145606
Image 0 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 1 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 2 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 3 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 4 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 5 - Circuit Dongio-Motto

Circuit Dongio-Motto

The circuit is located in the southern part of the municipality of Acquarossa, in the middle of the Valle di Blenio, a flat expanse surrounded by impressive rough and jagged reliefs with emotional impact: a particular atmosphere that unites noteworthy natural and cultural qualities.

Leaving the quiet village of Dongio, you head south along a peaceful hiking trail that follows the foot of a steep rock face to which a very special construction clings, the «Casa dei Pagani». Built in the Middle Ages as a protection against enemy attacks, these unique fortifications stud the entire Valle di Blenio.
Further south, you skirt the village of Marogno, with its traditional buildings like the Gatti houses, a notable example of 19th century architecture built by valley dwellers who had emigrated to make their fortunes as ice-cream manufacturers in London. Shortly after Morogno, you arrive in Motto from where, with a brief diversion, you can reach the church of San Pietro nearby: one of the most notable examples of Romanesque architecture in Switzerland.
Now following a cycle path along the site of an old railway line between Biasca and Compravasco, you return to Dongio from where you can complete the excursion with a visit to the church of San Remigio: another jewel of the Ticino Romanesque period.

km 0 - km 7
The entire route takes place on well-constructed tarmac byroads. It features gradients of up to 6%. However, at San Remigio chapel at km 4.8, there is a gradient of 10% over a distance of 30 m. At km 1.6 in the Motto district, visitors must cross a busy main road without a pedestrian crossing. This requires caution, but the road is visible in both directions.

Tips

Follow the logo indicated on the green signposts:
651 - Dongio-Motto

Barrier-free travel / public transport

The SBB-recommended route via Biasca is not possible, as it is not possible for wheelchair users to leave the train at Biasca. Instead, visitors can leave the train at Bellinzona station and then take the bus (number 191) to Biasca, change to another bus (number 131) in the direction of Olivone, Petullo and get out at Dongio, Municipio. Linie 191: Auto Postale, Tel. 0840 852 852, Linie 131: Autolinee, Tel. 091 862 31 72.

Wheelchair-suitable parking spaces
A large car park with one parking space for wheelchair users is available at the municipal office in Dongio, next to the start and finish point.

Alternative routes

-

HikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

145606
Image 0 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 1 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 2 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 3 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 4 - Circuit Dongio-Motto
Image 5 - Circuit Dongio-Motto

Circuit Dongio-Motto

Le circuit parcourt le sud de la commune d'Acquarossa, au centre de la Valle di Blenio, dans une plaine entourée de formations rocheuses impressionnantes, sauvages et d'une grande beauté: un paysage particulier aux caractéristiques naturelles et culturelles marquantes.

Le point de départ est le petit village de Dongio. L'itinéraire emprunte en direction du sud un sentier de randonnée plaisant qui longe une raide paroi rocheuse à laquelle s'accroche une bâtisse particulière, la «Casa dei Pagani». Ces monuments fortifiés, construits au Moyen Âge pour se défendre des incursions ennemies, sont uniques en leur genre et se retrouvent tout au long de la Valle di Blenio.
Plus au sud, il longe Marogno, un village aux maisons traditionnelles, telles les «Case Gatti», un bel exemple d'architecture du 19e siècle, construites par des émigrés qui firent fortune à Londres comme glaciers. Peu après Marogno, il arrive à Motto, où une petite variation permet de visiter l'église Saint-Pierre toute proche, un des exemples les plus parlants de l'architecture romane en Suisse.
En suivant ensuite un chemin cyclable qui longe l'ancienne ligne de chemin de fer de Biasca à Coprovasco, il revient à Dongio, où il est possible de terminer le circuit par une visite de l'église de San Remigio, un autre bijou de l'architecture romane au Tessin.

km 0 - km 7
L’ensemble de l’itinéraire emprunte des routes secondaires goudronnées bien aménagées. Il comprend plusieurs montées de 6% maximum. Cependant, le km 4,8, au niveau de la chapelle San Remigio, présente une montée de 10% sur 30m. Au km 1,6, dans le quartier de Motto, l’itinéraire traverse une rue principale à forte fréquentation sans passage piéton. Il faut faire attention, mais la route est dégagée.

Suggestions

Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux verts :
651 - Dongio-Motto

Sans barrière / Transports publics

Le trajet via Biasca recommandé par les CFF n’est pas possible, car les personnes en fauteuil roulant ne peuvent pas y prendre la correspondance. La correspondance se fait donc à la gare de Bellinzone. De Bellinzone, les voyageurs prennent un bus (ligne 191) pour Biasca, où ils montent dans un autre bus (ligne 131) direction Olivone, Petullo, puis ils descendent à Dongio, Municipio. Linie 191: Auto Postale, Tel. 0840 852 852, Linie 131: Autolinee, Tel. 091 862 31 72.

Places de parc adaptées aux fauteuils roulants
A Dongio, il y a un grand parking avec une place adaptée aux fauteuils roulants directement au point de départ et d’arrivée, près des services administratifs de la ville.

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !