141810
Image 0 - Arogno

Arogno

Description

The tombs scattered around this area, even in the villages, as well as a necropolis show that people have been living here since prehistoric times and that the village grew in relation to the ancient road that connected it with the Val d’Intelvi.
This strategic axis linking the county of Seprio with Isola Comacina was strengthened during the Lombard period, so that Aro-gno became an important fortified garrison. Records about the area date back to 780.
During the ten-year war between Como and Milan (1118-1127) the nearby Doragno castle is mentioned. Here, at the church of San Giacomo, a Humiliati community was founded prior to 1253, probably in connection with a hospice.


Like many other villages in the region, this was the homeland of many renowned artists and was the birthplace of Adamo d’Arogno who, with his children and grandchildren, from 1212 onwards began building Trento Cathedral, one of the most interesting examples of Italian Romanesque architecture. The sculptor Guido Bigarelli, also from Arogno, worked between 1185 and 1246 in Lucca, Pistoia and Pisa.
As early as the Middle Ages there was then a migration of workers to the Italian cities, a phenomenon that would intensify in the centuries to follow. For generations, entire families would emigrate from Arogno not only to neighbouring Italy, but also to Germany, Poland, Czechoslovakia and Russia. These include the Columba, the Artari, the Cometta, the Cozzi, the Maini and the Stella families, who would decorate churches and buildings during brief stays in their home village, as can be seen in the houses around the Piazza Velécc and the Piazza Fróo.


Those who did not emigrate settled for poor land resources, taking up employment in predominantly agricultural and pastoral activities, enjoying for a brief period the inclusion of a coal mine.


A major boost to the local economy, which also put a check on migration, came with the opening of two factories for producing watch components in the second half of the 19th century, which remained in use until the end of last century.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

141810
Image 0 - Arogno

Arogno

Die Gräber, die im Dorf und in den Weilern zu finden sind, und eine Nekropole zeugen davon, dass das Gebiet seit prähistorischen Zeiten besiedelt war und das Dorf sich mit Bezug zur sehr alten Straße entwickelte, die es mit dem Intelvital verband.

Dank seiner strategischen Lage an der Straße zwischen der Gerichtsherrschaft Seprio und der Isola Comacina konsolidierte sich die Lage in langobardischer Zeit und Arogno wurde zu einer bedeutenden befestigten Garnison ausgebaut. 780 wird das Dorf erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Während des zehnjährigen Kriegs zwischen Mailand und Como (1118-1127) wird das nahe gelegene Schloss Doragno erwähnt. Hier, bei der kleinen Kirche von San Giacomo, bestand eine Gemeinschaft von Humiliaten, die vor 1253 gegründet worden war, wahrscheinlich in Verbindung mit einem Hospiz.

 

In diesem und vielen anderen Dörfern der Region wurden berühmte Künstler geboren, darunter Adamo, der mit Söhnen und Enkeln ab 1212 mit dem Bau des Doms von Trient begann, eines der interessantesten Beispiele der italienischen Romanik. Der Bildhauer Guido Bigarelli aus Arogno war zwischen 1185 und 1246 in Lucca, Pistoia und Pisa tätig.

 

Bereits im Mittelalter wanderten Arbeitskräfte in italienische Städte aus und dieses Phänomen verstärkte sich in den folgenden Jahrhunderten. Ganze Familien sind seit Generationen von Arogno nicht nur in das nahe gelegene Italien, sondern auch nach Deutschland, Polen, in die Tschechoslowakei und nach Russland ausgewandert. Angehörige der Familien Colomba, Artari, Cometta, Cozzi, Maini und Stella haben in der kurzen Zeit ihres Aufenthalts in ihrem Geburtsort Kirchen und Gebäude verschönert; dies lässt sich noch heute an den Häusern der Piazza Valécc und der Piazza Fróo erkennen.

 

Wer nicht auswanderte, musste sich mit den geringen Ressourcen der Region zufrieden geben; es wurden hauptsächlich Ackerbau und Viehzucht betrieben, während einer kurzen Zeit bestand auch ein Kohlebergwerk.

 

Einen erheblichen Impuls erhielt das Dorf in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts durch zwei Fabriken für Uhrenteile, die bis zum Ende des letzten Jahrhunderts bestanden und die die Auswanderung bremsten.

 

Eigenschaften

  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus