148172
Image 0 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 1 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 2 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 3 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 4 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 5 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 6 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 7 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 8 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 9 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle

Giro del Castello di Serravalle

This trip in the lower Blenio Valley leads to the old settlement of Selvapiana, whose structures testify to the dense population that once lived up there. The itinerary explores various different landscapes and offers a wonderful panoramic view over the surrounding mountains and Serravalle Castle.

The route starts in the romantic and picturesque little square in Malvaglia Rongie, at 366 m a.s.l., and begins by visiting the characteristic village of Ludiano with its many typical grotti or rustic eateries in remote and shady locations. Once used to store cheese, cold meats and wine, they have now been transformed into relaxing spots where you can eat local produce and enjoy a good glass of wine. 

The path then climbs up through a chestnut wood towards the settlement of Selvapiana, home to a surprising number of large buildings, which stand out from Ticino’s classic rustic structures that are also found here. It seems that 300 people lived here during its most prosperous period and it was the most populous of the highland settlements, with just a few inhabitants on the plain.

The route continues towards Navone, home to the oratory of Santa Maria Bambina and the hamlet of Scarp, with its magnificent rustic buildings made of stone. From here follow the path that leads directly to the village of Semione with its beautiful villas that testify to a history of emigration.

Before returning to Malvaglia, you can admire the ruins of Serravalle Castle, a site that has been occupied since at least the ninth century according to records. Between 2002 and 2007, the site was investigated thoroughly as part of an interdisciplinary archaeological research project backed by the Architecture Academy in Mendrisio and the University of Basel, in partnership with the Canton Cultural Assets Office.

Tips

  • Hiking boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food

 

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

148172
Image 0 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 1 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 2 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 3 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 4 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 5 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 6 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 7 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 8 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle
Image 9 - Giro del Castello di Serravalle

Giro del Castello di Serravalle

Cette randonnée, qui se développe dans la partie basse du Val Blenio mène les randonneurs jusqu'à l'ancien centre habité de Selvapiana, dont les bâtiments témoignent de la forte densité de population. L'excursion met en valeur de nombreux paysages et offre un magnifique panorama sur les montagnes environnantes et sur le château de Serravalle.

C'est de la petite place romantique et pittoresque de Malvaglia Rongie, à 366 m d'altitude, que part le sentier qui traverse d'abord le village de Ludiano, particulièrement caractéristique avec ses grottos typiques, établissements rustiques situés dans des zones ombragées et à l'écart, qui servaient à entreposer le fromage, la charcuterie et le vin et qui sont devenus par la suite des lieux de détente où l'on peut manger des produits locaux et boire un bon verre de vin.

Le sentier monte à travers une châtaigneraie pour rejoindre l'ancien centre habité de Selvapiana, qui surprend par la présence de plusieurs bâtiments de grande taille, qui diffèrent des traditionnelles maisons rustiques tessinoises, également présentes dans ce lieu. Il semble que dans la période la plus prospère, jusqu'à 300 personnes y vivaient et c’était le hameau supérieur le plus peuplé, peu d'habitants restant en plaine.

L'itinéraire se poursuit vers Navone où se dresse l'oratoire de Santa Maria Bambina et le centre habité de Scarp, avec ses magnifiques maisons en pierre. De là, on suit le sentier qui mène directement au village de Semione avec ses belles villas qui témoignent d'un passé d'émigration.

Avant de revenir vers Malvaglia, il est possible d'admirer les ruines du château de Serravalle dont les premiers signes d'occupation du site remontent au IXe siècle. De 2002 à 2007, le site a fait l'objet de fouilles systématiques dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche archéologique interdisciplinaire promu par l'Académie d'architecture de Mendrisio et par l'université de Bâle, en collaboration avec l'Office cantonal des biens culturels.

Suggestions

  • Chaussures de randonnée
  • Casquette
  • Gourde
  • Lunettes de soleil
  • Crème solaire
  • Carte d’excursion
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture

 

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !