148469
Image 0 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 1 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 2 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 3 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 4 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 5 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

The itinerary starts in the heart of Castel San Pietro, easily reachable also by Postbus (stop Castel S. Pietro Posta).

From here you hike along the "Via Obino", the initial stretch of the cantonal road to Monte, which leads to the hamlet of the same name, the oldest hamlet in the Municipality of Castel San Pietro mentioned in written documents. Crossing the historical centre, with a small diversion, you can hike up to the promontory on which, in an isolated and panoramic position, there is the beautiful church of S. Antonio. 

Following the official hiking signs you continue in the direction of Monte. You will happen to cross the cantonal road at several points, so pay attention before crossing!

After about 1 hour's walk you will reach the centre of Campora, a historic village in the Muggio Valley. The comfortable and wide path enters the forest and from here you climb slightly in the direction of Monte.
The picturesque village of Monte, situated on a sunny promontory, offers various possibilities for refreshment before returning to the mountain path that leads to Alpe Caviano, overcoming a difference in altitude of about 300 meters. 

Alpe Caviano at an altitude of 967 metres is located on the southern slope of the Monte Generoso massif. After the hospice of the Gran San Bernardo Pass, it is the southernmost alpine refuge in Switzerland. From here the view ranges from the Lower Mendrisiotto to the metropolis of Milan, the Duomo and the tall buildings in the centre are clearly visible, passing through the Po Valley, Monviso on the border with France and the entire Monte Rosa group. 

At the refuge there is drinking water from the municipal network, instant hot water via automatic gas kettle, electricity 220V/380V. No telephone connection, 3G reception (low) a few metres towards the road, free Wi-Fi. Small pantry for drinks and long-life consumer goods, external service to avoid guests passing through to the first floor. Please note: the hut is only open on reservation!

To descend towards Castel San Pietro, take a characteristic mule track with cobblestone bottom that descends gently and in about 1 hour's walk takes us back to our starting point.

Tips

  • Hiking boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

148469
Image 0 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 1 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 2 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 3 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 4 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 5 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

Die Wanderung beginnt im Herzen von Castel San Pietro, das auch mit dem Postauto (Haltestelle Castel S. Pietro Posta) leicht erreichbar ist.

Von hier aus steigt man auf der "Via Obino", dem Anfangsstück der Kantonsstrasse nach Monte, die zum gleichnamigen Weiler führt, dem ältesten, in schriftlichen Dokumenten erwähnten Weiler der Gemeinde Castel San Pietro. Wenn man die Altstadt durchquert, kann man mit einem kleinen Abstecher auf das Vorgebirge hinaufsteigen, auf dem sich in isolierter Panoramalage die schöne Kirche S. Antonio befindet. 

Folgen Sie den offiziellen Wanderwegweisern und gehen Sie weiter in Richtung Monte. Sie werden die Kantonsstrasse an verschiedenen Stellen überqueren, also passen Sie auf, bevor Sie die Kantonsstrasse überqueren!

Nach etwa 1 Stunde Fußweg erreichen Sie das Dorf Campora, ein historisches Dorf im Muggiotal. Der bequeme und breite Weg führt in den Wald und von hier aus steigt man leicht in Richtung Monte.
Das malerische Dorf Monte, das auf einem sonnigen Vorgebirge liegt, bietet verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Erfrischung, bevor man auf den Bergweg zurückkehrt, der zur Alpe Caviano führt und dabei einen Höhenunterschied von etwa 300 Metern überwindet. 

Die Alpe Caviano auf 967 Metern Höhe liegt am Südhang des Monte Generoso-Massivs. Nach dem Hospiz am Gran San Bernardo-Pass ist sie die südlichste Alphütte der Schweiz. Von hier aus reicht der Blick vom Unteren Mendrisiotto bis zur Metropole Mailand, der Dom und die hohen Gebäude in der Mitte sind deutlich zu sehen, vorbei an der Poebene, dem Monviso an der Grenze zu Frankreich und der gesamten Monte-Rosa-Gruppe. 

In der Hütte gibt es Trinkwasser aus dem städtischen Netz, sofort warmes Wasser durch einen automatischen Gaskessel, Strom 220V/380V. Keine Telefonverbindung, 3G-Empfang (schwach) wenige Meter zur Straße hin, kostenloses Wi-Fi. Kleine Speisekammer für Getränke und langlebige Konsumgüter, Bedienung im Freien, um zu vermeiden, dass vorbeigehende Gäste in den ersten Stock hinaufgehen. Bitte beachten Sie: Die Hütte ist nur auf Reservierung geöffnet!

Um in Richtung Castel San Pietro abzusteigen, nehmen wir einen charakteristischen Saumpfad mit Kopfsteinpflasterboden, der leicht abwärts führt und uns in etwa 1 Stunde Fußmarsch wieder zum Ausgangspunkt zurückbringt.

Tipps

  • Wanderschuhe
  • Sonnenkappe
  • Wasserflasche
  • Sonnenbrille
  • Sonnencreme
  • Wanderkarte
  • Fotoapparat
  • Essen

Montagnepulite: Dieses Projekt wurde ins Leben gerufen, um eine effiziente und nachhaltige Führung der Berghütten im Tessin zu erreichen, insbesondere die Abfallentsorgung. Die verantwortungsbewusste Entsorgung von Abfällen ist eine Frage des gesunden Menschenverstands. Wir alle können eine Beitrag leisten: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/de/goldene-regeln

Varianten

-

hikeTicino: Die App für alle Routen!