Sat 18°C
Choose a city

The Gotthard Base Tunnel

The heart of the new railway link through the Alps

The tunnel of the records

152 km
Total length of tunnels
2300 m
Maximum depth
28.2 m tons
Excavated materials
CHF 12 bn
Real cost

After nearly twenty years of hard work, the world’s longest and deepest rail tunnel is finally ready: the Gotthard Base Tunnel has been officially opened on June 1, 2016 (scheduled trains are only running from the December 11, 2016). Trains will be able to reach peak speeds of up to 250 km/h along a 60 kilometer stretch of track right through the heart of the Alps.

Two single track tunnels, both 57 kilometers long, running between Bodio (Ticino) and Erstfeld (Uri) are at the heart of the New Railway Link through the Alps (NRLA): the Swiss masterpiece of the century. This ingenious shortcut will establish a direct route that will allow traffic to cross the Alps at very high speed, with minimal gradients and gentle curves.

Experience this ground breaking innovation

The opening of the Gotthard base tunnel is a milestone of world-wide significance that will revolutionize the movement of people and goods. It will be possible to cross the Alps in just twenty minutes, without needing to go any higher than 550 meters above sea level. Be part of this historical moment.

Explore Ticino

This sun filled part of Switzerland can be enjoyed at its best in combination with an exciting train journey. On arrival at Bellinzona, the Italian language and the relaxed atmosphere just invite you to explore the delights of Ticino.

An experience to enjoy now!

Ticino is ready to warmly welcome you.

Di 24°C
Stadt wählen

Der Gotthard-Basistunnel

Das Herzstück der neuen Eisenbahnstrecke durch die Alpen.

Der Tunnel der Rekorde

152 km
Länge des gesamten Tunnelsystems
2300 m
maximale Tiefe
28.2 Mio. t
Aushubmaterial insgesamt
CHF 12 Mrd
effektive Kosten

Nach fast zwanzig Jahren harter Arbeit, steht nun der längste und tiefste Eisenbahntunnel der Welt bereit: Der Gotthard-Basistunnel wurde offiziell am 1. Juni eröffnet (fahrplanmässige Inbetriebnahme am 11. Dezember 2016). Entlang der etwa 60 Kilometer langen Strecke werden die Züge mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 250 km/h durch die Alpen fahren.


Die zwei je 57 Kilometer langen Röhren zwischen Bodio (Kanton Tessin) und Erstfeld (Kanton Uri) bilden das Herzstück der Neuen Eisenbahn-Alpentransversale (NEAT): das Schweizer Jahrhundertwerk. Die revolutionäre Verbindung führt mit minimen Steigungen und weiten Kurven auf schnellstem und direktestem Weg durch die Alpen.

Erlebe die Revolution

Mit der Eröffnung des Gotthard-Basistunnels beginnt eine neue Ära des Personen- und Güterverkehrs. In 20 Minuten durch die Alpen, ohne jemals die 550 m.ü.M. zu überschreiten. Erlebe hautnah diesen historischen Moment.

Am besten geniesst man die Sonnenseite der Schweiz in Kombination mit einer spannenden Anreise mit der Bahn. Das mediterrane Flair und die Dolce Vita verspürt man bereits, wenn man in Bellinzona aus dem Zug steigt. Entdecke die andere Seite des Tessins!

Erlebe das Tessin jetzt!

Wir heissen dich herzlich willkommen.