147169
Image 0 - Pizzo Leone Trail
Image 1 - Pizzo Leone Trail
Image 2 - Pizzo Leone Trail

Pizzo Leone Trail

What comes to mind when you hear the words 'complete freedom'? We think of grass kissed by the morning dew glistening in the sun; tall peaks with their boundless views; endless trails; dense, shady forests; and brightly coloured flower meadows.

This trail starts in Losone and leads through dense forests, climbing quickly to the Corona dei Pinci (1294 m). From there you follow a path along the ridge to Pizzo Leone (1616 m) for few kilometres. It's peppered with multiple views of Lake Maggiore and the Centovalli.

The descent from Pizzo Leone to Rasa is rather technical, the path often covered with leaves in autumn. Water can be hard to come because you’re on a ridge.

On the way back you pass the picturesque villages of Corcapolo and Intragna – the latter has an imposing church tower. The final section is flat and follows the Maggia river – perfect for rounding off this 25 km run. 

Tips

Public transport friendly
From Locarno railway station: bus 314 towards Ronco sopra Ascona, Posta. Alight at Losone, Posta.  
Return from Losone: bus 314 towards Locarno Stazione. Alight at Locarno station.

 

  • Hiking/running boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

147169
Image 0 - Pizzo Leone Trail
Image 1 - Pizzo Leone Trail
Image 2 - Pizzo Leone Trail

Pizzo Leone Trail

Nous, on pense à l’herbe qui brille au soleil embrassé par la rosée du matin, aux sommets aux vues infinies, aux sentiers sans fin, aux épaisses forêts ombragées, au kaléidoscope de couleurs des prairies en fleurs.

Itinéraire pour trail runners

L’itinéraire, qui part de Losone, serpente à travers les bois pour monter rapidement jusqu’à la Corona dei Pinci (1294 m). De là le sentier reste près de la crête pour quelques kilomètres et mène à Pizzo Leone (1616 m). Les vues sont nombreuses, parfois surplombants le Lac Majeur, parfois les Centovalli.

La descente qui mène du Pizzo Leone jusqu’à Rasa est plutôt technique et le sentier est souvent couvert de feuilles en automne. Étant sur une crête, les points d’eau sont rares.

Au retour le chemin passe à travers les villages pittoresques de Corcapolo et Intragna, avec son imposant clocher. Enfin, le dernier tronçon le long de la rivière du fleuve Maggia est plat et très confortable.  

Suggestions

Accès par transports publics
Aller de Locarno, gare : prendre le bus NFB 314 en direction de Ronco sopra Ascona, Posta et descendre à l’arrêt Losone, Posta.
Retour de Losone, Posta : prendre le bus NFB 314 en direction de Locarno, Stazione, Posta et descendre à l’arrêt Locarno, Stazione.

 

  • Chaussures de randonnée/chaussures de course
  • Lunettes de soleil
  • Crème solaire
  • Gourde

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !