148402
Image 0 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 1 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 2 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 3 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 4 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 5 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 6 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 7 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 8 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 9 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 10 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio

Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio

Attention: The signposting with the SwitzerlandMobility route number will not be ready until the 2021 season. This is a consequence of the Corona pandemic.

Monte San Giorgio is a UNESCO World Heritage Site because of the fossil finds from the Triassic Period. These are on exhibit in the museum of Meride. Other highlights: the archaeological park in Tremona-Castello, the panoramic views from the summit, lovely Alp Brusino and the studio of local painter Fiorello Fiorini.

Monte San Giorgio is located between Lake Lugano’s southern arms. The route starts to climb in Tremona and first stops at the archaeological finds in Tremona-Castello. The remains of a settlement allow a detailed re-enactment of life in a farming village in the Middle Ages and can be explored with 3D-glasses. Meride is reached later at 586 m. Its narrow winding lanes, antique buildings and lovely courtyards are under landmark protection. The museum, designed by famous Ticino architect Mario Botta, has 230 million year-old fossils from Monte San Giorgio on exhibit. The area around the mountain was made a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2003 because it has the world’s best marine fossil record from the Triassic Period (230 to 245 million years ago).

Not far from the museum is the observation terrace of Val Mara. Within sight of the striking limestone cliff it offers insight into the prehistoric marine deposits and fossils. The route continues up toward Monte San Giorgio at 1000 m. First on a broad mule track shaded by dense forest, then on a relatively flat trail we arrive in Cassina and its chapel. The last part to the top is quite steep, but worth the effort. The view across the Ticino Alps and Lake Lugano is awesome. In bad weather, the San Giorgio church offers shelter. An enjoyable refuge at Alpe di Brusino is reached by a steep forest path. The grotto on the alp serves typical regional specialities in a lovely ambiance from April to October, surrounded by ancient chestnut trees.

From Serpiano a comfortable cableway goes down to Brusino Arsizio on Lake Lugano. The path leads to Hotel Serpiano and to the San Cristoforo church. A few steps from the hotel in the former customs house is the small studio of landscape painter Fiorello Fiorini, exhibiting paintings in addition to chairs that the artist revived. First through the forest, the path then leads to a road near Crocifisso. Across the road, a broad trail returns to the starting point through meadows and forest.

Tips

SwitzerlandMobility: 636

To explore the route, we recommend buying the official maps of the Federal Office of Topography Swisstopo. In addition, the following website map.geo.admin.ch offers constantly updated data.

  • Hiking boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

148402
Image 0 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 1 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 2 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 3 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 4 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 5 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 6 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 7 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 8 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 9 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio
Image 10 - Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio

Sentiero del Monte San Giorgio

Attention: La signalisation avec le numéro d'itinéraire de SuisseMobile ne sera pas prête avant la saison 2021. C'est une conséquence de la pandémie de Corona.

Les fossiles du trias valent au Monte San Giorgio d'être inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Vous pourrez les admirer au musée de Meride. Autre moment fort: le parc archéologique de Tremona-Castello, le panorama sur les cimes, la jolie Alp Brusino et l'atelier du peintre Fiorello Fiorini.

Le Monte San Giorgio est blotti entre les bras méridionaux du lac de Lugano. Première étape: les fouilles archéologiques de Tremona-Castello. Les vestiges d'une colonie qui ont été découverts permettent la reconstruction détaillée du quotidien d'un village médiéval de paysans. Captivant: lors de la visite, des lunettes 3D vous font plonger dans la vie que menait jadis ce village. Après le parc archéologique, les randonneurs atteignent Meride (586 m d’altitude). Le musée des fossiles expose des fossiles et empreintes datant de 230 millions d’années, découverts sur le Monte San Giorgio. Le bâtiment du musée a été conçu par le célèbre architecte tessinois Mario Botta. Ces trouvailles – les plus importants fossiles marins au monde du trias moyen (245 à 230 millions d'années) – ont valu à la région du Monte San Giorgio d'être inscrite en 2003 au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.
À quelques centaines de mètres du musée: la terrasse panoramique du Val Mara, qui offre une vue sur l'imposante falaise de calcschiste et ses dépôts marins et fossiles âgés de 230 millions d’années. Le chemin continue de grimper en direction du Monte San Giorgio, à 1000 m d'altitude, tout d'abord sur un large sentier muletier à l'ombre de l'épaisse forêt, avant d'atteindre, relativement à plat, Cassina et sa chapelle. Le dernier tronçon jusqu'au sommet est assez raide – mais il en vaut la peine: arrivé en haut, vous jouirez d'une vue fantastique sur les Alpes tessinoises et le lac de Lugano. En cas de mauvais temps, vous pourrez vous abriter dans l'église San Giorgio. Plus tard, l'Alpe di Brusino, que vous rejoindrez par un sentier forestier abrupt, vous offre une pause gourmande. D'avril à octobre, ce grotto d'alpage cuisine des plats typiques de la région. Entouré de châtaigniers de plusieurs centaines d'années, l'atmosphère de cet alpage est merveilleuse.

Suggestions

SuisseMobile: 636

Pour profiter de l'itinéraire, nous vous recommandons l'achat de cartes officielles de l'Office fédéral de topographie Swisstopo. De plus, le siteweb map.geo.admin.ch propose des données régulièrement actualisées.

  • Chaussures de randonnée
  • Casquette
  • Gourde
  • Lunettes de soleil
  • Crème solaire
  • Carte d’excursion
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !