142022
Image 0

Castel San Pietro

Description

With its 1183 hectares from the bottom of the Gole della Breggia as far as the peak of Monte Generoso, the Commune of Castel San Pietro, which since 2004 has also included Casima, Monte and Campora (a former outlying district of Caneggio), extends along the entire right edge of the Muggio Valley. The name is derived from the “Castrum Sancti Petri”, in other words the castle which was referred to for the first time in a document dated 1171, but had probably already been built at the time of the wars between Como and Milan (1118-1127).

 

Initially, together with Balerna, Castel San Pietro formed a Concilium (a type of rural forerunner of the Commune) with Corte Regia, and during the Middle Ages the Castellanza came into the possession of the Diocese of Como and the Rusconi (or Rusca) family and the Lucerne Russ family. The large landowners, i.e. the secular ones (such as the Albrici or Turconi) and the ecclesiastical ones, divided up the vast communal possessions. The local populace was devoted to agriculture, an activity which over the years came to be accompanied by the growth of mulberry trees (for silkworm breeding), tobacco (for the cigar factories), and by grapevines, to the extent that the Commune could boast of having the most vineyards in Ticino.

 

Emigration has also played an important part in the economy of the area, ranging from the Mediaeval era represented above all by the master builders and stucco workers, to the artistic migration for patrician families (such as the Carabelli, Pozzi, Salterio and Magni), culminating in emigration to Latin America during the 19th century.

 

In the last century at Castel San Pietro, particular artistic trends flourished, such as the Rot-Blau Group which was founded in Obino on New Year’s Eve of 1924-1925, or the avant-garde Trentatre Group which was created in Basel as a form of protest against the prevailing conservatism, and was subsequently transferred to Ticino.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

142022
Image 0 - Castel San Pietro

Castel San Pietro

Avec ses 1 183 hectares qui s’étendent du fond des Gorges de la Breggia jusqu'au sommet du Monte Generoso, la commune de Castel San Pietro, qui depuis 2004 comprend également Casima, Monte et Campora (anciennes localités de Caneggio), borde la rive droite de la Vallée de Muggio. Son nom vient de « Castrum Sancti Petri », c'est-à-dire le manoir mentionné pour la première fois dans un document datant de 1171, mais probablement déjà érigé à l'époque des guerres entre Côme et Milan (1118-1127).

 

Au début, Castel San Pietro formait avec Balerna un Concilium (sorte d'ancêtre rural de la commune) avec la « Corte Regia ». Au cours du Moyen Âge, Castellanza devint une possession du Diocèse de Côme et des familles Rusconi (ou Rusca) et des lucernois Russ. Les grands propriétaires terriens, laïcs (tels que les Albrici ou les Turconi) et religieux, se partageaient les vastes terres communales. La population locale s'était dédiée à l'agriculture, activité à laquelle fut ajoutée au fil des ans, la culture du mûrier (pour la sériciculture), le tabac (pour les fabriques de cigares) et la vigne, au point de pouvoir se vanter d’être la commune possédant le plus de vignobles dans le Tessin.

 

L'émigration joua également un rôle important dans l'économie du village. À l'époque médiévale, elle concernait principalement les maîtres bâtisseurs et les plâtriers, puis ce fut une émigration artistique des familles nobles (les Carabelli, les Pozzi, les Salterio et les Magni). Enfin, au cours du XIXe s., l’émigration prit la direction de l'Amérique latine.

 

Au siècle dernier, des courants artistiques particuliers s’épanouirent à Castel San Pietro, notamment le Groupe Rot-Blau, fondé la nuit de la Saint Sylvestre de l'année 1924-1925 à Obino, ou le groupe avant-gardiste Trentatré, qui vit le jour à Bâle pour protester contre le conservatisme en vigueur et qui s'est déplacé plus tard dans le Tessin.

Caractéristiques

  • TRANSPORTS Bus