141998
Image 0 - Rovio

Rovio

Description

Rovio is favourably situated, enjoying mag-nificent views of Lake Lugano and a backdrop stretching to the peak of of Mount Generoso characterised by lush vegetation.

 

Its location and its proximity to the transit routes through the Intelvese area have meant that the area has been occupied since ancient times, as evidenced by the archaeological finds from the Iron Age, discovered on the road to Arogno in 1846, as well as various Roman tombs, which were reused as baths at the fountains that can be seen in the streets of the town centre.

 

During the Middle Ages, Rovio came under the jurisdiction of Castelseprio and there are mentions of private property “in illa de Rovi” as early as 852, a period which could date the construction of the first religious buildings.

 

Added to the predominantly agricultural economy, associated with field crop cultivation, viticulture, livestock and charcoal production, Rovio was the point of origin for a number of skilled builders and artists.

 

Entire families were active throughout Europe for generations, from London to Rome: among them the Bagutti, the Carlone, the Gallis, the Manni and the Mazzetti, who enriched their native village with remarkable works.

 

Thanks to intelligent local policy, the residential development market, which began between 1960 and 1970, did not affect the precious balance of the old town where fine buildings look out over the squares and cobbled streets: the Piazza Fontana, the late-neoclassical Bagutti palace, built in 1864, with several rooms decorated with 19th-century paintings; the group of houses in Via Gene-roso; the frescoes of the Holy Shroud; a Madonna, accompanied by various saints, and St. Anthony of Padua; Vassalli House, with fresco of the Flight into Egypt from the first half of the 18th-century; Casa Groppi, in Riaasòtt, with bas-relief of the Madonna and Child by Domenico Bagutti (1784-1831); Casa Carlone in the Piazza dal Torc, whose living room was painted by Giovanni Carlone between 1695 and 1700.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

141998
Image 0 - Rovio

Rovio

Rovio genießt eine privilegierte Lage mit einer herrlichen Aussicht auf den Luganer See und einem Hinterland, das sich bis zum Gipfel des Monte Generoso erstreckt und eine üppige Vegetation aufweist.

 

Dank seiner Lage und der engen Verbindung mit den Transitachsen ins Intelvese war das Gebiet seit dem Altertum bewohnt; dies ergibt sich aus den archäologischen Funden aus der Eisenzeit, die im Jahr 1846 auf der Straße nach Arogno entdeckt wurden und zahlreichen römischen Gräbern, die als Brunnentröge wiederverwendet werden, wie in den Gassen des Dorfes zu sehen ist.

 

Im Hochmittelalter gehörte Rovio zum Gerichtskreis Castelseprio und private Liegenschaften „in illa de Rovi“ werden ab 852 erwähnt; möglicherweise stammen die ersten religiösen Gebäude aus jener Zeit.

 

Zu einer vorwiegend landwirtschaftlich geprägten Wirtschaft mit Ackerbau, Weinbau, Viehzucht und Herstellung von Holzkohle kam die Abwanderung von Arbeitern aus dem Baugewerbe und Kunsthandwerk hinzu. Ganze Familien waren während mehrerer Generationen überall in Europa tätig, von London bis Rom: die Bagutti, Carlone, Galli, Manni und Mazzetti; sie haben auch ihren Geburtsort mit beachtlichen Werken bereichert.

 

Dank einer intelligenten lokalen Politik hat auch die ausgeprägte Entwicklung hin zur Wohngemeinde seit den Sechzigerjahren das kostbare Gleichgewicht des Dorfzentrums nicht verändert, wo edle Gebäude die noch gepflasterten Plätze und Gassen säumen: Auf der Piazza Fontana der spät-neoklassische Palazzo Bagutti, erbaut 1864 mit zahlreichen Räumen, die von Gemälden aus dem 19. Jahrhundert geschmückt werden; die Häusergruppe in der Via Generoso, die Fresken, welche die Heilige Sindone darstellen, eine Madonna mit Heiligen und den Heiligen Antonius aus Padova; die Casa Vassalli mit einem Fresko der Flucht nach Ägypten aus der ersten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts; die Casa Groppi, in Riaasòtt, mit einem Flachrelief der Madonna mit Kind von Domenico Bagutti (1784-1831); auf der Piazza dal Torc die Casa Carlone, deren Salon von Giovanni Carlone zwischen 1695 und 1700 mit Fresken bemalt wurden.

Eigenschaften

  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus