Sat 18°C
Choose a city

The Gotthard Base Tunnel

The heart of the new railway link through the Alps

The tunnel of the records

152 km
Total length of tunnels
2300 m
Maximum depth
28.2 m tons
Excavated materials
CHF 12 bn
Real cost

After nearly twenty years of hard work, the world’s longest and deepest rail tunnel is finally ready: the Gotthard Base Tunnel has been officially opened on June 1, 2016 (scheduled trains are only running from the December 11, 2016). Trains will be able to reach peak speeds of up to 250 km/h along a 60 kilometer stretch of track right through the heart of the Alps.

Two single track tunnels, both 57 kilometers long, running between Bodio (Ticino) and Erstfeld (Uri) are at the heart of the New Railway Link through the Alps (NRLA): the Swiss masterpiece of the century. This ingenious shortcut will establish a direct route that will allow traffic to cross the Alps at very high speed, with minimal gradients and gentle curves.

Experience this ground breaking innovation

The opening of the Gotthard base tunnel is a milestone of world-wide significance that will revolutionize the movement of people and goods. It will be possible to cross the Alps in just twenty minutes, without needing to go any higher than 550 meters above sea level. Be part of this historical moment.

Explore Ticino

This sun filled part of Switzerland can be enjoyed at its best in combination with an exciting train journey. On arrival at Bellinzona, the Italian language and the relaxed atmosphere just invite you to explore the delights of Ticino.

An experience to enjoy now!

Ticino is ready to warmly welcome you.

sam. 9°C
Choisir la ville

Tunnel de base du Saint-Gothard

Le cœur de la nouvelle ligne ferroviaire à travers les Alpes

Le tunnel des records

152 km
longueur totale des tunnels
2300 m
profondeur maximale
28.2 Mio t
matériaux d'excavation
CHF 12 Mrd
coût effectif

Après presque vingt ans de travaux intenses, le tunnel le plus long et le plus profond du monde voit le jour : le tunnel de base du Saint-Gothard, officiellement inauguré le 1er juin 2016, sera ouverte aux trains de ligne à partir du 11 décembre 2016. Sur environ 60 km de longueur, au cœur des Alpes, les trains pourront atteindre des pointes de vitesse allant jusqu'à 250 km/h.

Les deux tunnels de 57 km de longueur entre Bodio (Canton du Tessin) et Erstfeld (Canton d'Uri) constituent le cœur de la Nouvelle ligne ferroviaire à travers les Alpes (NLFA) et l'ouvrage suisse du siècle. Une connexion révolutionnaire qui permettra de traverser les Alpes à très haute vitesse, avec peu de dénivelé et de larges virages.

Vivez la révolution

L'inauguration du tunnel de base du Saint-Gothard représente un changement considérable pour la mobilité des personnes et des biens. Vingt minutes à travers les Alpes sans jamais dépasser les 550 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Vivez ce moment historique.

Explorez le Tessin

Le côté ensoleillé de la Suisse s'apprécie au mieux lorsqu'il est accompagné d'un voyage en train plein d'émotions. La langue italienne et l'atmosphère détendue qui se respire dès la descente sur le quai de Bellinzona invitent à la découverte du Tessin.

Une expérience à vivre maintenant!

Le Tessin est prêt à vous accueillir chaleureusement.