142012
Image 0 - Mendrisio
Image 1 - Mendrisio
Image 2 - Mendrisio
Image 3 - Mendrisio
Image 4 - Mendrisio
Image 5 - Mendrisio
Image 6 - Mendrisio
Image 7 - Mendrisio

Mendrisio

Description

Why visit the historic centre?

The historical and cultural heritage of old Mendrisio is perhaps the main reason for visiting the historic centre.

This has remained virtually unchanged over the centuries, and recent expert restoration has further enhanced its beauty.

 

Palaces and churches, alleys and entrance arches opening onto wonderful courtyards are the main features of the historic centre of Mendrisio, where many of the buildings have withstood the ravages of time, offering an interesting variety of styles.

As you wander down the streets, you come across many different styles: the bell tower of the church of Santa Maria and the Oratorio della Madonna delle Grazie are typically Romanesque; the church of San Giovanni and Palazzo Pollini are good examples of the ornate Rococo (Late Baroque) style; and the sober elegance of the Neoclassical style can be appreciated in the parish church of Santi Cosma e Damiano and the façade of the old Ospedale della Beata Vergine.

There are several interesting, unusual buildings and squares, such as Villa Argentina with its combination of Palladian and colonial styles and the contemporary Piazzale alla Valle by Mario Botta.

In addition to its architecture, Mendrisio offers art lovers many a fine painting and sculpture by local and Lombard masters on display in the churches. The Art Museum also contains a large selection of works ranging from the 1500s to the present day.

 

The historic centre is also full of delightful hidden gems just waiting to be discovered as you stroll around, such as centuries-old houses with their fine old-style entrances allowing you glimpses of charming and ele-gant courtyards.

 

Mendrisio’s past

The oldest part of Mendrisio – the historic centre – runs from the quarter of San Giovanni to Piazzetta Borella and shows you how the town used to look until the 1800s, when it started to expand outside the city walls and into the surrounding fields: narrow streets ideal for wandering around without the worry of traffic; thick-walled houses built one on top of the other, giving you a sense of protection and of a close-knit community.

Originally contained within its defensive walls, Mendrisio was surrounded by countryside: the plain of San Martino below was an expanse of green meadows, the only building being the Romanesque church, now skirted by the motorway; above, Mt. Generoso, at the time still inviolate, before the roads and railway were built.

 

Mendrisio, like the rest of Europe, has seen many rulers over the centuries.

First the Romans came and conquered, then the town was annexed to the Longobard feud of Seprio (5th–7th centuries). In 1100 it came under the sway of Como before passing, in 1335, into the hands of the grand dukes of Milan, the Visconi, who gave it as a feud to the Rusca family and later to the Sanseverino family. In 1522 it was annexed by the Swiss Confederation and administered as a bailiwick until 1803, when Mendrisio, like the rest of the Canton of Ticino, finally gained its freedom.

 

Mendrisio’s strategic and political importance reflected each change in its ruler. During the years that it was governed by the Visconi of Milan, the land was split along ecclesiastical lines, meaning that Mendrisio was not classed as an important town, but came under the administration of the Pieve di Balerna, since it had no plebeian church.

The Swiss Confederation, on the other hand, turned the town into an important administrative centre by installing their representative here, the “landvogt” (bailiff). This also ensured that the town’s economy grew with the appearance of various factories, such as the paper mills.

 

Mendrisio today

Mendrisio today is a lively, dynamic place of interest, having gradually become an indu-strial town of major importance for the local area and the Canton of Ticino as a whole, while still managing to keep its historic centre intact.

 

Industry first started to appear in Mendrisio a couple of centuries ago.

In the 1800s there were many flourishing printers, forges and silk mills in the old town centre, providing employment to a labour force of at least 500.

Then, in the 1900s, the factories relocated to the railway station area and, in the 1960s, spread out onto the San Martino plain. The reason for this is obvious: proximity to the main transport connections. First the railway (opened in December 1874) with its Gotthardbahn steam locomotives, then the canton highway and finally the motorway, inaugurated in December 1966.

Industry has grown proportionally, now providing some 3’500 local jobs.

 

There have been a few changes, however: the once flourishing building industry and clothing sector are less important today and many food manufacturing operations have closed. These have been replaced by modern industry: metal foundries and workshops, electronics and chemicals.  

 

Today, as in the past, Mendrisio is a great commercial centre. The old centre abounds in boutiques and small shops, plus several major department stores. In 1995 the Foxtown shopping mall opened in the San Martino area.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Railways , Car rental

142012
Image 0 - Mendrisio
Image 1 - Mendrisio
Image 2 - Mendrisio
Image 3 - Mendrisio
Image 4 - Mendrisio
Image 5 - Mendrisio
Image 6 - Mendrisio
Image 7 - Mendrisio

Mendrisio

Pourquoi visiter le centre historique ?

Les raisons de visiter Mendrisio sont nombreuses. L'une d'elles est la valeur historique et culturelle du centre, qui a su conserver son aspect ancien, et qui a fait l’objet d’améliorations et d’embellissements lors de restaurations récentes et réussies.

Des palais et des églises, des ruelles étroites et des portes qui s'entrouvrent sur de splendides cours intérieures sont les principales caractéristiques du centre historique de Mendrisio, où de nombreuses structures ont su « vieillir en beauté », offrant une intéressante variété de styles.

On peut en effet noter les différences de styles en se promenant à travers les rues du Bourg : le roman est bien représenté, avec le clocher de l'église Santa Maria et l'Oratoire de Notre-Dame des Grâces ; le rococo et le baroque tardif, gracieusement orné, comme l’illustrent les merveilleux exemples de l'église San Giovanni et le Palazzo Pollini. Quant au néo-classique, avec son élégante simplicité, nous le retrouvons dans l'église paroissiale dédiée aux saints Cosme et Damien et sur la façade de l'ancien Hôpital de la Sainte Vierge.

Les propositions stylistiques insolites ne manquent pas non plus, telles que Villa Argentina, qui mêle le style palladien au langage des édifices coloniaux, ou encore, des œuvres contemporaines comme Piazzale alla Valle, conçu par Mario Botta.

Mais la peinture et la sculpture contribuent aussi à la beauté du Bourg : des tableaux et des statues de maîtres locaux et lombards sont présents dans les églises. Le Musée d'art en propose également une ample exposition qui va du XVIe s. à nos jours.

Lorsque vous découvrirez la vieille ville, n'oubliez pas de chercher dans les rues le riche patrimoine de trésors cachés, non moins précieux : les vieilles maisons aux entrées embellies par d'élégants portails d'époque, qui une fois franchis, révèlent de splendides cours.

 

Mendrisio d'autrefois

La partie la plus ancienne de Mendrisio, le cœur ou le centre historique, s'étend du quartier de San Giovanni à la petite place Borella. Elle offre au visiteur l'image du Bourg tel qu’il se présentait jusqu'au XIXe s. lorsqu’il se développa et s'étendit aux campagnes avoisinantes : des rues étroites s'adaptant au pas méditatif du piéton et des maisons blotties les unes contre les autres, qui avec leurs murs épais donnent un sentiment de protection et de vie de recueillement.

Bien à l'abri de ses murs, Mendrisio était entourée par la campagne : en contrebas, la plaine verdoyante de San Martino avec son unique édifice, l'église romane aujourd'hui longée par l'autoroute. Sur les hauteurs, le Generoso, montagne à l'époque inexplorée, sans routes ni chemin de fer.

La liste des dominateurs du Bourg est particulièrement longue.

Comme toute l'Europe, il fut d'abord conquis par les Romains, puis fit partie du comté lombard de Seprio du Ve au XIIe s., et fut soumis par Côme vers 1100, avant de devenir, à partir de 1335, le domaine des grands-ducs de Milan, les Visconti, qui au XVe s., le confièrent comme fief d’abord aux Rusca, puis aux Sanseverino. Enfin, en 1522, Mendrisio passa aux Suisses, qui le conservèrent comme bailliage jusqu'en 1803, lorsque, comme tout le Canton, il obtint définitivement sa liberté.

 

À mesure que se succédaient les dominateurs, l'importance de Mendrisio changea elle aussi : lorsque les Milanais gouvernaient, la division territoriale coïncidait avec celle de l'église. Parce qu’il ne disposait pas d'une église paroissiale, le Bourg n'était donc pas le chef-lieu comme aujourd’hui, mais il appartenait à la paroisse de Balerna.

Les Suisses établirent à Mendrisio leur représentant, le « landfogto » (magistrat) ou bailleur. Le Bourg obtint ainsi un prestige institutionnel, mais également économique, étant le siège de différentes industries comme celle du papier.

 

Le Mendrisio d'aujourd'hui

Mendrisio est une ville active et très dynamique qui, au-delà de son passé historique dont on trouve de nombreuses traces dans le centre-ville, s'est développée en acquérant au fil des ans un rôle de premier plan au sein du district et au niveau cantonal.

Mendrisio a une vocation industrielle de longue date.

Au XIXe s., les imprimeries, les fonderies et surtout les usines de filature fleurissent dans le centre historique. Ces activités faisaient travailler au moins 500 personnes.

Au XXe s., les usines se déplacèrent tout d'abord à proximité de la gare, puis à partir des années 1960, dans la plaine de San Martino, c'est-à-dire dans les zones bordant les plus grands axes de circulation tels que le chemin de fer, arrivé en décembre 1874 avec les machines à vapeur de la société Gottardbahn, mais également la route cantonale et l'autoroute, ouverte en décembre 1966.

Ces activités ont poursuivi leur développement, de sorte qu'aujourd'hui elles emploient plus de 3 500 personnes.

Les changements n'ont toutefois pas manqué : le bâtiment et l'habillement, secteurs autrefois florissants, ont perdu de leur importance et les entreprises de l'industrie alimentaire ont disparu. Elles ont été remplacées par des sociétés évoluant dans des secteurs plus modernes tels que la métallurgie, la mécanique, l'électronique et la chimie.

Comme autrefois, Mendrisio propose aux adeptes du shopping une vaste gamme de produits. Le centre historique héberge un grand nombre de belles boutiques, ainsi que quelques grands magasins. Depuis 1995, la plaine de San Martino accueille le grand centre commercial Foxtown.

Caractéristiques

  • HORAIRES Lundi: 10:00 - 12:00 / 14:00 - 16:00
    Mardi: 10:00 - 12:00 / 14:00 - 16:00
    Mercredi: 10:00 - 12:00 / 14:00 - 16:00
    Jeudi: 10:00 - 12:00 / 16:00 - 18:00
    Vendredi: 10:00 - 12:00 / 14:00 - 16:00
  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Chemins de fer , Location de voiture