142353
Image 0 - Val Colla Bike
Image 1 - Val Colla Bike
Image 2 - Val Colla Bike
Image 3 - Val Colla Bike
Image 4 - Val Colla Bike
Image 5 - Val Colla Bike
Image 6 - Val Colla Bike
Image 7 - Val Colla Bike
Image 8 - Val Colla Bike
Image 9 - Val Colla Bike
Image 10 - Val Colla Bike
Image 11 - Val Colla Bike

Val Colla Bike

This is a circular panoramic itinerary, a classic and much loved by mountain bikers! It reaches a typical mountainous region with an astonishing array of flora, fauna and geology. The route is well provided for by three refreshment facilities.

It is a mountain bike excursion that begins in Bogno and that, with an alternation of tracks on both paved and unpaved roads, allowing you to warm up those muscles gently crossing the valley bottom.

The steepest part of the itinerary, with a height difference of 340 metres, starts at Cimadera, crosses the woods and brings you ideally to the hospitable Capanna Pairolo. From here you continue initially along a single trail, which represents the last part which is immersed in the woods, and subsequently onto the unpaved road that leads to Bocchetta di San Bernardo. The area of Fojorina is very particular: many limestone rocks emerge from the soil. Follow the road and keeping left you go toward the Capanna del San Lucio. At this Alpine hut you can enjoy traditional cuisine, admire the view of Val Colla and of the nearby Italian valleys.  Accommodation is also available. Other accommodations are: Agriturismo Alpe Cottino, 5 minutes by bicycle from San Lucio, and the near Italian mountain refuge. The panorama? Surprise yourself.

San Lucio and Alpe Pietrarossa find themselves at least at same altitude. The 5.5 km single trail which connects the two leads one to believe that the path is relatively flat. This is only partially true: the first stretch of the path is in fact distinguished by a succession of small descents and short ascents and valleys containing various streams. Despite the unevenness of the ground this remains a beautiful itinerary, and is much appreciated also by hikers, as, avoiding wooded areas, it enjoys a view over the valley.

After Alpe Pietrarossa, where you can buy local products, the first 180 metres extend down to a steep and technically difficult unpaved road. Following this you head towards Barchi di Colla on a road, this time pleasantly unpaved, and then return to Bogno via a paved road.

Tips

For mountain biking, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Val Colla Bike
no. 360

Alternative routes

-

Close to this route

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

142353
Image 0 - Val Colla Bike
Image 1 - Val Colla Bike
Image 2 - Val Colla Bike
Image 3 - Val Colla Bike
Image 4 - Val Colla Bike
Image 5 - Val Colla Bike
Image 6 - Val Colla Bike
Image 7 - Val Colla Bike
Image 8 - Val Colla Bike
Image 9 - Val Colla Bike
Image 10 - Val Colla Bike
Image 11 - Val Colla Bike

Val Colla Bike

Itinéraire circulaire panoramique, un classique très apprécié des vététistes ! On rejoint une zone montagneuse typique avec une flore, faune et géologie impressionnantes. Trois structures où se restaurer sont bien réparties sur le trajet.

 

Ce parcours de randonnée en VTT qui part de Bogno et présente une alternance de tronçons sur route terrassée et non, permet un échauffement du corps avec une traversée en douceur du fond de la vallée.

 

La partie la plus raide de l'itinéraire avec 340 mètres de dénivelé, est celle qui commence à Cimadera, traverse le bois et conduit à l'accueillante cabane Pairolo. De là, le parcours se poursuit tout d'abord sur un sentier monotrace qui représente le dernier tronçon à travers bois, puis sur une route terrassée qui conduit à la Bocchetta de San Bernardo. La zone de la Fojorina est très particulière, en effet, de nombreuses roches calcaires affleurent du sol. En suivant la petite route et en restant sur la gauche, on se dirige vers la cabane de San Lucio. Cette cabane est le lieu idéal où déguster une cuisine traditionnelle, admirer la vue sur le Val Colla et les proches vallées italiennes, et même dormir. Les autres structures où il est possible de séjourner sont: l'agritourisme de l'Alpe Cottino, à 5 minutes en vélo de San Lucio, et le refuge italien tout proche. Le panorama ? Laissez-vous surprendre...

 

San Lucio et l'Alpe Pietrarossa se trouvent à la même altitude. Le sentier monotrace de 5.5 km qui relie ces lieux évoque un parcours relativement plat. Ceci n'est que partiellement vrai: le premier tronçon se caractérise par une alternance de petites descentes, courtes montées et vallons avec des ruisselets. Malgré l'irrégularité du terrain cela demeure un bel itinéraire très apprécié des randonneurs, car ne traversant pas de zone boisée il offre une vue sur la vallée.

 

Après l'Alpe Pietrarossa, où il est possible d'acheter des produits locaux, il faut affronter les premiers 180 mètres de dénivelé sur une route terrassée, raide et techniquement difficile. Ensuite, on part en direction des Barchi di Colla sur une route cette fois agréablement terrassée et puis on rentre à Bogno sur route asphaltée.

Suggestions

Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux rouges pour le VTT :
Val Colla Bike
n° 360

Variantes

-

Près de l'itinéraire

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !