1050
Image 0 - Golf Club Lugano
Image 1 - Golf Club Lugano
Image 2 - Golf Club Lugano

Golf Club Lugano

Golf Club Lugano: a love story
In 1915 Erwin von Riedemann moved with his beloved wife Josefa from Germany to Lugano. Josefa was a passionate golfer, winner of several important tournaments. Her husband Erwin decided to show her all his love by founding one of the first golf courses in Switzerland, inaugurated in Magliaso on 24 November 1923.

Created as a 9-hole course by architect Percy Dell, it was extended to 18 holes by Donald Harradine in 1970. It is a small miracle: in fact the land on which the course extends today occupies only 32 hectares, while modern courses need about fifty. The holes alternate well, offering interesting challenges to both beginners and professionals.

The Golf Club Lugano also hosts the golf school of Paolo Quirici, a golfer who at the end of the 1980s won fourth place at the Crans European Open, the most important competition for professionals in Switzerland and part of the European Tour.

Today the course winds along the Magliasina river on flat ground among birch, oak, pine, beech, rhododendron, oleander and azalea woods, among which you will encounter many squirrels and also a splendid heron, which often stops between holes 10 and 11.

We warmly welcome you and wish you a wonderful day on the golf course!

 

GOLF CLUB INFORMATION

 

Architect: Donald and Peter Harradine / Cabell B. Robinson

Services:  

• Bar

• Restaurant

• Buvette

• Shop 

• Golf school

• Caddie service

• Handbags storage

• Driving range

 

Course

- Holes 18

- Length 5623 m 

- Par 70

 

Opening time: all the year round

Closed on: -

Altitude: 287 m a.s.l.

 

Features

  • VENUES Golf

1050
Image 0 - Golf Club Lugano
Image 1 - Golf Club Lugano
Image 2 - Golf Club Lugano

Golf Club Lugano

Golf Club Lugano: eine Liebesgeschichte
1915 zog Erwin von Riedemann mit seiner geliebten Frau Josefa von Deutschland nach Lugano. Josefa war eine leidenschaftliche Golferin, Gewinnerin mehrerer wichtiger Turniere. So beschloss der Ehemann Erwin, ihr seine ganze Liebe zu zeigen und einen der ersten Golfplätze der Schweiz zu gründen, der am 24. November 1923 in Magliaso eingeweiht wurde.

Vom Architekten Percy Dell als 9-Loch-Platz angelegt, wurde er 1970 von Donald Harradine auf 18 Löcher erweitert. Es ist ein kleines Wunder: Tatsächlich beträgt das Land, auf dem sich der Golfplatz heute erstreckt, nur 32 Hektar, während moderne Golfplätze etwa fünfzig Hektar einnehmen. Die Löcher wechseln sich gut ab und bieten sowohl Anfängern als auch Profis interessante Herausforderungen.

Der Golf Club Lugano beherbergt auch die Golfschule von Paolo Quirici, einem Golfer, der Ende der 1980er Jahre den vierten Platz am Crans Open, dem wichtigsten Wettbewerb für Professionals in der Schweiz und Teil der European Tour gewann.

Heute entwickelt sich der Platz entlang des Flusses Magliasina auf flachem Boden zwischen Birken-, Eichen-, Kiefern-, Buchen-, Rhododendron-, Oleander- und Azaleenwäldern, unter denen man viele Eichhörnchen und auch einen prächtigen Reiher antreffen kann, der oft zwischen den Löchern 10 und 11 anhält.

Wir heißen Sie herzlich willkommen und wünschen Ihnen ein gutes Spiel!

 

INFORMATIONEN ÜBER DEN GOLF CLUB

 

Architekt: Donald und Peter Harradine / Cabell B. Robinson

Dienstleistungen:

• Bar

• Restaurant

• Buvette

• Shop

• Golf Schule

• Caddie Service

• Driving Range

 

Parcour

- 18-Loch-Platz

- Pfad Länge 5623 m

- Par 70

 

Ganzjährig geöffnet

Ruhetag: -

Höhe: 287 m s.l.m.

 

Eigenschaften

  • STRUKTUR Golf