Monti Motti
Day 11a: Borgna - Albagno
Day 12: Monti Motti - Tenero campings

Copyright fotos: M. Volken

Tips

  • Waterproof clothing, light and warm
  • Hiking boots
  • Gloves, sun cap, change of clothes
  • Backpack maximum 5-8 kg
  • First aid kit with penknife
  • Sleeping bag for overnight in alpine hut
  • Torch, sunglasses, sun cream, water-bottle
  • Hiking map/topographic map
  • Compass
  • Camera
  • Food
  • Raincover for backpacks

More than ten days of adventure, 12 mountain huts, 100 km.

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

-

HikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

146545
Image 0 - Via Alta Idra
Image 1 - Via Alta Idra
Image 2 - Via Alta Idra
Image 3 - Via Alta Idra
Image 4 - Via Alta Idra
Image 5 - Via Alta Idra
Image 6 - Via Alta Idra
Image 7 - Via Alta Idra
Image 8 - Via Alta Idra
Image 9 - Via Alta Idra

Via Alta Idra

Des sources à l’embouchure du Tessin: cent kilomètres de sentiers à plus de deux mille mètres, entre le fleuve, le ciel et les étoiles, au cœur des montagnes tessinoises, tutoyant les sommets les plus sauvages de l’Arc alpin. Voici la nouvelle Via Alta Idra: plus de dix jours d’aventures au cœur de cadres variés offrant des moments inoubliables au sein d’une nature préservée.

 

Le parcours commence au col du Nufenen, à 2000 mètres d’altitude (facilement accessible en bus), près des sources du Tessin, pour aboutir à l’endroit où ce dernier rejoint le lac Majeur. Toujours en altitude, bien loin des agglomérations et des voies de communication, le parcours relie douze refuges alpins et limite les dénivelés, tout en proposant des étapes de difficultés et longueurs variées: certaines sont réservées aux randonneurs expérimentés, tandis que d’autres sont accessibles à toute la famille. Grâce aux liaisons depuis et vers la vallée, il est possible de parcourir les étapes une par une ou de les enchaîner selon son choix créant ainsi un itinéraire personnalisé.

Etape 1: Corno Greis - Cristallina
Etape 2: Cristallina - Garzonera
Etape 3: Garzonera - Leìt
Etape 4: Leìt - Campo Tencia
Etape 5: Campo Tencia - Alpe Sponda
Etape 6: Alpe Sponda - Barone
Etape 7: Barone - Cògnora
Etape 8: Cògnora - Efra
Etape 9: Efra - Cornavosa
Etape 10: Cornavosa - Borgna
Etape 11: Borgna - Monti Motti
Etape 11a: Borgna - Albagno
Etape 12: Monti Motti - Tenero campings

Copyright fotos: M. Volken

Suggestions

  • Vêtements imperméables, légers et chauds
  • Chaussures de randonnée
  • Gants, casquette, linges de rechange
  • Sac à dos maximum 5-8 kg
  • Trousse de premiers secours avec couteau
  • Sac de couchage pour hébergement en refuge (cabane)
  • Lampe de poche, lunettes de soleil, crème solaire, gourde
  • Carte d’excursion /carte topographique
  • Boussole
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture
  • Protection anti-pluie pour sacs à dos

Plus de dix jours d’aventures, 12 mountain huts, 100 km.

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !