2755
Image 0 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano
Image 1 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano
Image 2 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano
Image 3 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano

Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano

Description

The main task of the Cantonal Museum of Natural History is to investigate, document, study and divulge the knowledge relating to the natural heritage of the Canton Ticino, as well as to encourage a deeper awareness of the growing role played by man in the natural environment.

The Museum undertakes a regular research activity, handles a collection of more than half a million items (minerals, rocks, fossils, animals, plants and fungi) and has a specialized library. It acts as an important focus of reference for individuals, schools, research institutes, associations, tourism and public administration.

The permanent exhibition (1100 m2) illustrates the different features of Ticino natural landscape: large habitat reconstructions (dioramas) display the most significant plant and animal species, while an important section is dedicated to rocks, minerals and fossils such as those of the famous reptiles found on Monte San Giorgio. A speciality of the Museum is the mushrooms exhibition that offers an exhaustive overall view of the fungi of the Canton Ticino.

Beside the permanent exhibition, the institute organises temporary exhibitions, courses and conferences, produces publications and didactic materials and cooperates with other institutions in the construction of nature trails.

Features

  • TIMETABLE Monday: chiuso/geschlossen
    Tuesday: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Wednesday: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Thursday: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Friday: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Saturday: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Sunday: chiuso/geschlossen
  • MUSEUMS Natural science museums , History museums

2755
Image 0 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano
Image 1 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano
Image 2 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano
Image 3 - Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano

Museo cantonale di storia naturale, Lugano

Tâche principale du Musée cantonal d'histoire naturelle du Canton Tessin est d'étudier, de documenter et de divulguer les connaissances relatives au patrimoine naturel du Canton du Tessin, ainsi que de faire prendre conscience du rôle grandissant que joue l'homme dans la nature et dans son environnement.

L'institut mène une activité de recherche régulière, gère une collection de plus d'un demi-million d'objets (minéraux, roches, fossiles, animaux, plantes, champignons) et dispose d'une bibliothèque spécialisée. Il constitue un important pôle de référence pour particuliers, écoles, instituts de recherche, associations, tourisme et administration publique.

L'exposition permanente (1100 m2) donne une vision générale des différentes composantes naturelles du territoire tessinois: de grandes vitrines (dioramas) présentent les plantes et les animaux les plus significatifs, pendant que une section importante est consacrée aux roches, aux minéraux et aux fossiles tels les célèbres reptiles du Mont San Giorgio. Une particularité du Musée est représentée par la grande exposition de champignons.

À côté de l'exposition permanente le Musée organise des expositions temporaires, des cours et des conférences, produit des publications et du matériel didactique et participe avec d'autres institutions à la réalisation de sentiers d'intérêt naturaliste.

Caractéristiques

  • HORAIRES Lundi: chiuso/geschlossen
    Mardi: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Mercredi: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Jeudi: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Vendredi: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Samedi: 09.00-12.00 / 14.00-17.00
    Dimanche: chiuso/geschlossen
  • MUSEES Musées des sciences naturelles , Musées historiques