142109
Image 0 - Melano
Image 1 - Melano
Image 2 - Melano

Melano

Description

Melano’s antique status has been confirmed with the discovery of a Roman necropolis containing thirty tombs. From 799 onwards records were kept of assets and possessions at Melano including, in 847, those of the Abbey of Sant’Ambrogio di Milano.

 

During the ten-year war between Como and Milan (1118-1127), Melano’s system of fortifications built by the Comaschi, complemented with a wooden tower for defending the shores of the lake, played an important role.

 

At Castelletto, the first castle was built at the place where today stands the Sanctuary dedicated to the Madonna. The castle was destroyed in 1340 by a landslide from Mount Generoso. The second castle was built in the town of Castellaccio on the ancient road that runs through Capolago, and was demolished by confederates at the beginning of the 16th century. You can still see the ruins of a tower and the outer wall.

 

The lake, as well as being the main link to Lugano, with its important market at Como and its religious and legal references, was crucial to the Melano economy, which was for centuries based on fishing, together with agriculture, forestry and livestock farming. As for other villages in the Mendrisio region, meagre resources caused periodic emigration even for Melano, which saw the exodus of outstanding artists who have left traces of their work throughout Europe: Stella, Polatta, Melana, Gianola, Bonetti, Brenni, Cremonini and many more.

 

More recently, the main source of local economy became the silk weaving factory, which opened in 1840, and the tannin factory, which began operation in 1928.

 

The product used by Tannini Ticinesi SA for tanning leather was taken from the chestnut tree. The factory, which employed some seventy workers, closed its doors in 1964 due to Italian competition, the introduction of artificial tannin, imported timber from South America that was much cheaper than the local chestnut and, finally, because of pollution. The abandoned buildings were demolished in 1987.

The high chimney, which for years stood isolated by the shores of the lake, becoming a feature of the landscape, survived until 2003.

Nevercrew - Christian Rebecchi and Pablo Togni- is the duo Swiss street artist active since 1996 and were included in 2015 in the list of the 100 most influential artists by Graffiti Art Magazine.

From October 16th to 22nd, they have returned to Ticino to create a mural work on the building that hosted the exhibition “Street Art. From Basquiat to Banksy, the kings of the street”, by Artrust, which called “ Disposing Machine”.

 

Credits Images - Nevercrew
© “Disposing machine” – Pittura murale realizzata per Artrust a Melano (CH), 2017 - @NEVERCREW

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

142109
Image 0 - Melano
Image 1 - Melano
Image 2 - Melano

Melano

Melano war bereits im Altertum besiedelt, wie der Fund einer römischen Nekropole mit etwa dreißig Gräbern belegt. Ab 799 werden mehrmals Güter und Besitzungen in Melano urkundlich erwähnt, so 847 jene der Abtei Sant’Ambrogio in Mailand.

 

Während des zehnjährigen Krieges zwischen Como und Mailand (1118-1127) spielte sein von den Bewohnern von Como erbautes Festungssystem mit einem hölzernen Turm zur Verteidigung der Ufer eine bedeutende Rolle.

In Castelletto, wo jetzt die Wallfahrtskirche der Madonna steht, wurde ein erstes Schloss errichtet, aber 1340 durch einen Erdrutsch des Monte Generoso zerstört. Vom zweiten Schloss, das in der Ortschaft Castellaccio an der alten Verbindungsstraße nach Capolago errichtet worden war, aber von den Eidgenossen zu Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts zerstört worden war, sind noch die Ruinen eines Turmes und einer Ringmauer zu sehen.

 

Der See bildete die Verbindung zu Lugano und seinem Markt und zu dem religiösen und rechtlichen Zentrum Como, war aber von grundlegender Bedeutung für die Wirtschaft von Melano, die jahrhundertelang gleichzeitig auf Landwirtschaft, Forstwirtschaft und Viehzucht beruhte.

Die stets knappen Ressourcen führten periodisch zur Emigration berühmter Künstler aus Melano und den anderen Dörfern des Mendrisiotto: Die Familien Stella, Polatta, Melana, Gianola, Bonetti, Brenni, Cremonini und andere haben ihre Spuren in ganz Europa hinterlassen.

 

Die Seidenspinnerei wurde 1840 eröffnet, die Tanninfabrik 1928. Beide erlangten in der Neuzeit große Bedeutung für die lokale Wirtschaft.

Tannin wurde zum Gerben von Leder verwendet und von der Tannini Ticinesi SA aus Kastanien extrahiert. Die Fabrik hatte etwa siebzig Menschen beschäftigt, wurde aber 1964 geschlossen wegen der Wettbewerber aus Italien, der Einführung von künstlichem Tannin, der Einfuhr von Holz aus Südamerika, das wesentlich billiger als das lokale Kastanienholz war und schließlich wegen der Umweltverschmutzung. Die verlassenen Gebäude wurden 1987 abgerissen.

Der sehr hohe Schornstein, der jahrelang allein am Seeufer stand, war prägend für die Landschaft, wurde aber 2003 abgerissen.

 

Nevercrew – Christian Rebecchi und Pablo Togni – sind ein Duo Street Künstler aus dem Tessin und seit 1996 aktiv tätig. Im 2015 waren sie auf der Liste der 100 einflussreichsten Künstler im Graffiti Art Magazine aufgeführt.

Sie kehrten ins Tessin zurück um zwischen dem 16. Bis 22. Oktober ihr Werk mit dem Title Disposing Machine, auf die Gebäudemauer der Firma Artrust, welche die Ausstellung Street Art: von Basquiat bis Banksy, der König der Strasse organisiert, zu realisieren.

 

Credits Images - Nevercrew
© “Disposing machine” – Pittura murale realizzata per Artrust a Melano (CH), 2017 - @NEVERCREW

Eigenschaften

  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus