138323

Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola

You will find Mount Brè truly enchanting because of its magnificent view: it is absolutely breathtaking to admire the Lugano region and the splendour of Mount Rosa, the Bernese and the Valais Alps from here.

Descending from the summit, it takes just 15 minutes to reach Brè, a village that has maintained its ancient rural characteristics intact, while at the same time, gradually endowing itself with numerous artistic works. In fact, this village collects the works of Pasquale Gilardi, also called Lelèn, the frescoes by Joseph Birò in the Church of San Fedele, the Schmid Museum, with the works that the artist left, together with his house, to his Municipality of adoption and an outdoor art gallery made up of the works of renowned artists both at the national and international level. Of course, there are also restaurants, small and large grottos with panoramic terraces that offer a circular view on the Lake of Lugano and on the surrounding mountains.

You leave Brè (800 m.) and proceed in the direction of Gandria, a very original village that has maintained its peculiar characteristics. The whole route consists in a mountain trail that unwinds through a thick wooded area. Several refreshment points are available at Gandria and its characteristic town centre is well worth a visit.
The descent to Gandria leads you to the Naturalistic and Archaeological Path and to the Olive Grove Path. The Olive Grove Path goes from Gandria to Castagnola and passes through an area where the remains of ancient olive groves are still visible and where the olive tree has recently been re-introduced. The path is described starting from Gandria and is indicated by the logo of the olive tree; the path's interest is further enhanced by 18 signs informing visitors on the history, botanical features and cultivation of the olive tree and also of its products (olives, oil).
The Naturalistic and Archaeological Path is a didactical trail that passes through the naturalistic and archaeological site of Gandria thus offering the possibility of ideally approaching nature and the history of this special and easily accessible pre-alpine area.
Along the route, there are 15 numbered stops for the guided observation of particular environmental characteristics. The natural scenario in which the path is set, allows you also to admire several extraordinary views.

From Gandria you proceed to Castagnola along an easy, almost completely level path that coasts the lake and which is much appreciated by locals and tourists.

DepartureMonte Brè, station
ArrivalCastagnola
Suitable for
Kids
Dogs
Adults
Itinerary features
Typology
Linear
Length
5.82 KM
Duration
2H
Difficulty
Easy
Friday 23 February
MAX 5° / MIN 2°
rainfall 70%
wind light
Weather forecast for the next days

Sat
6° 2°

Sun
4° 2°

Mon
2° -1°

Tue
0° -3°

Wed
1° -4°
Tips
  • Hiking boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food

 

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute:

https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Tourism Organization Addresses

Ente Turistico del Luganese
Piazzale della Stazione

CH-6900 Lugano
T +41 58 866 66 00 
F +41 58 866 66 09
[email protected]
www.luganoturismo.ch

Download the hikeTicino App

This allows you to:

  • - Explore the itineraries around you
  • - Discover the itineraries on foot, to suit all tastes

You don’t know Ticino? The App will help you discover the itineraries closest to you. You may already be on a route!

You can download the hikeTicino App here as well, if you have an App that reads QR codes.

You can’t download the App? Perhaps your smartphone is not up to date. Try updating it with your computer, or otherwise contact the customer service for help.

138323
Image 0 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 1 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 2 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 3 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 4 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 5 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 6 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 7 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 8 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola
Image 9 - Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola

Monte Brè - Gandria - Castagnola

Le Monte Brè saura vous émerveiller avec son panorama enchanteur qui, en un seul coup d'oeil, vous offre une vue splendide sur la région de Lugano, le Mont Rose, et les Alpes bernoises et valaisannes.

En descendant de la cime, on atteint le village de Brè en 15 minutes. Ce village a conservé ses caractéristiques d'ancien village rural et s'est, au fil des temps, enrichi de nombreux témoignages artistiques. On y trouve en effet les oeuvres de Pasquale Gilardi dit Lelèn, les fresques de Joseph Birò dans l'église San Fedele, le Musée Schmid avec les oeuvres que l'artiste a voulu laisser, avec sa maison, à sa commune d'adoption, ainsi qu'un parcours artistique à ciel ouvert composé d'oeuvres d'artistes de renommée nationale et internationale. Evidemment les restaurants, les petits ou grands grottis avec terrasse panoramique offrant une vue sur le lac de Lugano et les montagnes environnantes, ne manquent pas.

On quitte Brè (800 m) et on poursuit en direction de Gandria (272 m), petit village original qui a conservé toutes ses caractéristiques. Tout le trajet se déroule sur un sentier de montagne à travers un bois dense. Gandria offre diverses possibilités pour se restaurer et mérite une promenade au coeur de son village.
La descente vers Gandria mène au Sentier nature et archéologie et au Sentier de l'olivier. Le sentier de l'olivier (sentiero dell'olivo) se déroule entre Gandria et Castagnola, à travers une zone portant encore les traces d'antiques oliveraies et où l'olivier a été récemment réintroduit. Le parcours est décrit en partant de Gandria et signalé par le symbole de l'olivier; il présente en outre 18 panneaux qui informent sur l'histoire, la botanique et la culture de l'olivier, ainsi que sur les produits qui en sont extraits (olives, huile).
Le Sentier nature et archéologie est un parcours didactique qui traverse le site naturel et archéologique de Gandria, et permet d'approcher parfaitement la nature et l'histoire de cette zone préalpine d'accès facile.
15 haltes numérotées, réparties le long du parcours, permettent l'observation guidée des caractéristiques environnementales spécifiques. Le cadre dans lequel ce sentier s'insère, offre de nombreux points de vue panoramiques d'une grande beauté.

De Gandria, on poursuit en direction de Castagnola en cheminant sur un sentier facile à parcourir et présentant une faible dénivellation et qui côtoie le lac. Ce sentier est très apprécié des autochtones et des touristes.

Suggestions

  • Chaussures de randonnée
  • Casquette
  • Gourde
  • Lunettes de soleil
  • Crème solaire
  • Carte d’excursion
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture

 

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider:

https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

-

Près de l'itinéraire

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !