Platform for the systematic registration of accommodation establishments rented out for tourist purposes


As of 1 February 2022, the new procedure for tourist accommodation rented out on online platforms (Airbnb, Booking.com, Expedia, e-domizil, etc.) and offline platforms (brochures, etc.) has come into force. The new bill is a key element in guaranteeing the quality, competitiveness and security of the tourism and hotel sector as a whole. 

Context


In recent years, our canton has also seen a sharp rise in the number of beds rented out for tourist purposes (rooms, flats and private houses), which now account for almost a quarter of the tourist offer. 

The introduction of the new law allows for the precise mapping of tourist accommodation in Ticino, without changing the current system for collecting tourist taxes.

This is an important step, reflecting the evolution of the accommodation sector, which allows equal treatment with the hotel sector and creates new synergies and opportunities.

Ticino is the first Swiss canton to include the request for an identification number in the procedure, a practice that has already been successfully introduced in other European and international cities.

Identification number


As of the 1st of February 2022 all accommodation providers have one year to apply for an identification number.

The new registration procedure applies to all accommodation  with 1 to 4 beds, all campsites, huts and farm holidays. Accommodation subject to the Law on Hotels and Restaurants (Lear), such as hotels, can use the number on their cantonal authorization.

Appartements and properties with more than 4 beds that do not yet have a cantonal authorization must follow the Lear procedure (for more information click here). At the end of the procedure they will automatically receive an identification number.

The identification number must be specified in every advertisement on online platforms, websites and offline publications.

Apply for an identification number

Procedure


The identification number will be issued immediately after the registration process has been completed.

Information collected through the electronic form will then be forwarded both to the relevant regional tourist organisation and to the municipality where the accommodation is located. The municipality will have six months to validate the issuance of the identification number, verifying that the accommodation in question complies with current building regulations and legal provisions in order to confirm the suitability of the facilities. 

Important: during the period between submission of the form and approval by the municipality, the accommodation in question can continue to be rented out for tourist use by entering the identification number received at the end of the registration process on the various platforms.

This is the procedure to be followed:

Complete the form. One application per place of accommodation. It is possible for the same user to register more than one property.

Step 2


Submit the completed form.

Step 3

The identification number is generated instantaneously.

Step 4


You can continue to market your tourist accommodation by entering the identification number you have just received on the various sales platforms.

Step 5

The municipality will have six months to validate/reject the application.

Step 6


Notifying the police about guests


Accommodation providers, regardless of whether or not they are subject to the Law on Hotels and Restaurants (LEAR), will have to report all overnight stays in their facilities using the new Online Notifications portal within 24 hours of the guests’ arrival. A comprehensive guide on how to use the portal is available at this link.

Tourist tax


The tourist tax is intended exclusively for financing tourism infrastructures, assistance, information and entertainment. All persons staying overnight in a municipality that is not their place of residence pursuant to the Swiss Civil Code, as guests in hotels, guesthouses, youth hostels, restaurants with accommodation, campsites, collective accommodation, huts, flats and holiday homes, camper vans and other similar establishments or vehicles, are required to pay tourist tax. Accommodation providers and owners of rented flats and holiday homes are responsible for collecting and remitting the tourist tax to the RTOs (regional tourist organisations). 
 

Promotion tax


The promotion tax is intended for financing activities to promote tourism. All accommodation providers are required to pay this tax.

Bellinzona e valli

Piazza Collegiata 12
6500 Bellinzona

Tel: +41 91 825 21 31
Fax: +41 91 821 41 20

[email protected]

Casella postale
6600 Locarno

Tel: +41 848 091 091
Fax: +41 91 759 76 94

[email protected]

Regione del Luganese

Piazza della Riforma, Palazzo Civico
6900 Lugano

Tel: +41 58 220 65 00
Fax: +41 58 866 66 09

[email protected]

Via Angelo Maspoli 15
6850 Mendrisio

Tel: +41 91 641 30 50
Fax: +41 91 641 30 59

[email protected]

Plateforme d’enregistrement systématique des établissements d’hébergement loués à des fins touristiques


À compter du 1er février 2022, la nouvelle procédure pour les logements à usage touristique loués sur des plateformes en ligne (Airbnb, Booking.com, Expedia, e-domizil, etc.) et hors ligne (brochures, etc.) est entrée en vigueur. Le nouveau projet de loi représente un jalon essentiel pour garantir la qualité, la compétitivité et la sécurité de l’ensemble du secteur touristique et de l’hôtellerie. 

Contexte


Ces dernières années ont vu le nombre de lits loués à des fins touristiques (chambres, appartements et maisons privées) fortement augmenter, y compris dans notre canton. Ils représentent désormais près d’un quart du nombre total de l’offre touristique. 

L’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi permet une cartographie précise des hébergements touristiques présents sur le territoire du Tessin, sans que le système actuel de perception des taxes touristiques ne soit modifié.

Il s’agit d’une étape importante, qui reflète l’évolution du secteur des établissements d’hébergement et qui permet de favoriser une égalité de traitement avec le secteur hôtelier, tout en créant de nouvelles synergies et opportunités.

Le Tessin est le premier canton suisse à inclure la demande d’un numéro d’identification dans la procédure, une pratique déjà introduite avec succès dans d’autres villes européennes et internationales.

Le numéro d’identification


La loi est estrée en vigueur le 1er février 2022 : à compter de cette date, les hébergeurs ont un an pour demander un numéro d’identification.

La nouvelle procédure d'enregistrement s'applique à tous les établissements de 1 à 4 lits, à tous les campings, aux cabanes et aux fermes. Les établissements assujettis à la loi sur l'hôtellerie et la restauration (Lear), tels que les hôtels, peuvent utiliser le numéro figurant sur leur autorisation cantonale.

Les appartements et établissements de plus de 4 lits qui n'ont pas encore d'autorisation cantonale doivent suivre la procédure prévue par le Lear (pour plus d'informations, cliquez ici). À la fin de la procédure, ils recevront automatiquement un numéro d'identification.

Le numéro d'identification doit être spécifié dans chaque annonce sur les plateformes en ligne, les sites web et les publications hors ligne.

Demandez votre numéro d’identification

Procédure


Le numéro d’identification sera délivré immédiatement après l’envoi de la procédure d’enregistrement.

Les informations collectées par le biais du formulaire électronique seront ensuite transmises à l’organisation touristique régionale concernée et à la commune où est situé le logement. La commune aura six mois pour valider la délivrance du numéro d’identification, en vérifiant que le bien est conforme aux règles de construction en vigueur et aux dispositions législatives, afin de valider l’adéquation de l’établissement. 

Important : Pendant la période entre l’envoi du formulaire et l’approbation par la commune, le bien peut continuer à être loué à des fins touristiques à condition que le numéro d’identification reçu à la fin du processus d’enregistrement figure bien sur les différentes plateformes.

Voici la procédure à suivre :

Remplissez le formulaire. Une demande par logement. Il est possible d’inscrire plusieurs propriétés sous le même utilisateur.

Étape 2


Envoyez le formulaire complété.

Étape 3

Le numéro d’identification est immédiatement généré.

Étape 4


Vous pouvez continuer à commercialiser votre hébergement à usage touristique en saisissant le numéro d’identification que vous venez de recevoir sur les différentes plateformes de vente.

Étape 5

La commune disposera de six mois pour valider/rejeter la demande soumise.

Étape 6


Notifications des clients à la police


Les hébergements, qu’ils soient soumis ou non à la loi cantonale sur l’hôtellerie et la restauration (Lear), devront notifier toutes les nuitées dans leur établissement sur le nouveau portail Notifications en ligne, dans un délai de 24 heures suivant l’arrivée des clients. Un guide complet sur le fonctionnement du portail peut être consulté en cliquant ici.

Taxe de séjour


La taxe de séjour est exclusivement destinée à financer les infrastructures touristiques, l'assistance aux touristes, les informations et l’animation. Toutes les personnes qui passent une nuit dans une commune qui n’est pas leur lieu de résidence au sens du Code civil suisse, comme les clients des hôtels, des pensions, des auberges de jeunesse, des restaurants avec hébergement, des campings, des hébergements collectifs, des refuges, des appartements et des maisons de vacances, des camping-cars et autres établissements ou véhicules similaires sont tenues de payer la taxe de séjour. Les hébergeurs et les propriétaires d'appartements et de maisons de vacances loués sont responsables de la collecte de la taxe de séjour et de son versement aux OTR (Organisations Touristiques Régionales).

Taxe de promotion


La taxe de promotion est destinée à financer les activités de promotion du produit touristique. Tous les hébergeurs sont tenus de payer la taxe de promotion.

Bellinzona e valli

Piazza Collegiata 12
6500 Bellinzona

Tel: +41 91 825 21 31
Fax: +41 91 821 41 20

[email protected]

Casella postale
6600 Locarno

Tel: +41 848 091 091
Fax: +41 91 759 76 94

[email protected]

Regione del Luganese

Piazza della Riforma, Palazzo Civico
6900 Lugano

Tel: +41 58 220 65 00
Fax: +41 58 866 66 09

[email protected]

Via Angelo Maspoli 15
6850 Mendrisio

Tel: +41 91 641 30 50
Fax: +41 91 641 30 59

[email protected]