5 outdoor activities for autumn


It’s never too late to do outdoor sports in Ticino! November is the month when the first peaks in northern Switzerland turn white. Anyone who isn’t yet ready to hang up their boots is welcome to the country’s southernmost canton: various outdoor activities can be practised all year round, the routes are free from snow and the temperatures allow you to stay outdoors. The warm weather always lasts a bit longer in Ticino. 

1. Bouldering in Chironico


Chironico’s granite blocks are famous among bouldering enthusiasts from across Europe. There are around 2,100 problems, divided into 36 sectors. Ticino’s bouldering areas are at low altitude and accessible all year round.

2. Discover Lake Maggiore on a sailing boat


Ascona lake view? Islands of Brissago? Discover Lake Maggiore in a sailing boat. Arrange a tour with a skipper, hire a boat or register on a course to learn how to sail one!

3. Lugano, the all-year mountain biking destination


When Switzerland’s northern mountains are covered in snow, Lugano is still relatively warm. This means you can go mountain biking here in winter too! Lugano is the perfect starting point for exciting daytime rides.

4. The Gianola Trail on Monte Generoso



Named after the Captain of the Border Guards who developed the trail providing the most direct route to the peak of Monte Generoso in the early 1930s. 
This very steep alpine route, the southernmost in Ticino, is suitable only for expert hikers and is practicable until the arrival of the first ice.  

5. A via ferrata with a view


The via ferrata on Monte San Salvatore is challenging, but the view over the city makes the effort all worthwhile. The starting point can be accessed via a steep path from Pazzallo. An excellent warm-up!

Climbing in Ticino

Ticino is a real paradise for climbing enthusiasts, with numerous well-equipped cliffs and a particularly favourable climate for those who want to challenge themselves.

DISCOVER

Learn more

5 activités de plein air pour l’automne


Au Tessin, il n’est jamais trop tard pour pratiquer des sports de plein air ! C’est en novembre que les premiers sommets du nord de la Suisse se drapent de blanc. Ceux qui ne veulent pas encore raccrocher leurs bottes sont les bienvenus dans le canton le plus méridional du pays: diverses activités de plein air peuvent être pratiquées toute l’année, les parcours sont sans neige et les températures permettent de rester dehors. La belle saison est toujours un peu plus longue au Tessin.

1. Bouldering à Chironico


Les blocs de granit de Chironico sont connus de tous les amateurs de bouldering européens. Il y a environ 2’100 passages, divisés en 36 secteurs. Situées à basse altitude, les aires de bouldering du Tessin sont accessibles toute l’année. 

2. Découvrez le Lac Majeur en voilier


Voir Ascona depuis le lac ? Les îles de Brissago ? Découvrez le Lac Majeur en navigant sur un voilier. Organisez une visite avec un skipper, louez un bateau ou inscrivez-vous à un cours pour apprendre à en piloter un !

3. Lugano, une destination pour les VTT 365 jours par an


Lorsque les montagnes du nord de la Suisse sont déjà couvertes de neige, on est encore bien à Lugano. Ici, on peut satisfaire son envie de faire du VTT même en hiver ! Lugano peut être une base idéale pour une excursion d’une journée.

4. La Variante Gianola du Monte Generoso


Cette route tire son nom du capitaine des gardes-frontières qui, dans les années 30, a conçu le sentier permettant d’atteindre plus directement le sommet du Monte Generoso. 
Ce sentier alpin, le plus méridional du Tessin, est reservé qu'aux randonneurs experts et est praticable jusqu'à l'arrivée des premières gelées.  

5. Une via ferrata en ville


La via ferrata du Monte San Salvatore est difficile, mais sans aucun doute la vue sur la ville récompense l’effort. Le point de départ est accessible par un sentier escarpé, depuis Pazzallo. Un bon moyen de se réchauffer !

L’escalade au Tessin

Le Tessin est un véritable paradis pour les amateurs d’escalade qui offre de nombreuses falaises équipées et un climat particulièrement favorable pour les personnes voulant se mettre à l’épreuve.

DÉCOUVRIR

En savoir plus