Monte Generoso – a mountain of generosity

It is believed that its summit ( in 1704 ms / m) offers the most beautiful view of the Canton Ticino, because from here the view sweeps 360 degrees seizing a territory that extends from the Lakes region ( Lugano , Como, Varese and higher ) , the Po Valley with Milan and the Apennines to the Alps, from the Gran Paradiso to the Monte Rosa , from the Matterhorn to the Jungfrau and from the Gotthard massif up to the Bernina group.

 

There are many hiking trails that allow you to reach the summit starting from Rovio , Mendrisio, Castel San Pietro, but also by the Muggio Valley. Going up one of these paths in the direction of the summit, it is advisable to stay in places that offer beautiful scenic spots such as the Hermitage of St. Nicholas , the Bellavista, the Dossi , or Scudellate.

 

Many popular activities can be practiced on Monte Generoso, such as mountain biking, paragliding, snowshoeing, but also birdwatching.
At the top you can visit (by appointment ) the observatory and the Cave Bear, walk the path of the planets or the path of Nevère. You can also arrange guided tours in the area to enjoy nature and the traces left by the man who lived in the mountains. On Monte Generoso there are still some active farmers selling fresh products. On the summit, it is planned to develop a new accommodation facility that will be ready at the beginning of 2016, to connect with the ancient line of the Monte Generoso Railway. Currently, the railway is not in service.

Panoramic view





 

Season 2014:

Because of the reconstruction works on the summit restaurant, in 2014 the Monte Generoso Railway will not operate.

 

Discovering nearby...

Was this information useful?
Added to trip planner
There was an error, please try later

Contact

Mendrisiotto Turismo
6850 Mendrisio
Tel.: +41 91 641 30 50
Fax: +41 91 641 30 59
 
 

Ferrovia Monte Generoso
SBB|CFF|FFS

Timetable

To: Capolago, Stazione
Date:
Time:
Departure
Arrival
Traffic Information
NEWSLETTER:
FOLLOW US:

Monte Generoso

On dit que son sommet (1704 mètres d’altitude) propose la plus belle vue du Canton du Tessin, car d'ici la vue s’étend à 360 degrés comprenant un territoire qui s'étend de la région des Grands Lacs (de Lugano, de Côme, de Varèse et Majeur) à la plaine du Pô avec Milan, des Apennins à la chaîne alpine, du Grand Paradis au Mont Rose, du Cervin à la Jungfrau et du massif du Gothard à la chaîne de la Bernina. 

 

Il existe de nombreux sentiers de randonnée qui vous permettent d'atteindre le sommet à partir de Rovio, Mendrisio, Castel San Pietro, mais aussi par la vallée de Muggio. En remontant un de ces chemins en direction du sommet il est conseillé de rester dans des endroits qui offrent de points de vue pittoresques tels que l'Ermitage de Saint-Nicolas, le Bellavista, le Dossi et Scudellate. 

 

De nombreuses activités praticables à la montagne telles que le VTT, le parapente, les raquettes, mais aussi le birdwatching. Au sommet vous pouvez visiter (sur réservation) l'observatoire astronomique et la Grotte de l’ours, parcourir le chemin des planètes ou encore le chemin de Nevère. Il est également possible d’organiser des visites guidées dans la région pour admirer la nature et les traces laissées par l'homme qui vivait dans les montagnes. Sur le Monte Generoso il y a encore quelques agriculteurs actifs qui vendent des produits frais. Au sommet est prévu le développement d’une nouvelle installation réceptive qui sera prête au début 2016, reliée en aval à l'ancienne ligne de chemin de fer Monte Generoso, actuellement hors service 

Vue panoramique





Saison 2014:

En raison des travaux de reconstruction du restaurant au sommet, au cours de l'année 2014, le train à crémaillère du Monte Generoso n'est pas en état de fonctionner.

 

A découvrir à proximité

Vous considérez ce contenu utile?
Ajouté à trip planner
Erreu, prière d'essayer plus tard

Contact

Mendrisiotto Turismo
6850 Mendrisio
Tél.: +41 91 641 30 50
Fax: +41 91 641 30 59
 
 

Plus d' informations

Ferrovia Monte Generoso
SBB|CFF|FFS

Horaire

À: Capolago, Stazione
Date:
Heure:
Départ
Arrivée
Informations sur le trafic
NEWSLETTER:
FOLLOW US: